We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen to your Saves list
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Scheveningen
A TripAdvisor Member
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in the Carlton Beach Hotel.. as mentioned before in other reviews, stay here if you like to avoid the mass beacuse its at the end of the boulevard.

Plus:
-Has a nice beachclub with loungebeds.
-Great breakfast. CYO toppings omelet!
-Dining/Breakfast area very nice with direct seaview.
-Spacy rooms (dunes side of the hotel).
-Nice and luxurious bathroom and high enough shower for tall persons (like me 6'7").
-REALLY soft beds... worried if I would wake up with back pain, but not at all!
-Very friendly staff.
-complementary Nespresso coffee maker and cups on room besides tea and minibar.


Cons:
-Rooms and hallways a bit noisy.. children running in hallways at 7.30 on a saturday.
-some areas (like staircases) inside the hotel reveil it's real age.
-Very dated look from outside (but who cares)

We will surely return for a nice weekend out!

Tip: If you dont mind the loud! live music, do have dinner at crazy pianos. Its situated underneath the kurhaus (mainly younger people)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your positive review with other travelers! Those kind of reviews makes us very happy. Please be informed that minor renovations are an ungoing process and that a larger renovation regarding the outside of the hotel is already scheduled and will be finished the upcoming months.

We are looking forward to see you again in Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    189
    73
    29
    11
See reviews for
74
199
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for a week in a family suite while visiting the Hague

The Good
- nice lobby - clean with attentive staff
- breakfast brunch was included with room
- pool was good for kids but change rooms are very tiny
- room had decent amount of space
- trams and bus stops are right nearby and you are on the beach so location is great

The Bad
- rooms are tired and need paint, updated furnishings and carpet
- even washing down the walls in the rooms would be improvement. We could see stains, water marks and handprints in the bedrooms which could have been washed off
- rate was high for the room - poor value for money overall
- yes the beds are strangely soft like other reviewers mention, but my back did not mind


We ate at Smugglers restaurant one night and found it a mixed experience. Good steak, terrible lasagna, decent kids meals, slow but attentive service.

So overall it was acceptable but next time I would look for a different hotel as the price was high given the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experiences with other travellers, although the stay was not completely to your satisfaction. Please be informed that we do our best to give our guests a pleasant stay and that we will discuss the points mentioned with the responsible departments.
We still hope to see you back one day at Carlton Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel experience, want to be close to the sea but still would like to be slightly off the beaten track (especially in winter), go to this property. It's at the end of the Gevers Deynootweg, away from most other hotels and especially from the brick and concrete nightmare that is the centre of Scheveningen near the Kurhaus. It's not really a top-notch property as a beach hotel and shows its age in some areas. We had a great sea-view room with a lovely balcony (go for the higher floors). Unfortunately, for two large people like us the bathroom is too cramped. Especially the toilet bowl is crammed in next to the shower - way to little room. So, only one in the bathroom at any time! Oh yes, the mattress is ridiculously soft. The softest we have endured in any hotel stay. The staff (reception and breakfast) really power this place: they are absolutely lovely and they made welcome, stay and goodbye heart-warming. Breakfast (with a cook doing eggs on a Saturday) is great and the breakfast area is lovely. The pub next door to reception, is really cosy. Oh yes: park for free in winter, just near the tram terminus (excellent public transport connections). Just make sure you take everything out of your car. We'll be back here if we go to Scheveningen again.

Room Tip: Higher floors, balcony and a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Many thanks for your nice review, especially your comment regarding our staff is very much appreciated as it is our goal to make sure that every guests feels themselve at home at our location. Regarding the cook, please be informed that we do live-cooking at breakfast every day (not only on Saturday). We are looking forward welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

For a beach hotel, the place is in excellent condition!

Had a beach side room, it was great, big enough and had a balcony facing the sea.
The two very heavy comfortable chairs, take a bit of space and are not easily to be moved
(and I assume that during the summer "everybody" sits there with the wet swimming suite).

The mattresses seem to be new, but it needs some time (or nights) to get used to it.
What I did not at all get used to, were the different pillows available.
Very hard, I had to sleep without a pillow in order to survive.
If a room has so many pillows, at least two could be a bit softer.

What we both did not at all like, was the glass door to the bathroom.
This might be modern design, but maybe not very suitable in the real life world.
The bottom part is transparent and at the bottom of the door is a big open gap,
i.e. forget your privacy.

The breakfast was super,
One extra point (!) for having a very friendly and very supportive cook available who provides omelets, etc.
Taking the used plates away from the tables did (at our visit) not at all work.
The great cook helped us, which was not his job.

The hotel people are friendly and helpful.

Scheveningen is for visitors with a car a pain.
Another big plus for this hotel, there is car parking at the hotel...
but it comes with a price (18 Euros per day at January 2014).

A number of reviews comment on the size of the rooms.
Assume this might be valid for the rooms facing the street.
On the other hand, there are really great family rooms (2 adults and 2 or 3 children) available, which seem to be a well done combination of two normal hotel rooms.

Recommend this beach hotel!

Room Tip: If budget permits - take a sea side room - relax and park your car at the hotel - or come with pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Many thanks for your extensive review, very much appreciated. Be assured that your comments will be discussed internaly, very helpful. Looking forward welcoming you in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here one night in December 2013 as part of a business trip. The staff could not have been nicer - a warm greeting upon arrival and a pleasant surprise that my room was ready at noon. The room was spacious, colorful and with décor that was just what you would expect at a beach hotel. The bathroom was very nice, with spa type shampoos and soaps. A plus was a small balcony with a view of the beach. It was winter, so the temperatures (and my schedule) did not allow time to walk the beach, but one could tell that this was a pleasant mid-range hotel that would be a fun spot.
After getting settled in and enjoying an in-room cup of tea, I headed off for a business meeting. That night when I returned, the staff was as hospitable as ever. Unfortunately, the mattress on the bed in my room was less than hospitable. It was almost like the memory foam type, but it was awful, sinking in the middle and providing no back support. No matter how hard I tried, I could not get comfortable. I don't think I slept more than 2 hours all night, if at all. A big negative!
The next morning, the breakfast buffet was very pleasant, offering a good variety. Again, service personnel were excellent.
I would have given the hotel four stars if the mattress had been okay, but that knocked off a star! It's a shame, because overall, I think this is a most inviting hotel with a great location.

Room Tip: Ask to check out your mattress in advance if possible. Maybe some rooms have traditional solid, firm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Carlton Beach with other travelers. Very nice to read that you had a pleasant stay and appreciates the hospitality of our staff.

In 2012/13 we have replaced all the beds in all the rooms and most guests appreciate this. Very annoying that you have a different experience. Can you inform us which room you have stayed, so we can pick this? We can be reached via sales@beach.carlton.nl.

Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have been there on a business trip in winter, so I guess that I did miss some of the fun of this area. The hotel is great, located opposite the sea with great sunsets and view. The stuff is very polite and helpful. Breakfast is sufficient and there are many choices for coffee. Dinners in the hotel were very nice and gourmet. The room was spacious and the facilities all great. No complaints from me, a great hotel if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Many thanks for this great review. Looking forward welcoming you again in the future at the beach of Scheveningen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosselbaai, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I always stay in this hotel when I am in the Hague. I had a beach front room and I requested it as high as possible, which they did give to me. The breakfast as it is now compare to 4 years ago is not the same. Breakfast not value for money. The supper is good but I had a problem with the friendliness of the restaurant staff. I stayed for 10 nights and there were no consistency of quality of service. The blue guest card for regular visitors is a good idea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We will send you an additional e-mail to you as we are curious about your comment regarding our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen

Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.