We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterproef

Waterproef
Dr. lelykade 25-27 | 2583 CL, 2583 CL Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 70 358 8770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Price range: $35 - $79
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This restaurant is really special. You have a beautiful view on the harbor of Scheveningen while having your lunch - and later in the year - your diner.
The food is excellent, the wine card is quite extensive, we enjoyed the choice. The service is sometimes a bit slow.
While making a reservation, make sure you are close to the window - or on the terrace.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Waterproef with a group, and received a set menu for all of us. The wines served with first and main course were excellent, as was the food. Everything was well prepared and well presented. However, the portions were so small that part of our group left hungry. Also, it took avery long time for the food to appear. Our group straggled in between 7 and 8 pm, but then it took until 9 pm for the food to come.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Besides the extended wine list, somewhat disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Food is fresh with an element of originality in its preparation (Thai influence), however, for the price, I was expecting something more elaborated. Service was slow, even though friendly. You need to be tolerant with dogs, as they are allowed (2 of them during our dinner) - frankly speaking, I am not and found it unhygienic. Wine list is impressive, and priced reasonably.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lucky us for the 6-year course in Waterproef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having been here a few times before we were really surprised by "The best off" menu presented to us. Our favourite the mix of fish and slow cooked meat on a rucola puree really was amazing. The service is michelin star wise but informal enough to have a very pleasant time. I would encourage people to dine in this place. We chose to have a condrieu with our menu according to the sommelier a good match.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal at Waterproef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As part of our 10th wedding anniversary weekend, we went for dinner at Waterproef (recommended by our host at the Haagsche Suites). We cycled up to Schevenningen and had an aperitif at one of the other bar/restaurants along the harbour.
On arrival at Waterproef, we were warmly greeted and shown to our tables. A glass of sparkling Riesling and an amuse-bouche of pea soup and warm bread set the evening off well. We ordered the 3 course surprise menu. The starter of salmon was delicious, so well cooked. This was followed by a golden white fish course which was even nicer and the trio of desserts was just delicious. Fabulous wine, excellent and attentive service from the waiters and spot her staff, my husband and I agree it was one of the loveliest dining experiences we can remember, 5*!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterproef also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Waterproef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterproef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.