We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great but sadly isn't” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antonis G Hotel Apartment

Save Saved
You added Antonis G Hotel Apartment to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antonis G Hotel Apartment
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anexartisias 17, Oroklini, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oroklini
British Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be great but sadly isn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We have friends that live in Oroklini and wanting to be near them stayed at Antonis G. We consider ourselves flexible and don't expect Canadian standards when travelling to other places. There is a basic level that is hard to overlook and we found that Antonis G. crossed the line. We stayed there for 3 weeks and 3 days and were travelling with my Mom and Dad. Since the hotel doesn't have any 2 bedroom 2 bathroom rooms we decided to get a room for each couple. One of the issues we couldn't ignore was NO HOT WATER until at least 11:00 a.m. It's heated by solar panels which is a great system since Oroklini has so much sun but the panel(s) must be old or dirty because when the sun went down the water got instantly cold. Perhaps the hotel conserves on water by regulating the temperature. We had lots of sponge baths and heated water for them. Each room is assigned ONE, and only one key as the owner screamed when we requested a 2nd one. The key inserted in a slot just inside the door activates electricity to the room. This we learned later is not unusual for the Mediterranean. It prevents electricity being used while no one is in the room. BUT having only 1 key also prevented one person from staying in the room while the other went out because the person left either didn't have power or the person outside the room had to wake the other person up in order to get into the room. Having said all this, we made up our minds after the first day or 2 not to let this hotel ruin a vacation that we had been looking forward to for many years. We therefore bought our own bathroom tissue, frying pan, borrowed a fan from our friends and passed on paying for AC for an additional cost of $5./day. In fairness though the hotel website does indicate that AC is extra. Our friends gave us towels and did laundry for us. We "borrowed" a car from the owner. We went everywhere from Pafos to Ayia Napa and even to Keryneia and Famagusta in the northern Turkish part of Cyprus. The car was modern with AC and comfortably accommodated the 4 of us. The price we felt was very fair.
Back to the hotel. Our room was in need of serious repair in that one of the walls in the kitchen was truly crumbling. The furniture and beds were very old and really dirty. In terms of service we were lucky to get our garbage removed once a day which when the Cypriot sewer system can't handle toilet tissue can be problematic. We asked after one week about changing towel and bed linens. We were told this would happen weekly which it did until the last week as we actually stayed 3 weeks and 3 days. We too experienced the owner yelling, at the top of his lungs, at a hotel guest. I don't care what the guest had done or how right Antonis was I was actually scared by such a peasantish way to behave. I later told one of the sons of my feelings. If the hotel was left to them (the sons) to run it could be a pleasant and comfortable environment for a holiday They were helpful, friendly, and very hard working AND I might add, educated in the US.
You do need a car to go outside of Oroklini but we found the village charming. We got to know the local merchants and varied our happy hours among that taverna's with happy hour specials. Lithos Sports Bar in the Antonis G. Hotel was one that offers Happy Hour and good value. We didn't use the pool nor did anyone other than a few young children as temperature test were outside the pleasant zone.
We found the food very acceptable but the promise of a complimentary buffet never materialized.
All in all it can an inexpensive place to stay but if you set high expectations you will be disappointed. Toni, leave the hotel business you your very capable sons.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    1
    6
    18
See reviews for
7
14
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I wanted to experience the real Cyprus but was faced with eastern European staff which took away the feeling of being in a Cypriot village. The owner seemed pleasant enough but the bar staff were not attentive and the barman and one Eastern European barmaid were rude and pushy. Money seemed to be the name of the game and that was all they were interested in.

I would go back to Cyprus but not this hotel. Possibly the mountain villages are more traditional - who knows.

the owner should get rid of the bar staff and put in some people who know what they are doing, and not some big headed show-off and a know-all bar maid to boot.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The people working in the bar
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oroklini hotels

nl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Unfortunately we do not have a nice experience with this hotel in the end. We stayed here for 4 days and wouln't recommend it at all.

Our first experience we found the owner of the hotel in the lounge shouting to a new customer, he forced him not to use his credit card and wanted to be paid in cash. He was rude, but we thought maybe the customer was in trouble financially.
We had to pay in advance –cash- for everything –airco, hotel costs and airport transfer-, which was fine for us because we don’t have a credit card.

The owners presence is always very dominant, for instance, if you go for a swim in the swimming pool, he is likely going to swim with you. He has a loud voice and always responds when guests come in/out.
The opening ours of the reception are unpredictable. At 11 o’clock in the morning we discovered we ran out of toilet paper, but because the reception was closed the girl told us she couldn’t get one for us. Because she was nice she finally got one for us in an unusual way.

The day of our departure we had to depart very early 7.00 and a with us a greek couple, the owner didn’t want to get up early so he arranged a taxibus for us. It was very mean/low, we soon discovered the taxidriver didn’t receive anything we had payed in advance -30 euro- from ‘Antonis’. We phoned Antonis, but soon he interrupted the phone. This showed us his true character. So the taxi driver became very nervous and refused to bring us all to the airport, even unloaded our luggage! In the end we had no choice to pay him the amount again. We and the other couple almost missed our airplane, if the taxi driver hadn’t driven so fast!

  • Liked — swimming pool, rest of the staff
  • Disliked — unfair dishonest owner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July - having flown into Larnaca, decided to spend a couple of days exploring this end of the island before travelling on to Polis for 2 weeks.

Good points: Cheap and a short drive from the airport in a quiet location. Free wireless internet available in the bar and in the room. There are a couple of decent restaurants in walking distance from hotel.

Bad points: Oroklini is a characterless sprawl, the whole place was shabby and the very small room was full of biting ants, bathroom dingy, beds uncomfy, towels and bedlinen were probably lovely back in 1970 when they were made. The pool had enough chlorine in to kill an elephant at 30 paces, very sore eyes after just a quick dip.

Entertainment included a karaoke night and the hotel has its own (small) club.

We would not stay here again - I'd rather sleep in the car.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Myself and my partner stayed in Antonios G Apts for a week in May and had a truely wonderful time.
The Apartment was very nice and roomy, the pool was lovely and the general ambience excellent.
The family could not have bben more friendly or helpful especially George and Miltos.. There was great entertainment from a Pub Quiz to a Traditional Greek Night ( with lovely cuisine and wonderful entertainment).
We hope to return there next month, and would highly recommend Antonios G for excellent value.

Andy & Claire

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

No phone, no radio-clock, no A/C, no TV in the room.... let alone Internet connection.

Couldn't find the manager/receptionist during the day... like a ghost house all day long.

It is in the middle of nowhere.... yes, It's 5 minutes to beach or 10 minutes to Larnaca but by car only.

I didn't see any breakfast buffet... and in fact, for any basic service I requested, they asked for more money...

And don't let me started on the quality of their beds... I stayed there for 4 days and I left that hotel with a killing back pain.

Don't stay there even if it is free + incentives.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Two of us booked to stay at the Antonis G earlier this month and were not pleased with the stay overall. We were welcomed to the apartment in the middle of the night by one of the sons of the owner and this was fine. Our room was very basic (we later learnt this was supposedly the best room at the hotel) but we didnt expect much as it was cheap. On closer expection, whilst the room itself was fairly clean the beds were old and damaged, the bed linen and pillows stained and ancient.

We didnt make much of a fuss as we just wanted to enjoy the break away. The hotel is really way out from Larnaca / beaches/ decent restaruants etc but within the village there are a few places to eat. Its expensive to get anywhere by taxi so you need to make sure you hire a car.

The owner welcomed us on the first day and we thought all was well, until the second day - when we were in the pool minding our own business. The owner came to us yelling that we needed to pay approx a fiver per night additional for the air conditioning. We are polite and reasoned people and genuinely thought this would be included - but before we could ask anything he continued shouting that he will "chuck us out if we dont pay" and not to ask him any "stupid questions". He gave us a 5 min timeframe to make our decision and walked off. Never before have either of us experienced anything like it. We hadnt booked with a travel agent/part of package and couldnt risk being evicted so we payed. It was an intimidating, unproffessional and unessecary experience and we would advise people to think carefully before they book to stay here.

Whilst we were there we saw one other lad chucked out because he was eating a sandwich by the pool whilst waiting for his transport to the airport after checking out. A woman and her children also left after they had seen the room which they had been allocated. This led to a lot of shouting and screaming. The owner seems paranoid people are trying to rip him off and his manor is threatening and unreasonable.

At no point were our towels/sheets changed during the stay unless we went down and specifically asked. When they were changed they were generally old and musty smelling.

This is the first time I have poorly reviewed a hotel but I would really not recommend going to Antonis G.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antonis G Hotel Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonis G Hotel Apartment

Address: Anexartisias 17, Oroklini, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka > Oroklini
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oroklini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Antonis G Hotel Apartment 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antonis G Hotel Apartment is a quaint family run complex comprised of 28 self catering apartments combined with all the essential facilities and personal touch guests would expect of a family hotel. Free wifi in the apartments and restaurant. The Antonis G. has being renovated in 2014. Guest accommodation in Antonis G Hotel Apartment is provided within simple yet elegant styled apartments. Each apartment is simply designed to provide maximum comfort in this charming property. The Antonis G Hotel Apartment provides guest with a multitude of on-site leisure and dining facilities and charming location in the Cypriot hillside makes the Antonis G Hotel Apartment an ideal location for family holidays and shorts breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Antonis G Hotel Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonis g Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonis G Hotel Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.