We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven of Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiroran House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiroran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiroran House Hotel
Save
You added Tiroran House Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiroran | Isle of Mull, Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Haven of Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a first class hotel in an idyllic setting. We stayed for one night and received exceptional service, high quality food, and had a very comfortable room with a superb view of the lovely gardens and Loch. A superb hotel in a magnificent, peaceful, and tranquil setting. If you are looking for noise don't stay here!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    19
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
166
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner & I spent four days at Tiroran and it was spectacular. It was our first time to Mull and we were blown away by the beauty of the Island and the surroundings. Katie & Laurence are absolutely wonderful and so welcoming into their beautiful home. Our room was lovely, super clean and it was the comfiest bed I think I have ever slept in! The food at Tiroran is incredible, from breakfast to quick snacks I was blown away!
I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you both so much for such a lovely review, it was an utter delight to meet you both and we are all so glad that you had such a special time at Tiroran House Hotel.

I am so delighted that you thought the bed in your room was so comfortable, we have a lot of compliments about our top quality beds but never quite know if we can meet everyone's preferences because of course, everyone is different! but it is so good to be told that we are getting things right.

We are also looking forward to seeing you again when we understand that you are already booked in for New Year 2015, it seems a long way away from now but of course if you want to return to your favourite places at special times, well it is worth the future planning!

With warmest best wishes to you both and thank you again for all your kind words.

Katie Mackay
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tiroran House Hotel occupies a stunning, peaceful position overlooking Loch Scridain. It was once the holiday home of the Cheap family, and the original call bell can be seen in a lobby. Dinner starts with drinks and canopies in the lounges after 7pm and dinner is a single sitting at 8pm. The food is excellent with a good choice of meat, fish and chicken. One of the delights of the hotel is that there is no mobile signal and the wifi is slow allowing you to switch off from the hustle of everyday life and truly relax by pursuing a range of activities including,walking, reading and visiting the wide range of attractions on Mull.

Room Tip: Main house - upstairs room overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Tiroran House Hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed each aspect of your stay.

It is of course interesting to see that you commented so kindly upon the fact that there is no mobile phone reception and that our Wi-Fi can be slow because we are currently investigating installing a satellite system with the view to speeding everything up! We have been criticised a little for these points in the past so it seems prudent that we should investigate them further and see what can be done, you of course may have just put a slight spanner in the works but then it only goes to show that everyone has their own independent opinion so we are reminded once again that there is a fine balance between everyone's expectation and experiences, but than you you so much for raising it anyway.

With our warmest best wishes and many thanks again to you for your extremely kind words.

Katie Mackay
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Tiroran House Hotel on the recommendation of a neighbour & the Trip Advisor reviews and were so happy that we did! Lawrence & his staff have an eye for detail and do a fabulous job of making your stay comfortable. The sitting areas are comfortable, clean, and cozy. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, we opted for the west room instead of the green room because it was lager although the west room has a loch facing view. The West room looks onto one of the beautiful gardens so you really can't go wrong when choosing a room! The grounds are stunning! There are lots of different walks you can choose from too and the staff have even made gestures along the way to put a smile on your face. The food is top! Lots of in betweens to cleanse your pallet before the next course. It was great to be able to come together with the other guests and enjoy great conversation, as well as, some great gins & whiskeys. Don't make the mistake we did.............stay more than one night!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, such kind words and so complimentary, the review is such a delight for us to read and clearly reminds everyone of what Tiroran is really about, hospitality, great food, comfort and a real opportunity to enjoy the house party atmosphere that clearly prevails most evenings.

And next time, please do stay a little longer, I knew how much you had enjoyed your stay at the time and please do thank your neighbours for their recommendation, small hotels such as our depend entirely upon this kind of recommendation and of course your extremely kind words here on Trip Advisor, thank you again so much.

With warmest best wishes to you both.

Katie Mackay
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to Mull and having done my homework(trip advisor)choose Tiroran House Hotel.We stayed three nights at the start of the season and immensely enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel run very professionaly by the owners and there staff.Food was outstanding and our room in the annex by the side of the main hotel(we had dogs which were made very welcome!)was both large and comfortable.We had great fun in the evening enjoying the hosts banter and meeting other guests.Our only complaint was they didn't quite fix the weather for us.Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely, warm and kind review, we really enjoyed you coming to stay and meeting your beautiful dogs as well! We are of course sorry not to be able to improve the weather, it was a bit miserable all over but we were delighted that you cozied down in front of the log burner and we determined not to let it stop your plansl!

We really do hope that you and your wife will return again soon, we would be delighted to see you both again, and who knows, maybe our big puppy will learn a thing or 2 from your wonderfully behaved dogs - well we can only hope!!

With warmest best wishes to you both from us all

Katie Mackay
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a long planned trip to celebrate a significant birthday. Ahead of our three night stay I asked if I could bring a particular wine to have with dinner - Laurence the owner agreed immediately and turned down my offer of a corkage charge. Rather classy I thought.
The hotel is really remote, with stunning views across Loch Scridain. It's about a thirty minute drive from the port and is miles from the nearest house. It's a small elegant country house with nicely tended gardens sloping down to the loch.
One or two reviews have voiced criticism of 'quirks' such as ordering dinner in advance, mixing with other guests before dinner etc. Forget all that, and settle down to enjoy fabulous food cooked by a really talented chef. Think too of the difficulties of obtaining high quality ingredients to the remote side of Mull, then don't complain about having to order early. Laurence was only on site for one night of our stay, but the rest of the staff were charming, with nothing too much trouble. Relax before or after dinner in either the cosy tartany lounge in front of the woodturner, or in the conservatory overlooking the gardens. Breakfast is cooked to order and was a great start to the day.
We stayed in the green room with a fabulous view across the loch, with a small ante room alongside a smallish bathroom. It's not easy getting modern facilities into an old building, so no complaints there either.
Because of the location you really have to eat in the hotel, which was an absolute pleasure for us but might not suit everyone on a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at Tiroran and of course that our staff looked after you both so well.

Everything you say is so right about the restrictions of living and working so remotely, however, with 10 years of trial we hope very much that we are managing to deliver the best that we possibly can.

Laurence was sorry not to be around on the other 2 evenings of your stay, he was so busy getting things back to normal after the storm damage we incurred over January but we are confident that as you say, our manager Susan and Rob his son looked after you so well - and of course, now that we have resumed normal service, he is looking forward to being around a lot more in the evenings.

We are glad that you enjoyed dinner so much, with Craig (our head chef) and his team having just gained their 3rd AA rosette we feel extremely proud to be reinforcing Mull as a worthy destination not just for its outstanding scenic beauty and wildlife but the food and produce as well.

We hope very much that we shall see you again soon.

With our warmest best wishes

Katie Mackay
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This is by far our most favourite hotel to stay in when I am in Mull, we just love it. We went to celebrate the New Year, we can't thank our friendly hosts enough for their hospitality. The food was amazing, our room was superb with a lovely view over the garden, it was spotlessly clean and had the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The tranquil and stunning views around the hotel are just breathtaking. Thank you for a memorable time, I hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your return visit to celebrate new year with us here at Tiroran, its a fine location for a party and even though we were in the depths of winter, it was a truly memorable and fun affair for everyone including ourselves as hosts.

With our warmest best wishes to you both and of course we are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest best wishes from us all.

Katie Mackay
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiroran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiroran House Hotel

Address: Tiroran | Isle of Mull, Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tiroran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiroran House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 star Visit Scotland and AA 4 star rated hotel - The only Country House Hotel on the Isle of Mull and equal distance to Tobermory and Iona -3 AA Rosette restaurant - Scottish Country House Hotel of the Year 2013 & 2014 -11 en suite bedrooms (most with loch views) -elegant country house dining in licensed restaurant - Very large well maintained gardens with private beach, tumbling river and waterfalls - beautifully comfortable and elegant hotel run exclusively by the owners and staff for the benefit of their resident guests - Tiroran House Hotel Isle of Mull nestles among some of the best land and seascapes of the British Isles with some of the most exciting wildlife sightings in the UK . Non resident diners welcome please telephone or email directly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiroran House Hotel Isle Of Mull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiroran House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.