We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiroran House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiroran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiroran House Hotel
Save
You added Tiroran House Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Shropshire, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Tiroran House is set in an amazing location, overlooking a sea loch in a very quiet part of the Isle of Mull, with its own delightful gardens and access to the loch. Add to this charming and helpful owners in Laurence and Katie, ably assisted but Ivana, Matthew and Jacob (Ivana was ALWAYS smiling and cheerful from breakfast to after dinner) and you have a little piece of heaven - particularly when the sun is shining. We even saw a deer and a couple of Golden Eagles from the hotel grounds. (Laurence was also very helpful when the Mull roads punctured one of our tyres - thanks)!

The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished but are not the uniform style of modern hotels so some are better than others. The lounges are comfortably furnished and the dining room is pleasant. Food was excellent, with great evening meals and breakfasts (although Thursday evenings are more rustic than fine dining with a commensurate price reduction). It is necessary to let Laurence know if you plan to dine at Tiroran and to pre-order your choices in the late afternoon. Although this is an unusual procedure for 2012, Tiroran is a small hotel in the wilds of Mull that produces superb meals so it is worth putting up with the system!

Dinner is at 8pm with drinks beforehand in the lounges so the whole experience is more like an Agatha Christie style house party but without the murder! When you have a great group of guests together, from several countries and backgrounds as happened during our stay, the experience can be a delight with very animated and enjoyable after dinner conversation.

Overall, we had a marvellous stay at Tiroran and would stay there again when/if we return to the Isle of Mull.

Room Tip: Perhaps not best suited to families with young children - and take care on the roads, they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    17
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
158
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
strontian
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A truly lovely hotel. Hospitality, rooms, food and service all excellent and served up in the most wonderful setting imaginable. A very memorable and enjoyable stay. We will most cetrainly return and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a loch view, it is fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

In September last year, I travelled with friends on a remarkable driving holiday in remote areas of Scotland. We stayed in unusual places of wild and spectacular scenery. One of the highlights of our stay was the lovely Tiroran House, set overlooking the Loch, on a small stream in a wonderful garden, on the West Coast of the Island of Mull. This area is famous for bird watchers, and you may see the wonderful Golden Eagle in this area. "Mine host" was a charming Scot and his wife - a superb cook- who welcomed us with warmth and charm. The rooms were cosy and individually furnished, and the food was truly outstanding! The freshest seafood, beautifully presented, the finest Scottish lamb and beef, and extraordinary desserts. We met delightful guests - mostly from the UK- some there for fishing and "stalking", others who returned each year for the solitude and beauty. I cannot recommended it highly enough.

Room Tip: There were a couple of rooms with unusual 'shower' arrangements, where you must step into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Any trip to the Western Isles must include a trip to Mull to stay at Tiroran House. Laurence and Katie have created a perfect location to enjoy the delights of the Highlands with superb hospitality, delicious food and beautiful surroundings: you will be guaranteed a warm welcome and won't want to leave. Tiroran represents the best of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We had arranged to meet up again this year with some lovely friends we made staying last year and guess what we met some more new lovely friends who we have arranged to meet next June. Surely that tells you we were extremely happy with everything from the setting, the room, the wonderful staff and owners, oh and the amazing food! The company was so good we laughed so much, it was good for the soul. My husband took some persuading to come to Scotland last year but after just one day we had decided to come back! Roll on next June. Rob and Jan x

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We love the wild remoteness of Mull and when at the end of a long days walking you return to the welcome & comfort of Tiroran House it is an unbeatable combination. For us, the reason Tiroran stands apart from so many other places where we have stayed is Katie & Laurence's ability to make you feel how genuinely delighted they are to have you as guests and for the period of your stay you become a valued member of their extended family.

Together with their attentive, intelligent and charming staff, they are only delighted to accommodate your wishes and although it is an overused cliche, truly nothing seems too much trouble. On one occasion Katie's son James was conscripted to drive us to another part of the island which he did with great friendliness and courtesy so that we could repeat a walk which we originally did 30 years ago without on this occasion having to hitch home at the end of the day.

What have I left out ? Yes the food is excellent, both dinner & breakfast & Laurence's pre-dinner G&Ts with a choice of three scottish gins do stimulate the appetite. As some reviewers point out, Tioran house it is not cheap, but what a great place to stay in a wonderful part of Scotland. We were very happy there.

Simon. Oxfordshire

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great location. Beautiful gardens. Private beach.
Lawrence and Katie Mackay were the perfect hosts. They made us feel very welcome .
Bedrooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable.
Food was excellent.
We spent three days there and were very sorry to leave. We will definitely be back.
If you want 6* + service this is the place to visit. Nothing is too much trouble.

Iain and Margo Gray - Southport

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiroran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiroran House Hotel

Address: Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tiroran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiroran House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Visit Scotland and AA rated hotel on the Isle of Mull - The only Country House Hotel on the island and equal distance to Tobermory and Iona - 2 AA Rosette restaurant - Scottish Country House Hotel of the Year 2013 & 2014 -10 en suite bedrooms (most with loch views) -elegant country house dining in licensed restaurant - Very large well maintained gardens and private beach - beautifully comfortable and elegant hotel run exclusively by the owners and staff for the benefit of their resident guests - Tiroran House Hotel Isle of Mull nestles among some of the best land and seascapes of the British Isles. Non resident diners welcome - advance bookings essential ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiroran House Hotel Isle Of Mull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiroran House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.