We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

The White Horse Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The White Horse Inn to your Saves list
The White Horse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Market Place, Kenninghall NR16 2AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kenninghall B&B and Inns
Kings Lynn Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wouldn't go back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed here last month with a voucher code, not impressed!!! We had 2nights there, didn't get our wine on arrival and on the Saturday night (when u expect a pub to be busy) we were the only ones in there! As for the evening meal - everything came out the microwave & all I could describe about mine was a plate of slop! The breakfast was no 'full English' - very basic. The room however was ok & warm enough. We were looking forward to a Sunday lunch there but after a morning shopping in Norwich we came back to find it all locked up! So we went up the road to the Red Lion where the food & atmosphere were fantastic!!! Didn't want to leave!
Needless to say we went back there for our evening meal before going back to white horse to bed. Next morning we got up and made a sharp exit to mr D's diner which was FAB!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time here, a very warm welcome by the owner and staff, we had a lovely family room nice and warm, comfy bed plenty of tea and coffee. The evening meal was outstanding, had a great night with the staff and the locals will defiantly be going back for a longer stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay. Very friendly owner and staff. Our spotless bedroom named the Regency room was exceptionally spacious and the pretty bed very comfortable. Excellent food and service. Pleasant location with nice walks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Would not stay here again. Our room was freezing, the electric kept cutting out. even in the bar they had a fire burning but was still freezing!!! Breakfast was ok but sausages were basic ones, cheap beans and tinned tomatoes. We were supposed to have wine on arrival but didn't get asked if we wanted any.. Will not be returning here ever again.!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenninghall hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were taken to our room (which was up in the rafters) and needed to be a bit of a contorsionist to get there! That being said, it was fun negotiating the stairs (up and down!). The room was a good size and had an en-suite shower. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. We ate in both evenings of our stay, and enjoyed the food (although on the second night we dispensed with the starter as we were too full the first night. Breakfast was of a lower quality, but satisfied us throughout the day. Enjoyed the (one) real ale that was on offer, and managed a few during the evenings. Our host was very friendly, and took time to chat to us (when he wasn't cooking!). Give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for one night on a Groupon deal. Plenty of car parking around the back of the Inn on arrival. We were greeted by a very friendly John and were given The Granary for our stay. It was lovely and cosy, right at the top of the building, but unlike another comment on Tripadvisor we found no 'climbing problems' to reach the room. The building is very old so its expected that the floors and stairs will be in keeping with the place. It was charming, the staircase well lit and there was no problems whatsoever in reaching our room. The room had a lovely comfy bed, wardrobes, was spotlessly clean and plenty of teas, coffees milks (which is a nice touch considering some places we have stayed where there is 2 of everything and that's your lot).and another plus was the lovely fragrance from the bed linen (can only assume they use lovely herby fragranced fabric conditioner!) Yes the tv was in a slightly awkward spot and a little patchy with the signal, but it was adequate for our need and after a little jiggle was fine. We really thought it would be chilly in the room after reading some reviews but it was warm and cosy snug and we both slept soundly on what was the coldest night yet of this season. In fact it was a surprise to see the white frost on the cars outside next morning, such was the snugness in the room. We had emailed John previously to request food for our evening meal as we didn't want to venture back out after our stroll around Diss in the afternoon (lovely little place with pleasant shops) We were welcomed by very friendly locals when we sat down to eat and the lady serving was also very friendly. Part of our excellent Groupon deal was a glass of wine each. The food was good hearty pub grub and plenty of it. We had three courses, and each course was lovely. The room was relaxed, and warm (unlike the other review that mentioned on their stay it was cold in the room) After a good nights sleep we awoke to a full english breakfast each. Once again good food and lots of it. There was no menu but a full english is self explanatory really although I did request no egg with my meal but was surprised to find an extra sausage had been added to my plate to make up for it which was good. Fruit juice tea coffee was served straight away and there was cereals on the side table should you want them. I feel it a bit harsh to complain that there wasn't a menu or fruits, lots of continental fare or loads of condiments. For the offer we had it was exceptional value at a very very good price. We were not in a large four or five star hotel. This was a small cosy very welcoming good value Inn and John and his band of ladies (sorry ladies we did not know your names) were so friendly and the food and hospitality were very good. In fact so good that later that night on returning home we received an email thanking us for our stay and hoping we had a good time. What a lovely touch to finish off what was a very pleasant stay. Thank you all at The White Horse Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in the Granary. At the very top of the Inn so some stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk, Uk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Positives - lovely old building, fire in bar, very friendly staff
Negatives - food very average, Granary room up very steep stairs, very old TV with dodgy reception and room cold.

We visited on a groupon voucher so for the price we paid it was fine. I wouldn't want to pay more and I wouldn't want to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Granary if steep stairs are a problem for you and don't stay in the Granar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: Market Place, Kenninghall NR16 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Kenninghall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kenninghall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small country inn situated under three miles from Snetterton racing circuit and two miles from Banham zoo, eight miles to either Diss or Attleborough and three miles from A11 Trunk Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.