We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in the heart of Andalucia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Almohalla 51 to your Saves list
Almohalla 51
Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Archidona B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true gem in the heart of Andalucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are five stunning and individually designed rooms in this beautifully restored house which is full of treasures and has many hidden corners to explore. You can expect a fantastic welcome from David and Myles who are wonderful, caring and knowledgeable hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are a feast and are made with delicious, locally-sourced produce. Almohalla 51 is a peaceful place to escape and unwind. There’s nothing better than enjoying the sunshine in the relaxing pool area. The small town of Archidona is on the doorstep and offers an authentic Spanish experience, with a variety of delicious local restaurants, stunning sunsets and mountain views. The hotel is also the perfect gateway for exploring more of Andalucia including beautiful Malaga, Seville, Ronda, Cordoba and Granada, although we found it hard to tear ourselves away from the fabulous house and pool. One of my favourite holidays! We look forward to visiting again soon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
93
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What can we say that hasn't been said already? David and Myles are brilliant hosts and make you feel so welcome. The property is absolutely first class and has been decorated incredibly, with a beautiful roof terrace and pool. The information they supply is excellent as is their personal knowledge of the region. Breakfast was fantastic with a variety every day of local fresh fruit and locally sourced cooked food such as tomatoes, mushrooms, cheese and ham. We would recommend staying at Almohalla 51 to everyone it truly is amazing and we will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is a real treat. The attention to detail is wonderful - everything from the breakfasts to the overall design of the hotel is beautifully thought through. Archidona itself is in the perfect location to explore Andalucia, but we found ourselves spending much of the time lying in the hammock by the pool, reading and enjoying the peace. David and Myles are brilliant hosts and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

WOW. My wife and I just came back from one of the most relaxing breaks we've ever had and it's thanks to the amazing atmosphere that Myles and David create at Almohalla 51. From the moment we arrived the guys made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them.

If you have a hire car, you are within a short drive for great day trips to Granada, Seville, Malaga, Ronda, Antequera and Cordoba.

Archidona itself is a beautiful little town well away from the tacky 'english' bits of Andalucia. No one really speaks English and you feel like you're having a proper cultural experience. The restaurants in the town are basic, but authentic and perfect for holiday dining.

All the rooms in Almohalla are lovely (we had a sneak around when they were unoccupied!) and the house is peaceful and beautifully decorated.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough, our visit was perfect from beginning to end.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I went to Almohalla 51 with a group of friends to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had a great time. Myles and David were brilliant hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. The Guest house is charming and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs, ham, homemade jam. All yum! Myles and David did a BBQ for us round the pool one evening and this was great.
I can't recommend Almohalla 51 enough. We had a lovely relaxing stay and I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

On our way down to Malaga from Madrid we wanted to break up the driving by spending the night somewhere. Almohalla 51 fit what we were looking for, and David and Myles were extremely helpful by email. As soon as we arrived in charming Archidona I knew that this was bound to be a special place. We walked in to the beautiful hotel, made up of two restored local homes. What they've done with the space is astounding. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable (I had the best sleep in weeks!) and the rooftop pool and terrace are to die for. Breakfast the next morning was more like lunch-- three courses! Everything was delicious and the breakfast terrace was extremely peaceful. We were sad to leave after only one night, as it was truly a place where we were able to unwind and relax. I will surely be back sometime soon, and in the meantime I recommend it to anyone looking for something different in the Malaga area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I don't often write reviews on hotels, however this time I do feel an exception is warranted. David and Myles have created a perfect piece of paradise in the quaint little town of Archidona. Almohalla 51 is the perfect places to unwind and relax with stunning vistas and beautiful private rooftop terrace. The rooms are gorgeous and finished to rustic perfection, whilst the guys cannot do enough for you. The trademark Almohalla breakfast really is as good as what previous reviews have claimed with fresh fruit and eggs cooked to your liking and if you do get the opportunity to sample any of the guys cooking definitely take them up on it - one of the best meals I have had in a long time!


Archidona itself is a beautiful town with extremely friendly locals. I would recommed hiring a car - I certainly intend to next time. All in all it was the most relaxing break I have had and largely due to the warmth of both David and Myles and the hotel itself. I cannot recommend this spot enough and intend to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almohalla 51, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.