We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolpack Country Inn

Woolpack Country Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woolpack Country Inn to your Saves list
Woolpack Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently had a 4 weeks stay in this hotel and have to say that the food was quite simply excellent. My room was spacious if not a little dated décor, but that didn't cause me any trouble at all.
If I have any slight negative, it is simply the wifi and mobile phone signals. This is purely a location issue, but if communications are not too critical an issue, then I would recommend the Woolpack as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    16
    8
    14
See reviews for
24
74
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
consett
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our first impressions were good. Rob who seemed to run the place, was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom was lovely and the towels were very good quality.We took the dinner deal (£99.00) for room and 2 people having dinner and breakfast. The room was £69 and we were each allowed £20 off the menu.
The food was really good and breakfast was very well cooked. We only had good positive things to say about the Woolpack, Its in a rural location and Its well worth a visit.Free parking too.

Room Tip: The rooms are accessed from outside, which make them very private with no noise or disturbances.I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My comments refer to the restaurant only.

Visited on Saturday 15 March for a meal with 5 other family members. Our reservation was for 7.30pm and we arrived in plenty of time perhaps too early.

Drinks were ordered at the bar and we were shown to our table and menus supplied, items unavailable were pointed out. The restaurant was far from busy yet there was no sign of anyone willing to take our orders for some considerable time in fact we were in need of further drinks before anyone was available to take our order some 25 minutes later. Finally a waiter arrived to take our order and then we waited…and waited….and waited..ordered more drinks and when enquired about how much longer we were told the chef was very busy and it shouldn't be long maybe a further 10 or 15 minutes. And so we waited, finally the starters arrived at 8.20pm some 50 minutes after the arranged time and probably half an hour later than anticipated. The meal was originally booked for 7 people but reduced to 6 due to illness, they didn't even think to remove the place setting. Nothing special about the starters but by this time we were all ready for some food. The mains were then brought to the table and by this time we were all fed up with waiting so ate what came which was a sirloin steak cooked slightly too much for the medium/rare request, a salmon dish with barely cooked asparagus (still hard), sea bream sat on a huge mound of risotto. A large bowl of soggy over cooked chips arrived shortly after and later still as we were halfway through our meals a dish of new potatoes were brought to our table. Service was very poor and the meal just average for more than average prices. We were offered dessert but decided against, asking for the bill which was the only thing that arrived without delay!

The bar staff were friendly but one of them who was waiting on our table (a young male) addressed me as ‘mate’ when I complained about the delay, which indicated his lack of training by management, the kitchen would seem to have been understaffed another management failing - Won’t be rushing back I’m afraid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for a week and found our room very comfortable, clean and cosy.No noise just peaceful country surroundings. The staff were very friendley and helpful. Food is served in the pub lounge and there is a good choice. Breakfast is freshly cooked and the service is brilliant all in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 are on a quiet corner 1 min from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Hotel and staff were very welcoming, set in an idyllic situation. Food is great and would recommend. We loved it so much we are definitely going back even though we live in Southampton. We are seriously thinking of booking for my Birthday at the end of March.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

It's Sunday evening and you follow a simple location attraction sign, who'd have thought it would lead to this gem in the heart of Yorkshire?!
Even though they had just taken the last food orders, they managed to squeeze us in!
What a treat, we may have only plumped for Scampi and Chips, but they turned this pub classic into a sumptuous feast! Wow, it certainly had filler!!
Fabulous pub, with awesome food, well delivered drinks and a great welcome!
Put it on the list for when you are looking for that honest, modern but old fashioned pub with charm and zero corporate claptrap!
Excellent!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Wales
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Woolpack is good value for money although could have a higher rating if they invevsted a little bit more in their finishes.

We stayed in a ground ground floor room which is part of an extension. Good sized room, pleasantly furnished and average comfort bed. However, if I am being picky, better pillows would help and the 'wardrobe' is basic, but it is functional. The bathroom however is a little bit strange. The frosted window has a net curtain. People from the adjoing room walk right past the window so if you happen to be sitting on the toilet (or standing, if you are male) and they walk past, if feels a little bit 'exposed'!
A proper curtain would easly sort this and improve privacy.

Another improvement would be doing something with the creaking of the floors from the room above. (I wonder if they used floor joists that were designed on the economical side of the calculations.)

The breakfast was good. It is made to order and tasty. Service is reasonably efficient although served with Yorkshire reserve. However, the staff are polite and provide you with what you ask for.

Overall, a reasonable place to stay and I would consider it gain - hoping they get a curtain on that window.

Room Tip: Get one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolpack Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Country Inn

Address: Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolpack Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Country Inn has featured on the West Yorkshire landscape since the 1700’s. Still a traditional village Inn today, offering home cooked, locally sourced food in recently refurbished, cosy, surroundings. Our peaceful, village location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday living. With 10 en-suite bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Woolpack Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Country Hotel Dewsbury
West Yorkshire Country Inn
Country Inn West Yorkshire
Woolpack Country Inn Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolpack Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.