We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine pub food in Fairburn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Horse Shoes

Three Horse Shoes
Silver St, Knottingley WF11 9JA, England
+44 1977 672543 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Knottingley
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: English, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Three Horseshoes is a family owned public house and restaurant situated in Yorkshire next to the beautiful Fairburn Ings nature and bird sanctuary. Whether you're planning a day out at the Ings, walking through the glorious local countryside or are simply passing, why not pop-in and sample our home cooked meals and range of drinks.
Wetherby
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Fine pub food in Fairburn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Perfectly located for dining if your visiting Fairburn Ings- located on route from the A1to Fairburn Ings in Fairburn Village (not Knottingley!)
Substantial portions of very good pub food at reasonable prices. I enjoyed a large steak in ale pie, full of succulent beef and a rich beery gravy, with a substantial portion of home made chips, plus 3 veg. I'm not normally a lover of the "puff pastry hat" kind of pie, as I prefer shortcrust, but even this did not detract from a really good pie.
Friend enjoyed a good beef lasagne with salad, chips and veg.
2 well kept real ales, friendly and efficient service, and a good busy, but not over crowded feel to the place even on a Tuesday lunchtime all give more reasons to eat here again next time I visit Fairburn Ings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    14
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

go there often, wonderful hosts, fabulous food and atmosphere, always have to book to get in
it is always full no matter what time. It has a great reputation in the surrounding area.
if there is anything wrong with the food just tell them and it is soon rectified. we are always asked if the food is okay.
don't have a problem with the baby change as we don't have a baby. this is really not that kind of pub, it is an old fashioned down to earth place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not equipped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Went here a few weeks ago, we took our 13 month old Son & my mother. Booked for 5.30pm Sat teatime. Everything fine until we smelt poo, our Son had soiled his nappy, i got his bag together and asked where the baby change was - i was told there wasnt one. I asked if they had a counter top inthe toilets or anything to which the lady replied these buildings were built a long time before things like that were invented!fair enough, but u can get changing station that fold down from the wall. Id like to see what their disabled facilities are like! Most places have baby change in with disabled. I had to take my son to the car to be cleaned up , i didnt think it appropriate to do it in the pub.
Steak pie was nice but it was juststeak stew on a plate with puff pastry plonked on top!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Be prepared to be beaten by the size of the portions as they are quite monstrous but that gets a big tick in my book. A friendly pub, a good selection, a little bit busy but it's going to be when the food is of a decent quality. I went for the special of the day, the tuna steak and was thoroughly impressed. Would come here again

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Friendly village pub with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

A very friendly pub that makes you feel welcome. Comfortable surroundings and clean. Great outdoor seating area too. The food is good but has gone up quite a bit in price in recent times so havent eaten there as often. For a sunday lunch i would recommend booking a table as it does get very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Horse Shoes also viewed

Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Three Horse Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Horse Shoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.