We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 5 star reviews are true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family Hotel La Grotta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vigo di Fassa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Family Hotel La Grotta
Save
You added Family Hotel La Grotta to your Saves list
Strada de Soraporta 8, 38039 Vigo di Fassa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Vigo di Fassa
happybabybird
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The 5 star reviews are true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Actually it was a better idea not to share my thoughts on Trip Advisor and keep this hotel secret to myself and my friends for next year, but the team at La Grotta deserves another 5 star review. I've been to many hotels in my life, but this was actually the best. The one thing thats stands out at this hotel are the people running it. They really do care about you. We booked a week in August after reading all the good reviews on Trip Advisor. And they are true. My daughter told me that after a few days stay she wanted to come next year as well. Even without speaking Italian she made some Italian friends in the Kids Club. My wife was content with the sauna, the no-stress environment en I liked the cakes and I even managed to read books. The food was excellent too... And so were the trips organized by the hotel. Tue value for money, we're coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlottaboschetto, Proprietario at Family Hotel La Grotta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to meet you and to see your doughter enjoi our babyclub and make new italian friends!!!
we are waiting for you
our best wishes
Carlotta & Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    49
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
421
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We returned to this gem of a hotel for a second time to spend a few days of hiking on the endless string of paths.
The hotel is located on the edge of Vigo di Fassa, a small village just up from the main road through the valley. The proprietors and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, and experts in giving recommendations for hiking. The hotel is very family oriented and, hence, full of children. This should not, however, scare away adult travelers. The service is faultless throughout.
Last, but not least, the food is excellent.

Highest recommendations for this wonderful mountain hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlottaboschetto, Proprietario at Family Hotel La Grotta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice review
we are happy that you enjoied our hotel and all the Dolomiti
we are waiting for you next time you are going to come in this area
best wishes
Carlotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! From the minute you walk in the door to the time you leave, you are very much at home. Carlotta, Alberto and the staff are relaxed and friendly and make you feel very welcome. We stayed in the Sigolot Room which was a perfect size for my husband, 2 teenage daughters and myself. The hotel is spotless, the food is excellent and the location to the ski lifts couldn't be better.

Room Tip: The Sigolot Rooms is a great size for a family of 4 with amazing views of the Dolomites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlottaboschetto, Proprietario at Family Hotel La Grotta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you fro your nice review of our hotel
best regards
CArlotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written on TripAdvisor.
We stayed at Family Hotel La Grotta for a week at Christmas (2012) and I choose the hotel because of the "family" label. I was NOT disappointed. As my wife was working, I came alone with my 2 young boys with trepidation. No worries! The activities organized by the hotel were as promised. The staff wonderful! Without exception.The hotel roomy! In addition, we all made a lot of friends and my kids had a great time. Thank you to all that were as helpful as they were patient. A special thank you for the Ciaspolata with a terrific host!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlottaboschetto, Proprietario at Family Hotel La Grotta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Tahnk you David for your review
we allways remeber of you and your children but more for the friendship there was betwin all our guest douring this week
I am sorry for my delay in answer to you!
best wishes
Carlotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

It has become a habit for us to stay in La Grotta for our spring skiing week (this year was our 6th time).This family hotel perfectly suits our needs for family vacation. Carlotta and Alberto always make us feel at home and we greatly appreciate their hospitality. The staff is wonderful, food excellent, rooms very comfortable. We highly recommend Family Hotel La Grotta to everybody who is looking for a memorable vacation in the Dolomites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

this was our second visit to Carlotta and Alberto and the team and it was even better than the first. You simply can not fault the experience and with a dedicated team that has been together for years (try the chef for 35 years!), you can see and feel the quality from beginning to end. The service is exquisite, food sumptuous, rooms extremely comfortable and very well appointed. Is it home from home - absolutely ! oh yes and the skiing is superb. If you are looking to ski in Italy with family and friends, then Family Hotel La Grotta in Vigo is highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We planned to stay only one night and stayed for four! No need to say more! Wonderful service, food, scenery, walking. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Family Hotel La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Hotel La Grotta

Address: Strada de Soraporta 8, 38039 Vigo di Fassa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Vigo di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#1 Family Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and confortable room with tipical forniture and a phantastic wiev on the Dolomiti ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Family Hotel La Grotta Vigo Di Fassa, Italy - Province Of Trento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Hotel La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.