We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Mugon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Mugon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gran Mugon
Strada de Tamion no 3, 38039 Vigo di Fassa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 hotels in Vigo di Fassa
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recent return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a very pleasant return visit ( for the fourth time-which speaks for itself) , to this tranquil , family run hotel in the Dolomites. Comfortable accommodation, delicious locally sourced cuisine, and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Excellent walking/ climbing in the vicinity of the hotel, at all levels of difficulty. Spectacular scenery and a nature lover's paradise.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road and to the south of the hotel have balconies and are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a family run hotel, and is probably best for families; it is close to Vigo di Fassa and Carezza, which both offer intermediate skiing that will absorb a day or two each. Further afield there is a plethora of similar sized 1 to 2 day ski areas, all covered by the Dolomiti Superski pass. The food in the hotel is good, with a fresh menu every day. WiFi works in the reception area, and was supposed to work in the room, although it didn't for us. Which was anyway probably not a bad thing - to have less internet access on holiday.
NB: children under 14 are not allowed in the wellness centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for a week. I knew the place since I was a child but I was absent for more than 25 years and I was so happy to discover that everything was kept so well preserved and modern at the same time. This is a small cosy hotel located in the heart of the Dolomites run by a local cheerful family that make you feel at home as soon as you get into the hotel. The room are bright, warm and clean. The breakfast is amazing with the home made jams and cakes as well as the delicious speck and cheese that make you feel happy from the first moment you see them. But obviously the best part is the dinner!! it is like going to a michelin restaurant every night..the cuisine is really high standard and the chef outstanding in mixing tradition with modernity in every single dish. Last but not least, what make this hotel different from the others is the courtesy and the warm hospitality that you receive as a guest. From the owners to the staff none of them will let you feel as a stranger but you will always be treated as an honourable guest that like them love that magic cosy hidded place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Gran Mugon for three weeks in June/July 2012. The first week was with my wife in a double room, the following two were in a single room.

This is a family-run hotel and guests are made to feel 'one of the family'. It is located in a small hamlet a couple of miles from Vigo di Fassa. It fronts onto a meadow and backs onto trees. There are fabulous views to the mountains on either side of the Fassa Valley.

The food is really a major plus for the hotel. All guests on half-board eat at the same time (7.30pm) but because choices are made earlier the meal experience flows well. There is a 'help yourself' salad bar with up to 24 choices, then the next three courses are served with three options for each course. It's a real gourmet delight.

Help is always on hand if you need guidance on things to do or see, or to sort out the little problems that may accompany any holiday.

The double or twin rooms are delightful, most having a small balcony with room for a couple of chairs and super views. The single rooms are not quite as welcoming being a little snug and most only having a small window to the outside world.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Flowers adourn window boxes across the front of the hotel.

For people who do not like stairs there is a lift in the hotel which also makes carrying bags to and from rooms easier.

There are a number of walks from the hotel and the whole area is rich in wildlife. At the time of year I visited, should your interest be birds, butterflies, moths or flowers or just walking in the mountains you will not be disappointed.

The hotel does have a 'wellness centre' and also facilities for skiing but these were not used.

Wifi is available in the public areas on the ground floor.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It has a delightful atmosphere and someone must be hard to please if they are disappointed with it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the afternoon/evening sun. Whilst on the roadside, the hamlet is small and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel for a natural history-related visit, and were absolutely delighted. She's coeliac, and with not the slightest fuss the hotel helped with gluten-free alternatives to any dishes she had to avoid - and the food was excellent, so she would not have wanted to miss anything! Wonderfully situated among meadows and woods, the hotel is family-run, friendly, and quietly efficient. By the time we left, it was just a question of when we can come back!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I chose the Gran Mugon by looking at the hotel's website and reading other visitors' reviews. Wow, am I glad we chose it! What a wonderful and perfect hotel this was! The service was excellent and our room was beautiful and very clean. The people were so friendly and treated you like family. The food... my God.. the food was superb. The wellness center was incredible and we relaxed in the showers and the jacuzzi several nights there before dinner. I loved that the hotel was just outside the heart of Vigo Di Fassa down it's own quiet, little mountain road. It takes just two minutes to drive into town where there are some cute shops and cafes to enjoy. There is also a beautiful place to go skiing and a wonderful little ski school for children. If you are looking for a cozy, excellent quality hotel with an exquisite kitchen in the dolomites, that is close to everything yet in a tranquil and gorgeous mountain setting then the Gran Mugon is it! I highly, highly recommend it and hopefully will be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gran Mugon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Mugon

Address: Strada de Tamion no 3, 38039 Vigo di Fassa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Vigo di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#3 Spa Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#10 Family Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Gran Mugon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Mugon Vigo Di Fassa, Italy - Fassa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Mugon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.