We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food .good atmosphere. Excellent service. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saruketha

Saruketha
Dambulla Road, Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
094374691123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kurunegala
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food .good atmosphere. Excellent service. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent service. Really tasty food and nice atmosphere. If you're passing kurunegala this is a place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest It is grate to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality and was a privilege to accommodate you in our restaurant Hope you will return back soon
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to unwind, snack and enjoy the scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Decent food and drink (the papaya and banana smoothie is my recommendation!) and fantastic atmosphere. Nestled into a bamboo wood by a creek, this is a great place to stop and relax if you're driving through the area. Service was also very satisfactory.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer
We are so happy to here your positive and encouraging review and for promoting our establishment we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality and hope you will be back in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice setting, great food and very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice setting, great food and very friendly staff! I ordered the butter chicken which I expected to be spicy, just like the version I knew. It wasn’t so I asked for some additional chilies, expecting it had to do with amendments to the taste of foreigners. The waiter came with some fresh chilies, followed by the chef. He explained that the Sri Lankan Butter Chicken isn’t supposed to be spicy but that he is preparing a Sri Lankan curry right now and will bring me a plate when finished. Soon after I had two big plates with very nice Sri Lankan dishes in front of me. Best of all, I got both recipes from the chef as well. Very nice! :-)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Customer
We are so happy to here your positive and encouraging review and for promoting our establishment we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality and hope you will be back in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glebe sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Surprise in the middle of rice paddies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On a food tour with Peter Kurivita Australia's Sri Lankan Exec Chef.
this spot was wonderful the drinks refreshing. The family run business headed by son that has had world experience but now settled in Saruketha. We were lucky to have a cooking demonstration and shared tips. We had a buffet lunch as there we 20 of us.
the Buffalo Curd was the best that we tried in the 2 weeks we toured Sri Lanka.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest
We are glade to know that you have enjoyed our true hospitality and our efforts to give a true authentic food experience to all our guests. this comment will motivate all our staff and the management team and help us to promote our selfs to all our future clients. hank you once again to the genuine comments and hope you will visit once more in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A nice lunchtime break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first meal 'on the round', and it was delightful - from the food to the service. The large bamboo stands surrounding us really made it feel like we were on foreign soil. Loved it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest
We take this opportunity to thank you for the positive comment that you have posted in our page. we are happy to here that you have enjoyed our hospitality and admiring our effort to keep a good environment as per our Eco friendly vision. this comment will help us and our future customers immensely in time to come. hope you will have a grate holiday in srilankan . wish you will visit us once more in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saruketha also viewed

Kurunegala, North Western Province
Ambepussa, Sabaragamuwa Province
 
Marawila, North Western Province
 

Been to Saruketha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saruketha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.