We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Via De La Plata Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Via De La Plata Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Via De La Plata Spa
C/ Padres Redentoristas 5, 24700 Astorga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Astorga
Certificate of Excellence
Saltspring Is.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our room was first rate. It was large, and clean with a lounge chair and desk. The bathroom had a tub as well as a walk in shower. WiFi was available in our room with electrical outlets on the side by both beds. Our breakfast provided us with all we needed. The view from our room overlooked the Camino path and we watched the stream of weary pilgrims arriving through out the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for 1 night while doing my 'Camino de Santiago' in June'2013. First of all staff is very courteous and always ready to help. They give special attention to pilgrims. As the night before I stayed in a nice hostel (astorga have some really nice hostels) the expectation was really high. Anything above euro 45 during camino is super expensive...but what a sight. The hotel is located at one the best and quite palces. The spa inside hotel is god-send. As I checked in earlier, they told me to wait and provided me the room at the earliest.
A fellow pilgrim was also with me as she developed some knee issue, they gave her special attention and gave her a awesome view room. Mine was on 4th floor so I got to see the whole Astorga.
I will recommend this hotel to all fellow pilgrim to stay for a night and recharge your batteries aka legs before moving forward. The spa is rightly priced and worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The exterior of the hotel is admirably consistent with the rest of Astorga, whereas the modern interior is typically hotel-bland and featureless. The rooms are a good size and the beds fantastic. Just the thing after a days biking.
Only drawback, very minor but a hassle in this digital age, was the wifi which "dropped out" every few minutes, necessitating yet another log-in.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

stayed for a girls weekend away and the hotel couldn't have been better. The architecture of the modern retrofit in an ancient monastary or convent was inspired. The rooms were very comfortable and the bed made for a great sleep. Had a wonderful experience in the spa. Breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at the hotel while walking the Camino de Santiago. What a find! I was surprised by the modern accommodation in the heart of Astorga. After a day of strenuous walking, the spa-like bathroom was a treat, with a deep tub, double sinks and a separate shower. The free minibar was a nice touch, too, and was well-stocked with beer, cola, flavored soft drinks and water. My room had two twin beds pushed together, and I slept fine. The location was a bit farther from the cathedral and Gaudi-designed palace than some might like, but I didn't mind the walk.The desk personnel were friendly and helpful, and patient with my limited Spanish. The only problem I had was I could not get the initial code they gave me for the WiFi to work with my iPad and iPhone, but a second code worked fine. The desk agent said they often have problems with those devices accessing the network. I did not get a chance to use the spa, but I would return to Astorga -- what a lovely city -- and stay at the Hotel Via de la Plata Spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a modern, minimalist interior to an old building. The rooms are elegant and well appointed. It's close to everything. The staff is helpful. The only, slight downside s that it can be a little noisy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful find. After a long hot journey on the motorbike, we arrived here and saw this first near the square. It is hidden behind the old stone walls and while totally moden, it remains discreet and sympathetic to its surroundings. Friendly welcome. The room was amazing, spacious, bright and spotless with views over the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was delicious. Of the 13 places we have stayed on our trip in France, Portugal and Spain, this surpassed the rest.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Via De La Plata Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via De La Plata Spa

Address: C/ Padres Redentoristas 5, 24700 Astorga, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Astorga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Astorga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Via De La Plata Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Via De La Plata Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.