We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11/10!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossways

Crossways
Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
(01323) 482455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Wilmington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 22 year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to the Longman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“11/10!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have visited Crossways once or twice a year over the last 15 years, and always say it can't get any better, but it does!, and last evening was no exception. The whole experience is just so smooth and friendly, relaxed, and the food is out of this world. What else can we say.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went for my son's 21st. Lovely experience, I agree with previous points, the owners couldn't be more helpful. The service is personalised to the point that my partner had enquired, I had gone to see it as I was worried about the fact that there was no bar and when we turned up for the meal, the first thing they said to my son was "you must be the birthday boy!". Although you couldn't say that all the dishes were outstanding, you couldn't fault the food nor the presentation nor the quantity nor the setting nor the service. The puddings are yummy! What a treat to be served drinks in the amazing garden on a summer evening. The overall experience is tremendous due to the fact that they both care deeply for the customer. I have recommended it to all my colleagues and friends. I am just annoyed that I only live 10 miles from it and had never heard of this great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Crossways. Hopefully we will see you again soon, although we cannot guarantee the wonderful weather for you to enjoy the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“My birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food quality,attention to detail,service and information about the dishes is excellent.The owners are very welcoming and friendly with a personal service.We went for my birthday in April and it was one of the best meals i have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited for the First time in March and found that the owners had been in business for many years and had built up a formidable reputation.
The Table d'hote menu is varied and erfinde without being too fussy. Service from the owners is friendly and efficient and the overall experience was truly excellent. We will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Crossways.
And hope that it will be the first of many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been visiting Crossways for a number of years, for an overnight stay with dinner, bed and breakfast. The owners, David and Clive are always tremendously welcoming and the hotel is meticulously well run. The food is excellent and the service first class. We visited recently and, once again, had a great time. The dinner menu is seasonal and has something for all tastes. Many of the other customers are many times "returners", which is testimony to the well-deserved excellent reputation that Crossways has built up. We always recommend a visit to our friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossways also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.