We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a private mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Michelangelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Michelangelo to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Michelangelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sacco 35, 36057 Arcugnano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcugnano
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like staying in a private mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here and would return. We loved the place. Our room was large and bed very comfortable. The restaurant was great...including breakfasts. The location is stunning. The pool very clean with beautiful views of the valley. The hotel seemed empty which was nice because it allowed for quiet nights and no crowd at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    50
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
24
60
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We took a recommendation from our accommodation in Venice and were not disappointed. We were gladly showed both a standard and deluxe room, and while the deluxe was much large, the standard room at 120 Euros including a beautiful breakfast was the go (we were travelling for 4 weeks and only required 1 night so the 40 Euros difference was important).

On saying that, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant that night and thoroughly enjoyed the whole meal - and put that 40 Euro towards a stunning bottle of wine.

the hotel is in a stunning location with 270 degree views into the valleys. The terrace and lawned area were a great place for a drink and breakfast in the morning. The restaurant overlooked the lawn and the valley beyond.

The staff were very friendly; the rooms well equipped and of good size. Overall, i'd gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

The Villa Michelangelo was highly recommended in our guidebook and we felt like a bit of luxury so decided to stay here for one night. The hotel is in a magnificent location in the hills outside Vicenza. Even if not staying here it’s worth the drive up this direction for the views. The place is fantastic but unfortunately let down by poor attitude on the part of some of the staff. We were ‘upgraded’ to a suite. Having peeked into a few of the ordinary double rooms when they were being cleaned I suspect the suite had not yet been refurbished and the other rooms had. Our suite was on two levels with the bedroom part up on the mezzanine. This meant that it was dark and the furnishings and carpet were also quite tired and dowdy. The huge bed was extremely comfortable. The classic marble bathroom was lovely. However the ordinary rooms looked brighter with wooden floors and smarter furnishings. The hotel has a magnificent pool area with a retractable roof and sunbathing balconies. There are also sun loungers out on the grass below the pool area with views over the surrounding countryside. We spent some time here getting some rays on the Sunday morning but had to ask for the dreadful droning talk radio that had been left blaring to be switched off. Quite incredible that it was considered acceptable for it to be left on – the singing of the birds was so much more pleasant. The man on reception was very helpful checking for my husband if they received a rugby match he wanted to watch that afternoon. A later request from me for an iron was met with incredulity – didn’t think myself it was such a strange request. Eventually we found out that they had an ironing room for guests which would have been a great idea if the iron wasn’t so filthy. It would have ruined any clothes you tried to use it on. We found some of the male staff members to be very rude. The two females we encountered at the pool and at breakfast were charming. Their male colleagues should follow their example. The restaurant waiter greeted us with a ‘Huh’ and a scowl when we went to look at the menu. We left and went into town instead. The filthy iron rather put me off eating there anyway! Some of the male staff were so bad we decided that there must be some major problem at the hotel. Having experienced service in Vicenza later on we decided it was just Vicenza! People generally, especially men did not engage at all. Very dour and unfriendly. An Italian later told us that there is some resentment here towards Americans and maybe they thought we were American. Really don’t know but it’s a pity as it’s a gorgeous town and well worth a visit. When checking out we did complain about the poor attitude and the dirty iron to the guy on reception who did accept our comments and said he would pass them on. If you are going to Vicenza I would recommend staying here as it’s good value for the spectacular location if you can prevent yourself being irritated by some of the staff.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrorusconi, Direttore at Hotel Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
I am sorry to learn that the above guest did not find some of our 'male' staff polite or attentive enough. Our staff is an important part of our hotel, and most of them have been here for years. We do have a couple of new employees who are recent graduates of hotel school and perhaps need to gain more experience. However, they have been selected on the basis of their motivation, personal attitude and predisposition for the hospitality industry. If their service was not up to standards, I apologize on their behalf and I assure that any particular training needs will be addressed.

Regarding people/males in Vicenza, I must strongly disagree with your statement. Being American myself (I have dual Italian/American citizenship, carry an American passport and have completed my education in the States), I have never encountered any form of discrimination. We at Villa Michelangelo enjoy excellent relations with our American clientele. There is indeed an ‘extremist fringe’ of Vicentians who oppose the development of the American base here, but it is a small percentage of the population, mostly political activists of the far left. The grand majority benefit from the presence of Americans here and have amicable relationships with them.

Regarding the condition of our iron, I would like to reassure guests travelling to our hotel that it has been replaced. Its appearance was due to the fact that the anti-adherent film on the aluminium slab had worn out, and the spray starch attached itself to the surface with the heat. As soon as our staff noticed this, the iron was removed and replaced with a new one. This must have happened over the course of the above guest’s stay, which is unfortunate.

Nevertheless, we appreciate the comments of this guest as it helps us improve our service. As we receive many letters of compliments we invite clients who appreciated their stay with us to share their comments also on this web site in recognition of the profound efforts, commitment and passion displayed daily by the staff of Villa Michelangelo towards the well-being of our guests.

Pietro Rusconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I travelled to this region and stayed for 4 nights at this Hotel with my wife and baby. I was not sure what to expect but managed to get a room for 130 euros per night which was not bad considering they were advertised between 160-190 euros per night on other websites. I had just stayed at the Villa Abbazia in Follina which is very nice (Relaix & Chateau) which is more expensive.

Overall i thought the Hotel was poor. I have stayed at quite a few SLH hotels and normally they choose well but this really is not luxurious. The hotel from the outside looks very nice but once inside it is quite dated, dark and old fashioned. I felt like we were in a hotel dating back to the 70's. The deluxe room we stayed in was old and the soft furnishings reflected this. The room hadnt been painted in quite a while and the beds were uncomfortable with poor quality sheets. The bathroom was tired with poor shower and no shower curtain. The only means by which they tried to make it look nicer was by putting some luxury soaps in there and a flat screen TV. There were no slippers, dressing gown, tea/coffee making facilities and you had to go to a seperate room to Iron your clothes. The Iron was dirty as well.

Breakfast was basic with limited choice of bread/cheese/fruit and cereal. We did not eat lunch there. The most mind boggling thing to us was dinner. We, were to be fair, limited on choice as we had a baby so did not eat elsewhere. Normally we would. The prices are astronomical I thought for what you get. 15 euro a starter, 25 euro a main course and 10 euro a desert. That works out about 130 euro per couple with wine. The food is like canteen food. I had essentially deep fried lamb one night which was bizzare and beef another night which was just a small bit of meat cut up. The soups were out of a tin I reckon but in any case tasted bland. Our pancake desert was just 1 pancake with a bit of sauce. Not very inventive in todays market. i have been to Italy alot and this was just a rip off for what you get. The restaurant is quite nice to sit in although a bit stuffy.

The positive on the hotel is it is in a great location with stunning surroundings but I just thought it was tired overall. My fault probably for not digging deeper and staying somewhere more expensive I guess. I felt it was more a hotel for business and conferences plus the odd wedding but not really for a weekend away.
Graham

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrorusconi, Manager at Hotel Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Our Hotel was evaluated by Small Luxury Hotel inspectors on 5 June 2008 and obtained an overall evaluation of 5/5 which corresponds to the grade: 'excellent'. The lobby was described as "spectacular" the food as 'high quality'. I am therefore both saddened and surprized to read that we did not meet the expectations of Mr. Grahm from Dubai particularly because according to my Staff the guest did not show any sign of discomfort during his stay. Had we known about his dissatisfaction prior to his departure we would certainly have tried to make it up to him. Nevertheless, we acknowledge and appreciate constructive criticism because it allows us to do better and improve areas which are not up to our guest's standards. After Mr. Grahm's stay we have purchased tea and coffee making facilities for every room, we have installed shower curtains in every bathroom and have painted all rooms and public areas, which is actually something we do on a regular basis(previously to Mr. Grahm's stay, last July, we contracted a painting company for two weeks).
Hopefully I will have the opportunity of welcoming many of you at Villa Michelangelo where it will be my pleasure of paying the closest attention to your requirements and making your stay one to remember.
Pietro G. Rusconi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

My husband lived in this hotel for severl months in the winter of 94/95 while working in the area. We returned this year for our 25th anniversary and were delighted to find that it still exudes that feeling of "money talks but wealth whispers" The style is understated and very serene, faithful to the atmosphere of an old monastery. No flashy decor, just good old fashioned comfort and quality with some interesting modern twists.

Our room was large and comfortable and was thoroughly cleaned every day. They could have done with a slightly better arrangement for the shower as it was difficult not to soak the floor but otherwise the bathroom was very well appointed.

The pool is delightful, giving shade or sun with a variety of loungers and chairs to choose from. The one small exception was the pop radio station they had playing, which we found irritating and at odds with the general atmosphere, but they did turn it off for us when we asked.

The restaurant was excellent, also the local, very reasonably priced wines. Table service was slow enough to be relaxed but not so slow that we felt forgotten ,and all the staff were charming and friendly.

Breakfast on the terrace was fresh and plentiful and service was good. Most of the staff speak English, some were still there 13 years on and remembered us! We had a lovely time and left really refreshed..

I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a peaceful retreat or a base to explore the lovely countryside around or day trips to Venice, Verona, Padua, etc.

It's always a risk to go back to place but we were so pleased that we did.

  • Liked — The light, airy feeling of the building and old fashioned quality and service.
  • Disliked — The radio playing in the poolside bar - out of keeping with the ambience of the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We were disappointed with the restaurant on the two evenings we stayed here. The experience was not BAD but just rather ORDINARY and not at all what we have come to expect at Small Luxury Hotels throughout Europe.

• The bar area was rather gloomy and on the second night when we were there for a pre-dinner drink, we had to go looking for a member of staff to serve us

• The quality of service in the restaurant was mediocre with staff training not being up to the standard we would expect at a hotel of this quality and paying this rate. The person who appeared to be the manager was rather off-hand and staff seemed to hang about together laughing and chatting rather than providing the attentive service we would expect is such an establishment

• The food was OK but again very ordinary - once again not up to the standards one would expect at this level of hotel. The bread selection was awful - not freshly baked - and when the same selection was brought out again for the cheese course, that was really disappointing

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

Wonderful location, grounds and structure, but needs a lot of management work to bring it up to standard. We stayed 4 days and used the hotel as a base to visit Vicenza (10 minutes) Verona (90 minutes) Padua (60 minutes) and to visit different restaurants in the country area every evening. Each of these by the way were above average and well patronised.
Reception and breakfast staff very friendly but restaurant pretentious and ground staff surely. Rooms were large but had a used feel about them . We would only stay in one with tiling as the carpets looked as though they had seen many feet since the last spring clean. Bathrooms were not cleaned and replenished often enough, i.e. twice a day for a first class hotel.
Public rooms were small and furnished with tatty leather-look chairs. There were no areas to relax with loungers and shade and so the rounds could not be used to advantage. No rooms had private balconies or terraces. The pool area was bizarre It was approached by a dungeon like tunnel and was unpleasant and unrelaxing. It had a retractable roof but was neither one thing or another. Not enough outdoor loungers and NO shade. Also not sparkling clean as one expects. No staff or towels readily available. Breakfast buffet, which closed at 10am was boring and sparse.
Could be OK with top management and a couple of million euro spent on it.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Michelangelo

Address: Via Sacco 35, 36057 Arcugnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Arcugnano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcugnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The softly rolling hills of this verdant landscape are what inspired the genius of architect Palladio, the same hills that still today surround the splendid setting of the exclusive Hotel Villa Michelangelo. Built in the 1700s as the country home of the noble Tomi family of Vicenza, this elegant and serenely harmonious building is the perfect place in which to leave the bustle of daily life behind and let yourself be pampered by the refined luxury and exquisite service offered here. Come to bask in the princely elegance of the spacious halls, the lovely guest rooms and suites, to enjoy the large swimming pool that sits surrounded by olive trees, indulge in the fine traditional cuisine at the La Loggia restaurant or relax with a round of golf at the nearby exclusive club. Vicenza, Padua, Verona and Venice are not far away for a day trip to discover the fine art, wine and local culture that dates back centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Arcugnano
Hotel Villa Michelangelo Arcugnano, Italy - Province Of Vicenza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.