We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and a pleasant atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh an Truish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Seil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh an Truish
Save
You added Tigh an Truish to your Saves list
PA34 4QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Isle of Seil B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and a pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

After a week's sailing we finally set foot ashore from the anchorage at Puilladobhrain. A short walk took us to this pub early on a Thursday evening. There were perhaps ten people in and we were quickly served by helpful staff with well-kept guest ales. The window table had a view. The interior was intertesting. Meal portions were plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stopped here for lunch while heading towards Easdale Island. A quintessential Scottish Island pub just by the Atlantic bridge. We had the filled baguettes which were very reasonably priced, but there were a fair few options available. If we visit this area again, we will be sure to pop in for a bite to eat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We love love love it here. My husband used to come here when he was young and we have since visited quite a few times. The welcome is always warm, the food delicious, the rooms cosy and the scenery stunning. Truly AMAZING.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a great pub! Full of character and Scottish island charm! A few great ales on tap from the local area (Fyne Ales) and a fantastic view of the Bridge Over the Atlantic. The pub was full of both locals and tourists and had a great buzz. I would recommend this as a stop to anyone who visits Seil.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this room online the day before, not really sure of its location. It claims to be close to Oban, but it was at least a 30 minute drive from there. However, our goal was to dine at the tremendous pub on Seil Island, and the hotel was actually in the right direction for our route. The manager/owner was very gracious though we walked in quite late. The hotel was a classic charm about her -- with updating that was clean and inviting, especially in the bedrooms. The breakfast room is huge, hearkening back to busy holidays in this waterfront town. Since they also have an on-site pub/restaurant, it makes a convenient place to stay for travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We visit Melfort Villiage every year and always have at least one visit to the Tigh an Truish whilst we are there. We enjoy the view and the friendly service, my husband says you get a lovely pint of real ale there and the prices are good. We have eaten there before and it was nice but this time I only had leek and potato soup, it was the strangest thing I have ever had. It was a really thin soup but instead of pieces of potato there were thin bits of skin let you get when you scrape new potatos yuk! Apart from that my husband had a couple of pints of Avalanche draught and really enjoyed it and the price was cheaper than a lot of other places in the vacinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were staying at Loch Melfort - Melfort village and visited here for lunch with our family including a baby. Fantastic location and fish and chips were delicious. Very friendly service and loads of character.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tigh an Truish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh an Truish

Address: PA34 4QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Slate Islands > Isle of Seil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Seil
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tigh An Truish Isle Of Seil, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh an Truish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.