We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely staff, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de Montsegur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montsegur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de Montsegur
52 rue du Village, 09300 Montsegur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Montsegur B&B and Inns
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely staff, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent two nights here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made an effort to squeeze us in for dinner when we hadn't booked. We had dinner on the terrace which is lovely. The meal and wine were very good, the fillet of beef was excellent. They seemed to be understaffed for such a busy evening so the staff were working very hard and service was a little slow but not a problem. The rooms are quite basic but adequate and clean - i would rate this as a two star hotel (UK rating). There is no air conditioning or fan and as our room led straight out onto the street we couldn't leave the windows/shutters open at night. It was so hot it made sleeping very uncomfortable. It would be good for these rooms to have curtains which offer some privacy from the street and perhaps a fan. Montsegur is a small, charming village nestled in the mountains. It is very picturesque and steeped in Cathar history. We climbed the mountain to the castle which is a steep and energetic climb of about 30 minutes - bring proper walking shoes! Overall we enjoyed our stay here and this is a beautiful region to explore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had lunch here after visiting Montsegur. Great outdoor eating place with nice salads. A little expensive but understandable given location. Great friendly service


You do need to walk through town to find it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at this hotel in the charming village of Montsegur. The hotel is very warm and welcoming in decor, as are the owners who we found to be excellent hosts. Our room was spacious and clean, I think one of the more expensive ones in the hotel but worth it for the feeling of space. The only downside was that there is very little soundproofing between the rooms - I did find that the noise of plumbing from other rooms did disturb the otherwise peaceful setting. This may of course vary according to where you are situated within the hotel.

We ate in the hotel's dining room on one of the evenings and had a delicious meal - the menu has a good range of local specialities and portions are very generous. We also took the breakfast both days which was a simple buffet, plenty to fill you up for a day's hiking. The area around Montsegur is beautiful - stunning views in all directions, including of course from the top of the castle which is about 30 minutes walk from the village itself (not including the climb up to it!).

Overall we were very happy with our stay - it is only the noise that has stopped me giving 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good food, nice and clean rooms. Adorable location at the foot of the famous mountain, where the Cathars had their last stand in 1244. Excellent watering hole for weary hikers on the Sentier de Cathares.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Admittedly out of season (the village is very busy in summer and pedestrians only from 15 June to 15 September) we spent three very happy days here. The hotel is a delightful old building in a beautiful village overlooked by the dramatic looming presence of the Chateau de Montsegur. The owners are friendly, helpful and welcoming and our room was comfortable (although I do wish hotels could find an alternative to plasticised mattress protectors!). You can have a drink (great draught beer!) in the shady garden (where breakfast is served on suitable days) and eat in the character dining room (with lots of pre-Raphaelite-inspired art work). The food is generous and the wine list perfectly adequate although the cuisine is rather old-fashioned. We would return here AND recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Sorry to make you jealous but we had the 'best' room with a whirlpool path - perfect after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed two nights in this lovely little hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The terrace was a beautiful peaceful place to enjoy the delicious meals or just sit and relax. There was a wealth of local information available and some great walks in the area. The room was full of character, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This little auberge is in a lovely setting in the village of Montségur and although we did not stay overnight we enjoyed a very nice lunch here, having trekked up to the Chateau de Montségur beforehand. We sat out on a beautiful little terrace and both food and service were good. Not much choice of restaurants in the village but I would be happy to return there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge de Montsegur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Montsegur

Address: 52 rue du Village, 09300 Montsegur, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Ariege > Montsegur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montsegur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old-style auberge with stone walls, wooden beams and open fireplaces in a building dating from the 15th century in the centre of the listed village of Montségur, next to the church. Montségur is famous for its hilltop castle and lost fortified village, and the role it played in the Crusades and Inquisition and is one of the Grand Sites of France.A hotel with 13 rooms, 4 of which with four-poster beds and Jacuzzi baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de Montsegur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Auberge de Montsegur to your Saves list