We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food in a nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart (JD Wetherspoon)

White Hart (JD Wetherspoon)
Station Approach, Todmorden, England
+44 1706 811760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 41 restaurants in Todmorden
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: English, Fish & Chips, Hot Dogs, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Todmorden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good honest food in a nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The White Hart stands in the centre of Todmorden and had been through a variety of owners-some long term-and stood empty before being rescued and faithfully restored by Wetherspoons. There are themed nights..curry, steak etc as one would find at any of their restaurants. We've been for breakfasts separately and Christmas dinner together..we're booked for this year too (2013). The food is excellent and the staff friendly and it is nicer than some of the Wetherspoons we've been in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    13
    38
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value meals, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went with my partner for lunch on a Friday - food was excellent, with great choice for two veggies. And superb value - as you expect from Wetherspoons. When the original White Hart closed, was worried it would remain closed, so is nice to see it being used and so popular too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at White Hart (JD Wetherspoon), responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again. We are glad we are providing a good choice of meals for our vegetation customers as it is important to us that everyone can enjoy their visit without feeling too restricted as to what they can pick from the menu.

Warm Regards,
The White Hart Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We regularly visit on a Thursday for the curry night. Food has alway been good but on last visit we thought the curries were nicer and had more chicken in them. The staff are very nice and service is usually speedy. A really good value meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A touch better than the usual Wetherspoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Comfortable, clean, a fairly extensive pub grub menu, often food and drink combo s which are excellent value..sometimes portion sizes are a bit on the small size ..but at least you are not being overcharged for a small portion!

Veg not particularly imaginative, ok if you are happy with mushrooms, peas and tomato

Fish nights, curry nights, steak nights across the week

Free wifi , cheery staff ...wine not overpriced

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“thanks for the WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having time to kill in Todmorden waiting for the train to arrive I crossed the road to the white Hart took a comfy seat and gotmyself a good cup of coffee and relaxed while I waited. Like all wetherspoons it has free wifi so I spent the time surfing the net. The staff were pleasant and the pub was a good place to wait for northen trains arrive from distant parts

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart (JD Wetherspoon) also viewed

Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 

Been to White Hart (JD Wetherspoon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart (JD Wetherspoon), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.