We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks for the WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart (JD Wetherspoon)

White Hart (JD Wetherspoon)
Station Approach, Todmorden, England
+44 1706 811760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 42 restaurants in Todmorden
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: English, Fish & Chips, Hot Dogs, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rossendale
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“thanks for the WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having time to kill in Todmorden waiting for the train to arrive I crossed the road to the white Hart took a comfy seat and gotmyself a good cup of coffee and relaxed while I waited. Like all wetherspoons it has free wifi so I spent the time surfing the net. The staff were pleasant and the pub was a good place to wait for northen trains arrive from distant parts

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    13
    38
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very small portion of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited after walking trip found surroundings very ambient and homely, staff friendly. That said the size of the portions were very very small i had fish and chips with mushy peas and i think i got no more than fifteen chips on my plate coupled with a minute portion of mushy peas the fish was nice and of a fair size but hey the chips, i thought i had been given a child's portion. Sadly i have noticed this in a few weatherspoons houses of late i believe they call it portion control, i like to call it by it's proper name Skimmpy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best Wetherspoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want a really good table then go upstairs where you will find log fires, tasteful decor and plenty of room. The upper floor is available at noon when breakfasters are mostly done eating. Downstairs gets quite full and I would avoid the booths unless you like to hear other people's conversations.
Wetherspoon's menu is consistent but at The White Hart you are guaranteed a good plateful of hearty, soul-warming food in a congenial atmosphere. Service is good and drinks reasonably priced.
Ideally located near to the train station for backpackers and walkers. Also handy as a break from walking around the local market. You could spend a morning just looking around what Tod has to offer and then a relaxing few hours in the pub with a good meal and very comfortable and clean surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nicely priced, friendly bar staff and very comfortable surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to this Wetherspoons pub as a sort of refuge form the mayhem of moving house. I hadn't had a proper meal for days and needed to sit, eat, drink a glass of wine and recharge my batteries. I ordered a club sandwich with a glass of the house white wine - the whole lot (and there was a lot) came to less than £8, which for a lady just up from the London pricing zone was a shock to the system. Most places I've been to in London you'd pay nearly that just for the wine... The sandwich was delicious and the chips were divine. It was a sizable portion too, i couldn't actually finish it. But it was also the ambience of the pub that made me feel as if I had truly escaped ,if only temporarily, the horrors of moving house; this is a warm, friendly place: busy but not noisy, the pictures on the walls celebrate Todmorden's academic heroes (2 Nobel prizewinners, no less) and proudly display evidence of Tod's humane benefactors. Good food, good people, good value, good vibes. Good karma.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having eaten at several Wetherspoon outlets we decided to go to the White Hart for lunch but this was unlike any other pub in that chain I had been to. To begin with the bar service was very poor as the person serving didn't seem to have worked behind a bar before. We ordered the food which wasn't hot when it arrived but got colder by the second under the jet powered air conditioning above. The "Aberdeen" Angus steak was dry and tasteless and the chicken on the Sunday roast seemed to have been microwaved more than once. The pub itself seemed understaffed as tables remained uncleared for quite some time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart (JD Wetherspoon) also viewed

Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 

Been to White Hart (JD Wetherspoon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart (JD Wetherspoon), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.