We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Queen Hotel to your Saves list
The Queen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rise Lane, Todmorden OL14 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Todmorden
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a really nice place this is and right at the side of the train station so out of town trave problems sorted.

5 of us stayed here on Sunday night and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The place even has some small brewery beers on so dont miss the chance to try some.

We did not try the carvery however if the food we ordered was anything to go by it will have been lovely. All 5 of us had starters and a main meal and nobody could find a thing wrong at all with anything they served. The size of the meals would fill even people who eat large meals as only 1 of us managed to eat all of the food served.

Final comment on food is the breakfast and all we can say is we wish we could get a breakfast of that size and quality around here for under £4.00.

Rooms are slightly on the small size but decorated nice and are lovely and clean, the 3 rooms we had all has massive beds in with nice clean, crisp covers to boot.

Dont stay in a large chain hotel this place makes them and the plastic food they serve really bad indeed.

Room Tip: Eat as many times as you can at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday - The managers Andrew and Sharon were fantastic, very informative and really friendly , The barman was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him. He was very jovial , which makes for a freshing change!!! Parking was a bit of a problem but the staff were more than helpful . The hotel room was recently renovated , clean and spacious. The evening meal was excellent, we had the seabass which was lovely and the very large mixed grill, which was cooked to perfection. In all we had a very pleasant stay and would have no trouble recommending the hotel to friends and family alike. The service throughout was excellent..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Visited this hotel on a Groupon deal arriving Wednesday afternoon and staying until Thursday pm. Overall better than anticipated. Parking can be a problem (station car park for rail travellers only) but finally obtained a place outside hotel. The room No 7 (a back of hotel and quiet) was recently renovated and clean, comfortable and well appointed if not luxurious. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Dinner was excellent (mixed grill / 8oz steak) with fresh vegetables nicely cooked and well presented. Breakfast as expected cereals and toast (extra for cooked on Groupon deal). Todmorden proved interesting for an overnight stay with enjoyable walks in both directions along the canal and car-boot style market on Thursday morning, Several interesting shops and cafes to be discovered. Parish church in town centre well worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for room at rear of hotel away from railway and car-park. Mid-week quieter in evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed on Saturday - decor lovely in restaurant and bed room, really tastefully done. When we checked in the gentleman at the reception was great, informative, jovial and very welcoming.
Evening meal - really lovely, portion size, was very large, definitely for the bigger appetitite.
Service though was mediocre, the staff did not seem the slightest bit interested in being interested or engaged with the diners. We were still eating our dinner at 20.30pm, where the staff were laying the breakfast tables, and were not offered the option of desert or coffee. In fact we were largely ignored. The restuarant was not busy this evening, so this could not be an excuse.
Breakfast , the continental?? was toast, we could pay more for an english breakfast but didnt bother, largely due to the fact that the cleaning was going on around us and there dirty cloths hanging from the coffee machine. And the blaring rock music from the kitchen. I felt like we were an inconvenience rather than a guest.
Overall the service element was not good, and it is such a great shame because of all the effort that has been made with the decor, the dinner and the presentation of the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lovely town,were we staying here because we were at a wedding in a nearby venue,hotel was nice,had a quick bite to eat and was very impressed as it was delicious and reasonably priced.Bar area and rooms were very clean,there was a church clock chiming outside our room window but this didn't bother us at all.The only critisism I would have would be the staff weren't welcoming or even in the least bit friendly,which was a shame as we probably would have spent more money on food and drinks in there but decided to nip next door to Wetherspoons where the staff were warm,welcoming ,helpful and friendly.Breakfast was included in the price and was nice.However we were greeted(I will use that term loosely) with no smile by some miserable looking girl dressed in what I would call scruffs she said'what do you want?' Some could argue she was to the point,however when you are a guest in somebodys hotel a little smile is always nice to see and to be honest I never saw her smile in the 3days we were there.Didn't bother with breakfast again as she made me feel uncomfortable.All the other staff weren't so bad,but not exactly welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

In reading other reviews I have been suprised that no one has mentioned the bells.Firstly I will say that our room was very comfortable even thou our bed was two singles pushed together.The town was a nice little town and the food was nice not great but nice.However I do think the staff could have been more friendly but mayb they where rushed off their feet.On to the bells they started at 7 from about 4 different churches in the area and lets say not all signing off the same hyme sheet this lasted till 11 o clock in the night it nearly drove me bonkers. I had to have the telly up full blast then I kid you not at 4 in the morning the bell went 5 skiped 6 and 7 till 12 at this stage I thought I was going mad I went to have my lunch and metioned to the waitress about them in light hearted way and she pretended that it was the first she ever heard of it lol now there is no way u would not know maybe its a unspoken rule.Its sfe to say I will not be returning lol

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

easy access to train station, and andrew ensured we parked ok. only very short walk into the village, and everyone is friendly. will certainly visit again. great work Andrew and Sharon. julie & Sue x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Hotel

Address: Rise Lane, Todmorden OL14 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Todmorden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Todmorden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Hotel Todmorden, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.