We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caverne

La Caverne
15 Grand Rue, 04800 Greoux les Bains, France
0492781954
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We reserved a table at this restaurant having researched it on trip advisor due to a few disappointing meals. Fortunately Le Caverne didn't disappoint. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious and arrived quickly. We had the €24,50 menu and the bill came to something similar to what we've paid elsewhere for food that wasn't nearly as good. Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    10
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am surprise by the few bad comments.
This place is truly amazing.
Each single time I stop in Greoux, I use to get there for one diner, at least.
My favourite dish : ""Creme brulee de foie gras", delicious.

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true epicurean's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Every time I visit I am always impressed with the hospitality first- then charmed by the cozy decor.
Seasonal menus are always different from year to year.
The Chef himself will walk around to ensure his meals are enjoyed.

If you don't like something or may be allergic to something he's not afraid to change up the dish for you. Advanced notice is a courtesy.

Always fresh ingredients. Vegetables or meats.

They love to delight their patrons. We were offered an amuse-bouche, followed by a palate cleanser before our appetizer which was spectacular.
All plating is done professionally- excellent presentation.


*Reservations recommended. This gem is usually booked solid.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Julien le Montagnier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We live in the region and we love to visit local restaurants, but our overall favorite is La Caverne. Located in the centre of the medieval village, with a nice terrace and a pleasant interior. The couple who run the restaurant are very welcoming and are able to maintain their enthusiasm and creativity in the kitchen for more than 10 years now. Local ingredients, fresh, simple but wonderful combinations, good variations, good quantities and very reasonable prices. Dining in this restaurant is every time again, a "fête".

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lieu Dit Vaux France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Rude treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We reserved for dinner and arrived to be given a table a foot in front of the door. We asked for another table, as we could see empty tables further inside. The waiter told us they were ALL reserved. We were then ignored by staff, not even given menus or asked about an aperitif. Every time the door opened, the cold air came in and was very cold. We left!
We live in France, speak good French, and have never been treated so rudely!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverne also viewed

Greoux les Bains, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Greoux les Bains, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Greoux les Bains, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Greoux les Bains, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 

Been to La Caverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caverne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.