We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Agulhas

Cape Agulhas
South Africa
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Lookouts, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Been here a couple of times and always make the trip to the top of the lighthouse, then take a drive past the actual cape on a rocky beach - always fun to collect shells there. Peaceful little town, Struisbaai harbour is very close, worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napier Western Cape
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visit the southern most tip of Africa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful beaches, a great walk alongside the sea, fantastic views from the top of the Lighthouse - well worth the climb to the top! Before leaving the area stop off at the harbour in Struisbaai - you could be lucky and catch sight of the stingrays who come up close to the edge of the water. Have a meal at the Pelican and watch the fishing boats land their daily catch!! An area of un-spoilt natural beauty that still remains!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ok if you're in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had time to kill so made the trip but it wasn't all that exciting. At least I can say that I've been to the southernmost point in Africa!

Unless it's on your bucket list, I'd probably give it a pass as there are more beautiful things to see in South Africa.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I took a friend of mine for a whistle tour of Cape Town, Hermanus and Agulhas and this was one of the experiences we really enjoyed. Short walk (or drive) to the most Southern tip of Africa and the sound of the oceans meeting was truly inspiring. Stop at the lighthouse and chat to the friendly Tourist guide in the little shop, she is really knowledgeable about the area and history! A definite yes for a visit. Visit the little shop, Suidpunt Potpourri - super buys in the shop!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I didnt really know what to expect when we set of to the most Southern point of Africa. The trip started of well when we drove into Struisbaai. The area had a tropical Island feel with beautiful white beaches and turquoise waters. From there Cape Agulhas is just a few kilometres down the road. A short drive down a sand road to a small parking spot and an easy 150 m walk on a decked path brings you to the sign that marks the spot. There is definitely a special feeling to be there. If you are anywhere close to this area, make an effort and you will definitely be rewarded with a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Agulhas also viewed

Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
 
Betty's Bay, Overberg District
Overberg District, Western Cape
 

Been to Cape Agulhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Agulhas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.