We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Whales / Great Staff / Close to Cape Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Hoop Nature Reserve

De Hoop Nature Reserve
Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
0861 33 4667
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of Whales / Great Staff / Close to Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a treat! Only 2.5 hours from Cape Town, this reserve has a variety of wildlife, sea life and flora. The roads are dust roads so an SUV or similar is preferable but not entirely necessary. I'll be heading back there soon.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed the stay! Thank you so much for visiting and for the great review, we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    41
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I visited De Hoop in a group of other three friends and it was worth a visit. The place is somewhere in the semi-wilderness area with interesting species of animals such as Ostriches, Zebras etc. The rooms are great and spacious. There are good cooking equipments and room services. We enjoyed watching the Whales and trekking around in this beautiful nature. I highly recommend it for those who want to redeem themselves of work backlogs and those who just want a peace of mind out of busy urban life.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Odhiambo,

Thank you so much for visiting and for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll return for another when you are back in SA!

Best Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“De Hoop, the most beautiful coastal reserve in South Africa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

De Hoop Nature Reserve is often cited as one of the most beautiful coastal reserves in South Africa, and we couldn’t agree more. The last time we were here was in April 2013 for our wedding so this Nature Reserve has a special place in our hearts!

The reserve itself is managed by CapeNature, with over 50km of pristine white beaches and sand dunes, as well as limestone cliffs, rock pools, wetlands and coastal fynbos. De Hoop also has wildlife in abundance and it is one of the prime locations in world to view whales from the shore. Up to 400 of them have been seen on this stretch of coastline at a time.

If you are a birder, this reserve is sure to get you a number of lifers!! De Hoop was South Africa’s first RAMSAR site and the 18km-long vlei is home to more than 260 bird species. Make sure you visit the Potberg section of the reserve too, it is home to the Western Cape's last surviving population of Cape Vultures!

The accommodation and tourist activities (apart from the Whale Trail) are managed by the De Hoop Collection. There is a great mix of self-catering cottages, catered suites and camping, enough to suit all budgets. The majority of the accommodation is situated around the main Die Opstal area, there is a great restaurant here too (Fig Tree Restaurant) if you don’t feel like cooking. Across the other side of the vlei – on the Melkammer side – there are three choices of self-catering units, two cottages and the superbly restored Manor House. Right on the edge of the vlei, you are away from it all and at peace to enjoy the tranquility.

The staff at De Hoop are excellent, friendly and smiling plus they really go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
What an absolutely fabulous review! Thank you so much for visiting and for the kind words.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at De Hoop and hope that you will return again soon.

Best Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing moments at a beautiful nature reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My friends and I (we are 4 Kenyans) decided to get away from the busy life in the City of Cape Town and drove some 4 hours to De Hoop Nature reserve. We had a marvelous time there, and hope to return some day. We will probably stay longer next time, as the 2 days we spent there were certainly not enough to explore and take in the beauty of this spectacular place. The staff at the reserve were extremely friendly and helpful. I must mention Lindsay who we met at the reception desk and who waited late Friday night for us to arrive. We saw plenty of wildlife, and loved the sand dunes and views of the ocean. We did see some whales but they were quite far off, so if you want to watch, it's best to carry a binoculars. The De hoop trail was a nice walk, and gave us a magnificent view of the Vlei. All in all, we enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a lovely quiet time away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Winnie,

We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed you stay at De Hoop, it really is the best place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and we hope you'll return for another visit soon!

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great spot for whale watching from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Let's start with the downside: Getting to this park is quite a drive from the main road (about an hour). Within the park, some of the gravel roads are in poor condition. However, this is more than compensated by what you can see, which basically falls into two categories. If you go to the lodge area, the grassland surrounding it has lots of wildlife to see. Actually, this is the best spot in the park to spot it. However, the main attraction are the huge sand dunes on which you can climb, and from there you have a great view over the ocean and can watch whales (mostly Southern Right). Binoculars enhance the experience, but even the naked eye can spot them in season.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at De Hoop, we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit.

Best Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Hoop Nature Reserve also viewed

Betty's Bay, Overberg District
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to De Hoop Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Hoop Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.