We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious well equipped cottage in pure nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bredasdorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages
Save
You added De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages to your Saves list
Longstreet, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very spacious well equipped cottage in pure nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The self-equipped cottage is very spacious and nicely furnished. They are completely equipped for a longer stay (including kitchen). We ate at the restaurant. Food was good. Nice service. Location at the heart of the national park.
We recommend for relaxing and quite days with possiblity of long walks along the beach. They offer various activities like guided walks, quad bikes, bicycle ....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are so pleased that we Could help make your visit to De Hoop a memorable one! Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
76
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S E Kent,UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our only disappointing destination out of 11 during our 5 week trip to South Africa.
Our cottage, which could be really nice, was very dated.Internet use was charged and was poor anyway.Meals and staff were OK. Maps provided were poor with walking routes very limited indeed apparently due to flooding two months previously. All road fairly grim to drive on.
A place with potential but in need of investment and much better management.
On the bright side the night sky is just terrific.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plett
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Definitely one for nature lovers, and you really need good weather to enjoy a stay here as there is very little to do if it is raining and out of whale season. Getting to it is an adventure in itself. We had to stop in Bredasdorp and ask as the signage was so difficult to find (coming out of Bredasdorp turn right by the first farm after crossing the river). We stayed in a Vlei Cottage which had full cooking facilities including an oven. The furnishings were basic and the place felt damp when we arrived. The bonus is that it is totally quiet and has no light pollution. A nice touch was that they gave out free picnic baskets for Valentine's Day. Unfortunately they were not well organized for the activities. There are only 4 quad bikes and the staff were in some confusion about whether they would be taken out after overnight rain. So we were unable to book ahead as we had wanted and then were frustrated when other guests took the bikes ahead of us. The dinner was good, though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After a 1 hour drive on unmade roads we finally arrived at De Hoop. The nature reserve is massive. After checking in and seeing our accommodation we were a bit deflated and began to make plans to check out the following morning and move on. But after speaking with other guests, staff and having a great evening meal we decided to stay. Staff and management were great.

Our cottage was very large for just the 2 of us. It was safe, secure and clean although I thought it could have done with a lick of paint.

It is very remote and you can go all day without seeing another person. We spent the day on the beach but it wasn't whale watching season. The kitchen staff provided us with an excellent picnic basket full of goodies.

I personally didn't think there was enough to do there compared to other reserves we stayed at on The Garden Route.

Room Tip: Travel there in a 4x4 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The reserve itself is quite nice and the stay could be the same IF:
- the staff had a training in hospitality
- the restaurant was serving something else than cheap canteen food
- the rules were not thrown at your face in an aggressive manner by a snooty receptionist
- you did not have to fight for anything .... In vain
In brief, come for the day, but do not stay overnight. The rates have no relation with what you are going to get.
They need a hotel manager there, not a ranger.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Cape, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Cannot imagine why anyone would go to the trouble of staying here just for one night. It is not on the 'usual' tourist route. You have to make the effort and be prepared to put up with a dirt/gravel road, which for small saloon cars might not be that comfortable or expected. But this is a HUGE and remote location, the reserve run and owned by Cape Nature, the accommodation and facilities by a private operator. We stayed in one of the four two bedroomed Vlei Cottages for three nights and had a magical long weekend, exploring the park, swimming in the dramatic Indian Ocean and observing nature. Up at 5:30am one morning we met up with birdman Patrick, who took us on a beautiful, gentle amble alongside the huge vlei birdwatching. Before we set off he asked us if we were amateurs (yes) or pro ornithologists (no) so providing explanations and descriptions that we could follow. Utterly brilliant.

As we were not self catering, we enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the small but totally wonderful little restaurant where the staff could not have been more friendly or efficient. Despite an issue over an allergy, which was not only stated in correspondence and again written into our details at reception on arrival, chef managed to overlook it at the first meal but profusely apologised and it did not happen again. Not chi-chi or smart, the food is nonetheless delicious and beautifully presented.

Full of history and nature running free, De Hoop offers everything you need for a break. Yes, it is not cheap but look at what you get. We raised an issue with the manager, Etienne about our cottage, which we chose specifically because it offered a view of the vlei. It didn't because slap bang in front of the stoep is tall vegetation that stops you seeing anything. He explained how he would have to speak to Cape Nature as they manage the land, agreeing that it was misleading. A bit of maintenance on cleaning mould in the shower might not go amiss either.

There are many types of accommodation available to suit as well as camping, so difficult to recommend any one over another largely because we did not visit any other than our own. Some cottages are very public on the roadway, which we would not have enjoyed. But in summary, a magical place served by lovely, friendly staff we will most definitely go back to.

Room Tip: Not poss because we did not visit any others. There is a wide variety to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sascot,

Thank you so much for visiting De Hoop and for the fabulous review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you'll be back again soon!

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in De Hoop Nature Reserve for 1 night. Since the weather was quite bad, the ride to the reserve was quite rough (untarred road). Keep in mind that the park closes at 6 p.m., so you have to be in before that time! The reserve is beautiful and spacious, a lot of animals around the cottages. The cottages are nice. We had a 4-person cottage, for which we had to pay 1250 ZAR (2 persons). The kitchen/living room is quite small (bad lighting), cottage has its own 'braai'. There are good hiking opportunities within the reserve, we did the hike along the coast, which was beautiful!! The reserve only has a small shop and restaurant, so buy your stuff before you enter!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting De Hoop Jens. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hop you'll be back soon.

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

Address: Longstreet, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bredasdorp
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few other reserves offer as complete an outdoor experience as De Hoop - sea, sand dunes, the vlei, a floral sensation of rare fynbos plants, diverse antelope and the Potberg Mountains, with world class whale watching in season. Activities are diverse and guests choose between various day walks through the rich fynbos plains or along the deserted coastline or mountain biking along the many gravel roads. Accommodation ranges from neat campsites to luxury suites. Onsite restaurant open daily, and day visitors welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages Hotel Bredasdorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.