We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Reserve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bredasdorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages
Save
You added De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages to your Saves list
Longstreet, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Reserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with family (total: 5 persons) at De Hoop Village at the Opstal; the Reserve itself consists one of the most beautiful beaches and sand dunes I've ever seen; the accommodation, though, at least at the Village, leaves something to be desired for the price charged: the Villas are huge (ours had 23 bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen), but the furnishings a bit basic (but then again: it's a village, isn't it?); food at the proprietary Fig Tree restaurant was excellent; we took the De Hoop coastal dunes and rock-pool tour (about 3hrs): very nice, especially for the kids; and we also trod the beautiful (about 3-4hrs) trek along the Vlei; all in all an enjoyable excursion, with some room for improvement

Room Tip: De Hoop Village at the Opstal is nice, but located some distance from the main reception/restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon again.

Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    60
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
76
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What an amazing Nature Reserve - with world-class views, accommodation, activities and service. We (4 adults) stayed in a 3 bedroom Opstal House (Giant Kingfisher) for a weekend and realised that we needed much more time to truly experience all this area has to offer. We managed to take a few walks and drove to Koppie Alleen where a few whales were playing in the bay. The Vlei-area with its abundance of bird-life and the pristine white beaches and sand-dunes are just beautiful and we were fortunate to see many different types of antelope and game (including the big baboon family). Unfortunately there was not enough time to participate in any of the other activities - cycling, quad-biking, etc. We certainly wish to return here again and stay for much longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to post a review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, be sure to book a longer visit next time!

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
The De Hoop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love De Hoop -- I don't know any other places where a leisurely morning hike or bike ride can include passing through a herd of eland, checking out a baby zebra at close quarters, counting pelicans or watching a cormorant wrestle with a fish. But the accommodation -- which has been concessioned out to a private company under a 45-year lease agreement -- is horribly overpriced. We paid just over R1000 per night for a family of four thanks to a half-price Groupon deal, and even that felt like a bit too much. The operators have a lot of experience with 5-star luxury type places, and I get the feeling they just don't understand self-catering accommodation. Nice sheets and a well-equipped kitchen are very much appreciated -- but they have way over-invested in expensive and slightly fussy soft furnishings and decor. The tasteful framed prints and the basket full of ostrich eggs are completely out of place in a tiny little cottage that's destined to be full of muddy hiking boots. All this, and they didn't bother to swap out the horrible shower head that sends most of the water out of the door. Muddy, sweaty people want decent showers more than they want a coffee table full of glossy magazines. Next time we'll be back in the campsite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Pumeza69

Thank you for visiting and the feedback.

Regarding the shower head , it was repaired immediately after being informed of the problem.

We regularly review our rates in order to ensure that the project is competitive and sustainable as well as offering rate entry points between R295pp to R1650pp . We also offer Last minute and special rates are during non-peak periods. So be sure to visit our facebook and webpages for the latest offers!

We hope you will be back for a return visit soon.

Best Regards
The De Hoop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a lovely weekend away!

We spent two nights as part of the Welcoming the Whales weekend. The food was fantastic on both nights; food and wine paring on the Friday evening and a fantastic dinner with two incredibly knowledgeable marine scientists (Meredith Thornton and Ryan Reisinger) on the Saturday night. Saturday afternoon we had a beautiful walk on the dunes and coast line finished by hot chocolate and brownies!

It was a wonderful weekend to learn more about whales and meet great people. Even though the weather was a little wet but it's still a beautiful place and a must see!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting and welcoming the whales with us. We would also like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we greatly appreciate it.

See you soon again!
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and attended the welcoming of the whales dinner. Was a gorgeous evening with talks from brilliant marine biologists, good wine and great food. The accommodations are comfortable and even in the wet weather had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for joining us in Welcoming the whales as well as taking the time to post a review!

Hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Italia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

De Hoop Reverse is an amazing place where to spend some days in complete relax and in contact with nature.
The cottage was really nice and confortable, our was named Baboon, and it had 2 rooms and 1 bathrooms plus a wonderful kitchen perfectly equipped with oven, stoves etc...
Unfortunately we spent there just one night but it's surely worth a longer vacation, maybe during summer (it gets cold at night!) or for whales season.
Sand dunes are a short drive away and really wonderful!
Personnel also was very nice and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Agulhas, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Blue Crane 3 bedroomed cottage with our best friend (her first visit). The cottage was absolutely spotless, spacious and the toiletries and linen - all excellent quality. We enjoyed an excellent platter for lunch at the restaurant which proved to be ample for 3 and very good value for money. The rest of the time we self catered (I love to cook) and found I was not lacking anything in the kitchen. The table was beautifully set on our arrival with colourful serviettes and the fire place worked really well (it was a bit chilly the first night). We had an awesome picnic on the beach the next day and saw many animals and the bird life as well as the flora was beautiful and varied. What an experience to see the stars and the night sky - it was really really quiet with only the ocassional hoot of a Cape Eagle owl. I really recommend the walks, along the beach, the dunes and the lagoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

Address: Longstreet, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bredasdorp
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few other reserves offer as complete an outdoor experience as De Hoop - sea, sand dunes, the vlei, a floral sensation of rare fynbos plants, diverse antelope and the Potberg Mountains, with world class whale watching in season. Activities are diverse and guests choose between various day walks through the rich fynbos plains or along the deserted coastline or mountain biking along the many gravel roads. Accommodation ranges from neat campsites to luxury suites. Onsite restaurant open daily, and day visitors welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages Hotel Bredasdorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.