We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I stayed in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Case Sparse, 15 | Bagno Vignoni, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places I stayed in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently took a trip to Italy and stayed here for three nights on our way through Italy. We were not disappointed. From the beautiful building and accomodations to the friendly service and the delicious food, every part of our stay was wonderful, relaxing and made us really never want to leave Tuscany. If you happen to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, the Pici with Aglione sauce was one of the simplest yet best plates of pasta my girlfriend and I had ever tasted.

We will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 6 month old son and both my parents, stayed here for a whole week in early June 2013.

Finding the place can be a bit challenging - we ended up circling for about 20 minutes before finally arriving. Head for Castiglione D'Orcia and just after you've pulled off the main road to enter the town, you need to turn right into what looks like a small carpark, before turning left and heading down the track where you find the hotel.

The building is beautifully restored and the rooms are well thought out. I can't think of anything we needed in the room that wasn't provided. The beds are actually very comfortable as well, providing a decent night's sleep. It doesn't have a "luxury" feel though - rather a much more "homely" feel.

The restuarant is also very good. Given we had the baby we ate in the restaurant every night bar one. The menu is relatively small, so by the last night we were struggling a little in terms of ordering, but the food itself is very good, if not quite excellent. There is a decent selection of wine that is reasonably priced - not just Tuscan wine, but also Amarone's and other regional Italian wines, which I thought was a nice touch.

The real point of difference for this hotel in my opinion is the service. This was in evidence before arrival and during our stay and also on checkout.

We had emailed in advance to ask for a cot for our baby and also a ground floor room for my mother who was a bit ill. There were no issues and we received a reply within hours confirming that our needs had been catered to. I've had a lot more difficulty arranging things like this with hotels in the past.

During our stay the service continued to excel. The two owners are simply lovely and offer all the advice you need. We were recommended trips, and also to visit some places that weren't even listed in our guidebook, and which provided some of the best memories of the entire holiday.

A vineyard booking was no issue - even though most of the ones I wanted to visit were booked out, Sylvano persisted and eventually we were able to get a tour at Casanova Neri (not particularly recommended by the way). Great service and beyond what I could reasonably have expected.

Then to cap it all off, on our last night, we were presented with several bottles of prosecco and a few bags of Amaretti biscuits as gifts to take home. Again, service beyond the call of duty.

I think I can honestly say I have never received such personalised and effective service in my 10+ years of travel.

Are there any downsides I hear you ask? Well not many to be honest. The price is not cheap it has to be said. I think for the 7 nights for 2 rooms, with all breakfasts and dinners (including wine) we paid about 3,300 EUR. Given the level of service, amount of wine and good quality food however, this in a way felt like a bit of a bargain.

Overall I really can't recommend this place highly enough. I would return tomorrow if I didn't live on the other side of the world.

Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: My parents room on the ground floor was both quiet and afforded great views over the grounds - I for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have done a great deal of travelling and the experience at this villa was second to none! Aside from the very comfortable and quiet rooms, the grounds including the pool were beautiful. The management and service provided was the best I have ever experienced anywhere in the world! Knowing that we had been cycling to his location, Sylvanno offered to make us omelettes in the morning even though the usual European continental breakfast was the standard. We had a supper here that was our best meal in Tuscany and we had many excellent meals. I can't say enough good things about this wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel with my wife and daughter (a 7 months old baby).

I must say I was extremely surprised with the Hotel dependencies and the staff. The hotel is small, which is good and it is in superb shape. It is taken care in the minimum details, from the garden to the rooms. It is a typical Tuscan style place, cosy, well decorated, very clean and quiet.

Their website really shows the truth, rooms and the hotel itself are exactly as shown in the pictures.

Rooms are cleaned two times a day (something you just get in more luxurious hotels), there's free wifi over the entire place and the restaurant offers you good food, superb service and a great wine variety. Also its location is perfect for exploring the region.

Regarding the superb service, I must say that this is their strength! From the moment I arrived until I left, the two owners were always trying to go the extra mile to make me and my family comfortable, I felt at home! They arranged everything we asked them, from vineyards visits and restaurants reservations to giving us special baby food.

Not only the owners were engaged in making us feel at home, but also their employees, honestly I haven't seen such a good service in Italy and in Europe. Flawless!

This 5 days were wonderful and we are definitely coming back!! Hotel is more than recommended, it is a must.

Room Tip: Any room you'll get a nice view... go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent place for relaxing and refreshing vacation. Staff is professional, hospitality is at a very high level. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed. It is pleasant to wake up with a nice view outside and sounds of birds. Food is very delicious, and services at high level. Don't be afraid of the distances. The staff will organize pick-up if you want to visit the neighboring villages. Highly recommended if you want to have a relaxing and quiet holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

WOW it has been an amazing stay, the staff is very discrete, the hotel is clean and very nice. a bit difficult to find at first - make sure to contact them beforehand or set your GPS to Bagno Vignoni. Zorro is a very sweet donkey who is just outside the building. this osteria is a real jewel - they serve you their own youghurt for breakfast and homemade cakes - as well as exotic fruit such as pinapple or leaches. Dont have any doubts - just book this hotel and make sure not to stress yourself during your stay! drink loads of wine - eat loads of healthy good food and visit nearby Montepulciano and Montalcino - enjoy Toscana - its HEAVEN!

Room Tip: sliightly noisy if hotel is full - the rooms are not well sound insulated but its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The garden is very romantic, and if time permits, it is very nice to just sit outside by the pool or front garden. It was very relaxing..

They even have a little donkey outside the parking area!

We have only stayed here for one day, but wish we would have booked it for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Address: Case Sparse, 15 | Bagno Vignoni, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osteria dell'Orcia - a former 16th century post house, along the antique pilgrimage road "Via Francigena" where, along with the centuries, kings and princesses stopped to shelter and rest.A total refurbishment was carried out at the end of the 90s with a minute care to preserve the originality of the buildings and yet to include the comforts needed for the descerning travellers.16 lovely and well decoreted appointed bedrooms, all with its marble bathroom and Jacuzzi showers, restaurant and lounges, gardens and natural settings are an ideal environment to relax, wind-down and recharge between visits to art cities and heavy traffic.Local products and ltasty typical dishes are prepared with passion by Eliana, served in the intimacy of our restaurant, accompanied by selected local and tuscan wines, from the rich and generous regions of Montalcino, Montepulciano, Montecucco, Scansano and Maremma. During the warm season breakfast, lunch and dinners are served in the garden overlooking Bagno Vignoni and its colorful tuscan hills.The panoramic pool immersed in flowered gardens, at the bottom of Bagno Vignoni, along the banks fo the river Orcia completes this lovely property.An ideal stop in a strategic position for bikers and hikers with many itineraries along empty roads in company of an artistic nature with musical notes of singing birds and light breeze and its luxurious floraWellness and well being in Bagno Vignoni with its roman spa baths and several beauty-farms availble at the doorstep of our Osteria dell'OrciaITALIANO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.