We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Countryside Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Case Sparse, 15 | Bagno Vignoni, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Countryside Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The garden is very romantic, and if time permits, it is very nice to just sit outside by the pool or front garden. It was very relaxing..

They even have a little donkey outside the parking area!

We have only stayed here for one day, but wish we would have booked it for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This small 4 star hotel is the culmination of a dream of two long-time partners: Silvano and Ferdinando. They are dedicated to making your stay perfect. From the romantic entrance to the beautiful grounds and pool, to the comfortable rooms and common areas, the physical space could not be better.

Breakfast is delicious and generous, and their restaurant, which only serves in the evening, is the best in the area. I had an old Tuscan dish, called Il Peposa, which I had never encountered before. The recipe dates back to the Renaissance, and the dish is a braised peppered beef served with a creamy potato puree. I started with a hand-made ravioli stuffed with ricotta and spinach, coated in sage butter. Silky! My wife had the best papperadelle with cinghialle. Generally this dish is just flavored with cinghialle, but this had big chunks of meat. Delicioso!

The most important thing to stress, however, is that Silvano and Ferdinando will do everything in their power to make you happy. Their service is really special!

And who can forget Zorro, their pet donkey? We were told that a previous guest even left him a tip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in July and loved every minute from start to end. The most appropriate way to sum up our experience is to recount the conversation I had with Silvano (our gracious and charming host) the night before we departed when I asked him what time we had to check out of our room in the morning....he replied "we're not that kind of hotel....what time would you like to vacate your room?".

The rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable, the pool is lovely and the gardens are fantastic. After a morning spent cycling around the Tuscan hillside (with an excellent local guide found for us by Silvano) we tended to collapse on a lounger on the garden by the pool and simply marvel at the beautiful views across to Bagno Vignoli.

Breakfast was excellent, the food was good (if a bit on the pricey side) and the wine list excellent.

There is an easy and well lit path across a footbridge into Bagno Vignoli which has a good range of restaurants....an easy 10 min stroll from the hotel.

All in all an excellent place to stay in Tuscany and highly recommended....we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had planned to stay in Montalcino but did not like that town at all. So as per our likes we went out into the countryside and found this gem. It was very difficult to find because the town politicians told them to remove their sign but once we found it we were soooo happy! Everything was great - the rooms, bathrooms, pool, breakfast all for a very good price. Easy to walk into the small town through the footpaths and we loved the donkey Zorro...We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I spent three nights in Hotel Osteria dell'Orcia (extending one more
night) and it has been a great experience.

The staff is really helpful kind and professional (and speak well at
least English and German), the hotel is very well decorated and clean
and the position is fantastic.

We also had dinner twice and we were both times very pleased,
recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay and near to many great towns without being in a tourist trap. Hotel staff really nice, food was great, room was clean. Only complaint is that walls are paper-thin so you will hear your neighbors TV and until late people downstairs were socializing which you hear every word of. At 11pm, don't expect peace and quiet. The owners should put a curfew in.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We extended our stay so we could soak up more of the beauty, ambiance and peace of the area and this small hotel. Spotless rooms and great food. The owners and management were probably the most gracious and accomodating we have ever been lucky enough to stay with. They would go out of their way at every opportunity - we felt truly special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Address: Case Sparse, 15 | Bagno Vignoni, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osteria dell'Orcia - a former 16th century post house, along the antique pilgrimage road "Via Francigena" where, along with the centuries, kings and princesses stopped to shelter and rest.A total refurbishment was carried out at the end of the 90s with a minute care to preserve the originality of the buildings and yet to include the comforts needed for the descerning travellers.16 lovely and well decoreted appointed bedrooms, all with its marble bathroom and Jacuzzi showers, restaurant and lounges, gardens and natural settings are an ideal environment to relax, wind-down and recharge between visits to art cities and heavy traffic.Local products and ltasty typical dishes are prepared with passion by Eliana, served in the intimacy of our restaurant, accompanied by selected local and tuscan wines, from the rich and generous regions of Montalcino, Montepulciano, Montecucco, Scansano and Maremma. During the warm season breakfast, lunch and dinners are served in the garden overlooking Bagno Vignoni and its colorful tuscan hills.The panoramic pool immersed in flowered gardens, at the bottom of Bagno Vignoni, along the banks fo the river Orcia completes this lovely property.An ideal stop in a strategic position for bikers and hikers with many itineraries along empty roads in company of an artistic nature with musical notes of singing birds and light breeze and its luxurious floraWellness and well being in Bagno Vignoni with its roman spa baths and several beauty-farms availble at the doorstep of our Osteria dell'OrciaITALIANO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.