We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for an active family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Ponte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Locanda del Ponte to your Saves list
La Locanda del Ponte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Ponte a Macereto | Localita Ponte a Macereto, 53015 Monticiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ideal for an active family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent a super weekend in this hotel that provides a lovely big pool, tennis court, table-tennis, italian bowls. Comfortable spacious family room, friendly polite staff and good quality reasonable priced restaurant. The hotel has plenty of covered parking. Siena is a twenty min drive away and has ample (payed) parking.

Room Tip: request room on the river side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    50
    24
    16
See reviews for
62
138
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I do not know who gave 4 stars rating to this hotel. There is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs by yourself. The room is EXTREMELY dark even for hotel room. WIFI does not work well. The breakfast was poor. The only good thing is a price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great 3 night stay here in May. Gorgeous large room on the first floor and large bathroom and large shower. Views from room looked over a lake and lots of greenery. We had a corner room so lots of light and also a view to the garden and pretty rose beds. There was a swimming pool but unfortunately it rained every day when we were there and was relatively cold -14C - which we didn't expect for mid May! The location is great - 15 mins south of Sienna just off the main road, in the countryside without the Sienna prices - we got a fantastic deal with booking.com and didn't mind the driving. We just needed a base to explore Tuscany as we were out every day exploring. The breakfast was continental and sufficient for us and they were quick to fill up anything that was running out. The evening meal was ok - its not 5 star - just a country restaurant but did the job after a days exploring. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a first floor corner room - facing the street - we enjoyed the views and would request it aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely old hotel restored from an old farmhouse. Our stay was in a great location to explore Tuscany. Hotel was clean, comfortable, and pleasing to the eye. Food was OK, breakfast was continental, with the usual cheese slices, salami, ham slices, croissants, bread, fruit, cereal etc. Room was comfortable, OK in size, although shower was fairly tight , but when you are only spending a short time in the hotel, it's not that important. I would have no hesitation in going back again. The only not so good thing about the hotel was the size and choice in the bar. A special thank you to Dino, who never tired of helping us with his knowledge of the area and was excellent throughout our stay. Overall I would give this place 4 out of 5, perhaps some wouldn't, guess it depends on how particular you are. I loved it and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Probably best to have a room at the back of the hotel, as at the front is a main road, even though t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

There was nothing wrong with the very nice restored farmhouse, the swimming pool, the quiet environment and the good location for trips to all the famous cities as Siena.
The showercabine was far to small (such a stupid steamcabine), no real bar (depending of front desk personel to get some drinks from the restaurant) and the swimming pool closes at 19:00. But worst of all was the chaotic service in the restaurant and the bad breakfast buffet: poor choice dry bread, cold scrambled eggs, sometimes fruit or yoghurt.Staff was more busy with themselves in stead of taking care of the clients.
Laundry service was not 24 hours but stuff was brought back spread over 3 days !
There was a 4-star sign but I would give it a 3-star max.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
244 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is a nicely remodeled old farmhouse with lovely rustic rooms, AC, modern bathrooms (some with bathtubs, others only showers), a refreshing pool and lovely grounds to sit and relax.

Downsides are their restaurant in general (not cheap at as other pretend to say, the primi are reasonable but why to pay 5€ for "contorni"? I'm sure there will be more surprises on the "conto" as e.g. "pane e coperato" 4€/person (not on menu) or only bottles wines available? - usual tricks of restaurants to overcharge....

Another downside is their breakfast compared to other (even cheaper) hotels we stayed on this trip: Salami from Lidl, the cheapest pressed ham (no “crudo), only the Tuscan salt-less bread and the coffee “Americano” they offered tasted like water – cappuccino to order but not much better....

Average service limited English, personell smokes more outside than they work. Also remember that you need to pay 3€/day/device for Internet and 2€/towel at the pool if you don't bring your own from home. The hydro showers are absolutely too tiny (for kids only?). The road you can't hear much (which is a plus)

However I can recommend this place only for short overnight stays even the rates are very low (around 50-60€)

For dinner I recommend to drive 20mins down the highway to Paganico and visit "Il Castelluccio" or even better but also a bit more expensive "3 cantoni" on the road to Arcidosso

Room Tip: standard rooms have only tiny shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

La Locanda del Ponte has received mixed reviews, and we were a little concerned before going, but we need not have worried. The rooms were delightful, the staff very caring and the grounds really splendid. The ruined bridge on the river which you can see from the gardens is part of the old Sienna-Rome road, and the hotel is an old coaching inn which dates back to 1600. It has been tastefully modernised - although we missed some modern touches like a balcony to sit out on and to dry towels. The hotel occupies several buildings, and it is a winding walk to the pool, but the gardens around the pool are very tranquil. The restaurant staff try very hard (although the breakfasts are really unimaginative), but we ate at the hotel next door several evenings because the food was perhaps a little more interesting, and we could sit out and watch the sunset over the hills. It's a very good base for exploring the local towns, as it is on the Sienna-Grosetto road, but we were not much bothered by traffic noise. So don't be concerned about this hotel - it is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda del Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Ponte

Address: Localita Ponte a Macereto | Localita Ponte a Macereto, 53015 Monticiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monticiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Ponte 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting atmosphere of the Tuscan countryside, only 19 km from Siena, stands Locanda del Ponte. An old Tuscan country house, where history, art and culture meet up to delight sight and spirit. Completely renewed, thanks to a careful reconstruction, the Hotel offers a special kind of hospitality which joins tradition and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Locanda del Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Ponte Hotel Monticiano
La Locanda Del Ponte Italy/Monticiano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.