We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Della Rovere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Della Rovere to your Saves list
Relais Della Rovere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel provided a good base to visit areas such as San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra and the such. The lovely old town of Colle di Val d'Elsa is 5/10 minute drive away which has some nice restaurants, however, there is not a great deal to do or see right by the hotel.
Hotel was lovely and characteristic with nice clean rooms and interesting communal areas. Bedrooms were comfortable and spacious while retaining some original character. Only thing I would say is that it would have been better if the shower was properly enclosed and above the bath with a glass screen to stop water going everywhere In the large bathroom which could be a little dark at night.

Room Tip: Superior room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Client,
many thanks for your review and wtih pleasure we inform our guests that we are going to have all our bath-tubes with glass shower panel.
We hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    107
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
168
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stuck between the tourist traps of San Gimignano and Siena, Colle Val d'Elsa is the ugly sister hilltop town of the region. Which is a pity because on the outskirts, in an unpromising residential quarter next to the main road, lies a really good hotel with 5* qualities in a 4* establishment. Set in a residence of the cardinal who went on to be Pope Julius II, this is a really first class original hotel with a number of really nice touches. The staff are very professional and helpful with all manner of queries. You do need a car to make the best of the area because it's a 15 minute drag out of town. But with that caveat, it must be a winner in anyone's list of places to stay in the region. The restaurant is classy, set in an undercroft, albeit with a limited menu - so really good for one night but not several. It does have an extensive and interesting wine list but there were good relatively inexpensive wines as well as stuff for Russian nouveau-riche lookalikes. It is a surprisingly quiet location and the bedrooms and beds are good for a good night's sleep. Walls are not that soundproof though - which is the reason to knock off a rating point. Breakfast is comprehensive if in the Italian continental style. Good scrambled egg is the stand-out.

Room Tip: We had a room in a converted out house, very spacious; so apart from one room next door with the typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest
we thank you for your review full of useful for the next customer at the Relais della Rovere**** and we hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere****
We welcome,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived as was a very atmospheric historical group of buildings and gardens. We stayed in one of the superior rooms in the garden which was spacious and clean but lighting was poorly designed, and the shower was a disabled one which was not good for normal use. However interior of hotel is lovely and staff were good. We ate in the Cardinale restaurant in the cellar- good quality but on expensive side. Drinks in the bar were expensive but nice nibbles came along with them. Breakfast was also a good selection of everything required.
Good value for money - would return if in the area.
A short drive to centre of "new town" and then a glass lift up to the fabulous old town of colle di val d'elsa- untouched for hundreds of years.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest
many thanks for your attention about all our services We hope you'll welcome again at Relais della Rovere*****
Friendly Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. The room was not as clean as expected, otherwise bog standard. Bathroom was large and good, the only problem was lack of showercurtain - so the floor got unnecessarily wet. Breakfast was very good, but hard to get the attention of the waiters. The hotel is a short walk (15 minutes) from Col de Val d'Elsa and a great location for exploring Tuscany by car. The highlight of our stay were the restaurant in the basement: "Il Cardinale".
The food was superb and great value for money. Across the street from the hotel is a large family-restaurant which is a good alternative - even more reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
any suggestion is important for us and we hope you'll come back to Tuscany again on summertime to discover Relais della Rovere and all our services.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very nice place to stay right in Tuscany countryside.

Not too far away from historic Siena and also San Gigmniano.

Rustic farmstay touch, large ceilings, spacious rooms, suites, diversified breakfast with local dishes.

They have preserved so much history in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest
we find in your review a new word about Relais della Rovere:..... so much history in this hotel.....you are so right!
Our Relais is an old Abbey of the 11 century later house of Cardinal Giuliano della Rovere (Pope Giulio II°) that after an accurate restoration is now a superior four stars hotel.
Many thank for your stay and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This has to be the most amazing places in Colle di Val d'Elsa! The staff is wonderful, the owner (Marco) has given us a very special place to stay in Tuscany, thank you for sharing your beautiful work with us. The breakfast was great, very nice setting; the rooms are perfect and full of history. Great location too, easy to get around. Can't wait to visit again! We stayed for 2 weeks, perfect place for day trips around Tuscana.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to visit with the owner, Marco, don't be afraid to ask questions about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
a long stay at Relais della Rovere can offer many great experiences! We hope to see you again, you'llbe WELCOME to us. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very nice hotel. Serving fine food...... but to be honest, after the first night we popped across the road for the next 3 nights to the local restaurant above the local bakers and chemists. They didn't speak much English, we barley speak Italian, but we somehow managed to get by, drinking excellent local wine, eating brilliant rustic food and served by great staff. I can't remember the name of the place but I don't think they get many tourists...... but MANY locals..... always the best places to go.

Sorry I have reviewed the place across the road more, but it was the highlight of my holiday, along with the translations from Italian to English of the Hotel swimming pool regulations..... Have a read, it will make you chuckle! The hotel was lovely though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest
we thank your for your review and we hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere on next summer to discover our park and summing pool ...you will welcome!
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Della Rovere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Della Rovere

Address: Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Della Rovere 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Splendia so you can book your Relais Della Rovere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Rovere Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Relais Della Rovere Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Della Rovere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.