We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip top hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Della Rovere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Della Rovere to your Saves list
Relais Della Rovere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arezzo, Toscana, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tip top hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January and was most impressed. Despite being out of season the hotel was welcoming and the room was excellent. What especially impressed was the standard of service. Nothing was too much bother for the reception - special mention goes to Antonella and Barbara who made me feel really at home and their suggestions for local trips and restaurants were spot on. I hope to return in the summer to make the most of the gardens and pool

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests, we thank you for your words and we are waiting again next summer at Relais della Rovere. You will welcome! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    107
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
168
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place is out of town but worth the walk. Good welcome. Large inviting room with a whirl pool bath to bubble away in after a long walk in Tuscany. The dining room and break fast areas areas are in the old part of the building full of great art and classic modernist chairs such as Mondrian. It mixes old and new with ease. Dinner, excellent food , service a bit slow but plenty time to drink wine and enjoy the delights of local produce. Breakfast is full of superb choices, fruit , cereals, meats, cheese , eggs etc served in a grand old room. This really encourages you to sit eat and enjoy the ambience. Would advise anyone to stay

Room Tip: They all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guests,
we thank you for wonderful words about our Relais della Rovere, the goal is to satisfy our Customers!
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was really nice staying there in our honeymoon. We had a nice surprise at the beginning of our stay, finding two swan shaped towels and petals of white (real) roses. It was a nice touch for our special journey, that we didn't get in the other hotels from Tuscany where we stayed. Staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us maps and directions. We enjoyed the breakfast which was varied, giving the fact that we stayed six days and at least one plate from every category changed every day. The superior room was huge and had a nice jacuzzi. We rented a car and had a free parking space. It is best to arrive by car the hotel. For us it was a lovely experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are very pleased that you were very good in our hotel.
It is a pleasure also for us, we try to do always the best for the guests.
We hope to have you again here in our hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked pretty much blind through Easyjet and was then slightly concerned after reading some Tripadvisor reviews - middle of a housing estate, cheap furniture etc. But on arrival all expectations exceeded. Staff friendly, welcoming, efficient and discrete, room kept scrupulously clean throughout the five days we stayed, excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: There are three types of decor - modern, antique and "traditional" in the differnet parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
we appreciate very much your positive review and your compliments about our staff and our hotel.
We whish to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I just stayed here with my group and I have to say the experience was at the top of our list. The customer service here was absolutely the best. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. The jacuzzi tub we had was an added bonus. Beautiful historic hotel with many beautiful features. The restaraunt was one of the best we have tried. The food was all homemade and traditional Tuscan style. Sandra the chef was simply the best. Prices are fair and setting was in a cave with a very romantic and historic feel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you for your words about Relais della Rovere and we are happy you and your group had a good time here with us. We are waiting for you next time in Tuscany, we'll be WELCOME at Relais della Rovere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived at this hotel soaking wet after a long cycle in the rain and even though we were extremely early the lovely front desk staff gave us towels, a place to dry off and rushed through our check in. We continued to enjoy really great, friendly service from all the staff throughout our stay. The hotel is a beautiful old monastery with lovely grounds and an immaculate pool area. Our room was a very spacious 2 level suite (with the lack of a shower screen being the only flaw in the room). The restaurant was really excellent with a great local wine list and as the weather was good we got to eat in a beautiful candlelit courtyard. Breakfasts served indoors were also extensive and tasty. There is a bar area but drinks are very expensive and the pool side options (particularly with regard to snacks) were limited - one day we were unable to get lunch as the restaurant was closed. There is a small local bar with much cheaper drinks directly across the street from the hotel. The hotel itself is in a slightly odd area just off a busy main road, however it's only a 10 minute walk into the new town's main square and the elevator up to the old town. The old town itself is lovely to visit and has some very good quality restaurants - reservations are essential though as we unfortunately discovered on one occassion. We got the bus to Sienna on one day which was an extremely straightforward 30 minute journey away. Again the front desk staff were very helpful with timetables etc. To conclude, I'd definitely recommend a few days in this lovely hotel if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, we really thank you for your review and we hope we'll be come back to Relais della Rovere, we'll be WELCOME! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent hotel. Kind personnel.

I loved the pool area and the room we had been given (actually we got an upgrade to a junior suite, which was amazing).

Breakfast was quite good. I will definitely reccomend it (and I have to my friends) for a few days in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are equally nice to upper floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest
we''be happy to see you again at Relais della Rovere, you'll be WELCOME. Many thanks for your comment. Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Della Rovere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Della Rovere

Address: Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Della Rovere 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Splendia so you can book your Relais Della Rovere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Rovere Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Relais Della Rovere Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Della Rovere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.