We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Segolina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Segolina to your Saves list
La Segolina
loc. Sant'Antonio | La Segolina, 3, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Mgarr, Malta
1 review
“An unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at La Segolina for 8 nights and must say we will cherish the time we spent there, Maria Grazia and Antonio went out of their way to answer our questions and make sure we had all we needed. Our self-catering apartment was exquisitely renovated and had everything we needed, wifi was also available inside the apartment!

The place has a sizeable pool with breathtaking views of the Tuscan countryside and its terraces have plenty of space where kids can run around or enjoy the abundance of toys made available while the parents can relax and keep an eye on them.

My husband also made use of the bicycles at La Segolina while I ran alongside him exploring the stunning surroundings. The area has plenty of paths which one could use to cycle/run, Antonio was very helpful with directions. Do not miss the Via Francigena, it's an ancient historical route which the pilgrims used to take from France in going towards Rome to visit the Holy See or the tombs of apostles Peter and Paul.

A fabulous wine tasting evening was also organised by our hosts and I must say Antonio's biological wine was a hit, if only I could buy it from Malta, Antonio! :)

In a nutshell, to all those who are planning to go to Tuscany, La Segolina is the place to go! The place is magnificent and the hospitality of the owners is like no other, La Segolina is a home away from home! Thank you Maria Grazia and Antonio for the unique experience!

Sonia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at La Segolina, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Google Translation
Carissimi Sonia & mark, é stato per noi un piacere conoscervi ed averci come Ospiti é stato un vero Valore!!! La vostra " casa lontano da casa" vi aspetta sempre molto volentieri quando vorrete ritornare!!! Un abbraccio e a presto!!!! Antonio & m.grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Maria is very warm and friendly person who welcomed us warm heartedly. The scenery is superb and the accommodation is very tasty mixture of Italian style both the rustic and the modern combined to the last detail. We were amazed. The breakfast is served in very cozy atmosphere and includes local products but with mid european standards. Pool is great. Rooms are well isolated so individuality was preserved as we needed. People from north need that especially in the beginning of the trip. Wifi coverage and speed was ok. Only small issue was the humidity in the room since the ventilation was weak. Leaving doors open during the day for ventilation is advisable. Would recommend to anyone and would definetly visit again.
Anneli & Kahro from Estonia.

Room Tip: We were in room named: Sangimiano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had the most memorable stay at 'La Segolina', our hosts Maria Grazia and Antonio were great. Our introduction to Tuscany was so enhanced by the entire package of La Segolina, family, setting, food and wine, unique and comfortable accommodation. A great stepping off location to the Chianti area, scenery, people, food and wine and historical wonder. We only had to ask Maria Grazia and Antonio and in every way they would set themselves to help and direct us to the treasures of Italy and particularly the Chianti region. It is special when you leave thinking I must get back here soon, relax - sport - art - nature. Another plus for us was that they offered free bicycles to use. If you dont have a car there is a bus stop right at the door .

Room Tip: Contact Maria Grazia or Antonio for directions before you get there as there are 2 entrances to La S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed three night at this small vinyard in a beautifully renovated apartment. The room is much nicer than at most similar places and decorated with a personal touch. Service is personal och very friendly by the owners. The organic wine produced is both good and very reasonably priced.

While located on one side next to a commercial center, the views froom the apartments are very scenic. The general location puts you within 30 minutes drive of Siena and 40 minutes of Volterra and Florence, making it a great base for and exploration of Tuscany and the Chianti region.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at La Segolina, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Barbara & Phillip , it Was been a pleasure to have you here!!! Onored guests of La Segolina!!
Look forward to see you one of this september for Vendemmia ( harvest the grapes )!!!!!!
Antonio & Maria Grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Segolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Segolina

Address: loc. Sant'Antonio | La Segolina, 3, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Segolina is an "agriturismo" (wineyard estate in THE Tuscany countryside) with a swimingpool, air conditioning, free wifi, tv sat and private parking. We have two beautiful double rooms with private bathroom and three delicius self catering apartments. Very easy to reach, near the caste of monteriggioni , 10minuts from Siena and San Gimignano, 25 minutes from Florence and Volterra. La Segolina is part of " azienda Agricola Terra di Siena", direct producer of organic wine. In our farm shop, you can also find out olive oil and pecorino cheese. Check also our wine tasting party.Enjoy with us your journey in Tuscany!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Segolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Segolina Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Segolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.