We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo San Lorenzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Palazzo San Lorenzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at here for two nights in the middle of November. We were a little uncertain about whether or not we'd chosen the right town for a transition spot between our travels in southern Tuscany and our ultimate departure from Pisa airport, but we were delighted with both the town and the hotel. Our room was spacious, modern and very comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic. Reception was warm and hepful, and the sitting area in the lobby nice and comfortable. We treated ourselves to the spa -- a massage for me and just the wellness path option for my husband -- and it was probably the best relaxing massage I've ever had. Very close to San Gimignano, where we went for dinner one evening.

The town itself is beautiful, with the upper and lower historical town centers. It's an easy walk from the hotel (which is right by the beautiful, rounded old city gates) to the crystal elevator which takes you to the lower town.

We also found the hotel very reasonably priced, as it was low season and we prepaid for the room. We would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    137
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
344
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Palazzo San Lorenzo was one of the nicest hotel we've stayed in! Quiet, excellent location, lovely service.
Great value. We wish we could have stayed longer. After a full day of traveling around the Tuscany region it was wonderful to come back to the hotel, parking was a pleasure - they have a little lot walking distance from the hotel. Wonderful restaurants also walking distance and a lovely breakfast buffet in the hotel. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel Palazzo San Lorenzo is an absolutely beautiful, sleekly-modern, spotless facility! Great breakfast buffet is included with the room. The town is lovely and it is also in a particularly beautiful part of Tuscany. it is very close to many other charming hilltop towns as well. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palhoca, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The way between San Gimignano and this amazing Hotel is one of that things that you think "how is good being alive to see how awesome is the world". And I have no words to describe the staff, the room, the medieval atmosphere, everything, I´m sure we´ll return to this fantastic place. Nowadays, I would book this Hotel with my eyes closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a short stay here in October, and would happily recommend this hotel as a place to stay when touring the area.

The hotel is located on a narrow road in the upper part of the old town. There is room outside to briefly park a car to unload, then the car park is round the corner, outside the old town wall, a very short walk away.

The hotel has been fitted out in an elegant contemporary style, that is quite smart. I personally enjoy and feel comfortable with this style, but if you are looking for a rustic Tuscan style, this isn't the place for you.

The room was certainly spacious enough for us and our 2 small children (we booked a triple room) and the main bed was very large. There was adequate wardrobe and storage space, and the bathroom was spotless and well appointed.

From the window, we had a view over charming adjoining houses built into the town wall, over their lovely tiled roofs, with San Giminiano framed beautifully in the distance (only a few kilometres drive away).

Colle Val d'Elsa is a small pretty unspoilt town, surrounded by stunning countryside. It is a convenient base to tour Florence, Sienna and the surrounding region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is alright for an overnight stay if you are touring the Sienna area. We stayed here for 6 nights in September and was very disappointed with the feeling of the place. On arrival you are given a welcome drink. This is served on the lower ground floor in a bar that is very clinical and no atmosphere. The second day of being there, I wanted to have somewhere that I could relax and read a book in the sun. I asked at reception and they said that they had no where other than the bar courtyard and that didnt open until 6pm and there are no chairs out there anyway. She suggested I go to a square in the town to sit. There is a reading room inside but it would be nice to have somewhere you could sit outside.

You cannot fault the rooms they are very modern and clean except perhaps the bathroom where the showerhead was terrible to control. Unfortunately this hotel has no soul. The staff are not at all friendly, there is no feeling to the place. A reasonable breakfast is served in the restaurant, but as you enter you are not greeted with a Bonjourno or a smiling face, you have to find your own table and guess where you get the coffee from, as this is served at the far end of the second room. It does depend a bit on the staff as the last 2 days we were staying here there was a young blonde headed waitress who made the effort to ask you if you wanted coffee for the rest of the staff it seemed that it was too much to even give you a smile.

The spa pool is only open from 1pm to 6pm and its at a cost of 20 euros each. If you have some form of spa treatment than it is free. I had treatment on 2 of my days and found it to be very good.

Colle di Val d'Elsa has very little to offer there is not a lot here especially evening time when you want to have an evening meal. There is however a very nice wine shop where the owner is very friendly and welcoming. We would not come back to this hotel. We stayed in cheaper and friendlier hotels elsewhere in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Perched at the top of the hill just inside the city walls, this place is classy and quiet. Spent a couple days here while touring Sienna and other Tuscan towns. Hotel is away from the crystal makers but getting to town center is easy. Most comfortable bed we slept on in two weeks! Breakfast was good with a lot of variety. Parking for our rental car was just down the hill but very convenient. We did not eat in the hotel restaraunt so cannot comment on that. Great little local restaurant across the street that we loved!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view so ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo

Address: Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated swimming pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.