We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molino il Moro

Molino il Moro
Via della Ruota, 2, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
+39 0577 920862
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A trip advisor recommendation, this charming restaurant is inside an ancient mill. When we arrived the restaurant had just opened and they went out of their way to accomodate us. We were surprised to find that this was one of our best meals in Tuscany.

Afterwards you can walk off the meal by taking the glass elevator up to the Colle di Val Alta, the ancient upper part of the city. It's a beautiful stroll.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    55
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Purely by chance we ended up in this very cosy and enjoyable restaurant. The interior still contains many of the artifacts from the watermill, which originally was in the building.
Although we at the beginning were the only guests present, there was no doubt, that the chef was all fired up.
We had a set menu, of which the antipasti was a selection of five different small antipasties, all very well made and served.
The starters were promising and were not let down by the following courses.
Exquisite foot and highly attentive staff left nothing to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were disappointed that the famous rabbit was off the menu (only available in winter). At first glance the rest of the menu did not inspire. However were happily surprised. Steamed pasta stuffed with ricotta in fresh pesto was light and delicioius. Duck with orange sauce and orzo was also extremely well executed with glazed fruit. Service was friendly and expert; the waiter clearly appreciated good food. And the rooftop patio was pleasant. Fair prices for the value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Experience Just Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Roberto and his brother were very nice and welcoming and the food was very good. Service fell short of a 5 rating because they mixed up our order with another couples table and they missed a contorno (side dish). However, food was delicious and especially the pappardelle con cinghialle (Pasta with Ragu wild boar). Our second dish was the lamb (not the best I have had) and the shrimp and squid which was pretty good. The main dining room was incredible, but we chose to eat on the terrace which was okay (needs some work). Overall a very good eating experience but not sure if I would go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“besta bistecca in Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

we stayed with the owners of Molino il Moro at the Villa Gileola in Pievescola.
Sergio and Gileola run the restuarant and both work very hard to accomdate their guests.
we paid a few visits during our holiday in 2009 and i will put my hand on my heart when i reccomend Il Moro. routa 2 Colle Val Di Elsa.
i would advise and steak lover to try the Fiorentina Bistecca, this was the finest steak i have ever tasted... not cheap at 62 Euros for two but! if you want the real thing and cooked to perfection, then you gotta pay for it...it was worth every cent.
the entire dining experience at Molino il Moro was superb and Roberto, Sergio's brother, was the most charming waiter anyone could have wished for. Meraviglioso.....WONDERFUL.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molino il Moro also viewed

Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to Molino il Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molino il Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.