We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay Couldn't find a fault if I tried” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Via Bagno Vignoni 1 | S. Quirico D'Orcia, 53027 Bagno Vignoni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bagno Vignoni
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay Couldn't find a fault if I tried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here previously so when I came back I thought I knew what to expect this time was a million times better than before With fewer guests the service was exceptional At times it felt like we had the place to ourselves The treatments were wonderful the food delicious and the service brilliant

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    175
    48
    13
    4
See reviews for
297
636
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Marvelous place to relax, rest and train. Amazing and efficient staff. Superb facilities - pools, saunas, spa, gym...Rich activities program with very professional team. We (family of six, ages 24-57) spend a wonderful week. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was my fourth visit to the place, and Adler met all my expectations and more yet again. Great spa treatments, excellent food, superb service all around. I was glad to see the change in the excursions format (not that I was unhappy with them before) in that there was a hike added to the trip to Montalcino, which gave me a chance to enjoy the countryside on foot, something I had wanted to do always.
I will be back if I can manage it.
March seems a great time for Bagno Vignoni, not too hot, great break after winter.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor overlooking the valley was great - quiet and peaceful. However, to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed a week at Adler, a great base for exploring the area. Lots of easy, free parking for our rental car. And lots of interesting places to visit within an hour or so drive - we took in Pienza, Siena, Montepulciano, San Gimignano (couple hours away), etc. Don't miss Castiglione d'Orcia, a little hilltop medieval village about 20 minutes away by car, but it will carry you back about 800 years in spirit (it's the little town that shares the hilltop with the tower you can see from the hotel).

Our routine ended up starting our day with a great breakfast at the hotel, then off exploring, and back in time for a swim, spa treatment or time in the steam rooms before dinner. Meals reminded me of past cruise ship type experiences. Good buffet breakfasts. Dinners are a mix of buffet salad/bread, and buffet cheese/dessert, but with 2-3 a la carte selections in between. Quality and selection was decent enough (8 of 10?), but as expected, not fully up to the standard of a good Florence restaurant.

Steam and other facilities in the spa are very nice, including thermal pools (at a perfect temperature for soaking). As a swimmer, I also very much appreciated the 25m lap pool for getting in my daily workout (which are kept at a perfect, cooler water temperature for actually swimming).

Staff are very friendly and efficient, always a buongiorno and a smile. Our only complaint was with the wifi service. It was free (good), but was so slow and unreliable that it reminded me of the not-so-good-old 56k modem days.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay. This was our second visit to Adler, and probably not our last.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rooms are large and well cleaned . The Spa is excellent even if a bit expensive . All the staff is professional and helpful .The restaurant is very good ( specially on saturday night when you have the steak ).I WOULD RECOMMEND IT !

Room Tip: ask for rooms nearest to the spa and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It is set so beautifully in the Tuscan countryside with rolling hills as far as the eye can reach. With all the great reviews and awards, I had to give it a chance. However, there is much lacking.

First of all, there was no availability so I ended up staying at Antico Albergo Terme, right next door in the little town, which was a great choice for a fraction of the price. So, I did a day spa experience. The spa area is GREAT! The steam room is the best I've ever experienced and the sauna out on the lake is AMAZING!

However, the massage was horrible! I got a man even though I had not been informed or asked. He was no good and although I asked for a firmer touch, he did not change at all. He did not walk out as I changed and just removed the sheet when I was to turn. Very uncomfortable and the worst massage treatment ever. And this is supposed to be an award-winning spa?!? Nobody asked me afterward how it was. The shower/changing area is super small and has no products whatsoever and they required that I purchase shampoo and conditioner even though I had already paid an expensive daily spa fee along with the massage. Honestly! As nice as the spa is, I will not go back there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went with a gift voucher which included breakfast and dinner. Mixed feeling about this place as we had very high expectations which weren't met.

It is not a five star, not even a four star by international standards, it could be classified as such in the Canary Islands were mass tourism gives another weight to star ratings.

First of all you arrive to main entrance through the garage, not the best impression!

Garage is overcrowded and people park everywhere so it is a problem if you get there late in the evening.

You are supposed to collect your bathrobe with a special card at the SPA and take them back at the end of your stay as they are not provided directly in the room.

It is new but it looks old, corridors are worn and sadly decorated as are the rooms, nothing Tuscan about the place, more like a cheap Südtirol garni. There was a very dangerous step in the room and if you do not pay attention you risk to break your neck.


Bathroom has a window into the room which you can fortunately close with a curtain but we wondered what is wrong nowdays with architects who place bathtubs in the room and design open toilet space! We are old-fashioned but we like my living space divided with privacy in mind!

Quality of food varied, self serve salad buffet was poor, other dishes served at the table varied from good to poor. It seems that quantity wins over quality. Tables too close, so you actually eat at the same table with your neighbor, while waiters squeeze through!

Many people come to dinner well dressed, others wearing sneakers and sweat-shirts.

Behavior varies as well, form very polite guests to barbarian herds who display bad manners and are allowed to wear wet bathrobes for breakfast.

SPA is a disaster, many people working there but apparently running in circles as I had to wait fifteen minutes before my masseuse arrived and gave me the worst back massage ever!

What is good about this place then?

The view from the balcony is amazing, the pool is huge and beautiful and the location the best you can imagine! it is very close to charming Bagno Vignoni and to the most enchanting towns like Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano and the amazing Crete Senesi area.

A great location which cannot be beaten and they surely take advantage of it and of the fact that there isn't that much in the area in terms of high end hotels.

If they charged half the price it would be OK but the rate they charge for the five star pretense is a total rip off!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort

Address: Via Bagno Vignoni 1 | S. Quirico D'Orcia, 53027 Bagno Vignoni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Bagno Vignoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bagno Vignoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a country house style, the resort boasts 1000 square meters of thermal and sports swimming pools, a sauna and steam bath area delimited by the walls of an old travertine quarry. Waters are piped and chilled, and maintain their beneficial and healing properties intact: they are used for packs, hydro massages and mud therapy. The range of aesthetic treatments is wide – from the classic beauty treatments to fitness programs with different intensities; from holistic techniques for the well-being of body and mind to thermal treatments. Ayurveda is the pride of the spa: besides custom massages, you can also be examined by professional Indian doctors who, after a long session, give advices on the best health tips and diet to reach a psycho-physical well-being.The cookery is in tune with the general atmosphere. Thanks to a mix of original recipes from the Tuscan tradition and well-balanced solutions, food at Adler is divine, healthy and tasty at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Escapio, Expedia, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Hotel Bagno Vignoni
Adler Thermae Spa And Relax Resort
Adler Thermae Hotel
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort Bagno Vignoni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.