We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring southern Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Via Bagno Vignoni 1 | S. Quirico D'Orcia, 53027 Bagno Vignoni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bagno Vignoni
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring southern Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed a week at Adler, a great base for exploring the area. Lots of easy, free parking for our rental car. And lots of interesting places to visit within an hour or so drive - we took in Pienza, Siena, Montepulciano, San Gimignano (couple hours away), etc. Don't miss Castiglione d'Orcia, a little hilltop medieval village about 20 minutes away by car, but it will carry you back about 800 years in spirit (it's the little town that shares the hilltop with the tower you can see from the hotel).

Our routine ended up starting our day with a great breakfast at the hotel, then off exploring, and back in time for a swim, spa treatment or time in the steam rooms before dinner. Meals reminded me of past cruise ship type experiences. Good buffet breakfasts. Dinners are a mix of buffet salad/bread, and buffet cheese/dessert, but with 2-3 a la carte selections in between. Quality and selection was decent enough (8 of 10?), but as expected, not fully up to the standard of a good Florence restaurant.

Steam and other facilities in the spa are very nice, including thermal pools (at a perfect temperature for soaking). As a swimmer, I also very much appreciated the 25m lap pool for getting in my daily workout (which are kept at a perfect, cooler water temperature for actually swimming).

Staff are very friendly and efficient, always a buongiorno and a smile. Our only complaint was with the wifi service. It was free (good), but was so slow and unreliable that it reminded me of the not-so-good-old 56k modem days.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay. This was our second visit to Adler, and probably not our last.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    217
    59
    18
    5
See reviews for
384
828
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rooms are large and well cleaned . The Spa is excellent even if a bit expensive . All the staff is professional and helpful .The restaurant is very good ( specially on saturday night when you have the steak ).I WOULD RECOMMEND IT !

Room Tip: ask for rooms nearest to the spa and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It is set so beautifully in the Tuscan countryside with rolling hills as far as the eye can reach. With all the great reviews and awards, I had to give it a chance. However, there is much lacking.

First of all, there was no availability so I ended up staying at Antico Albergo Terme, right next door in the little town, which was a great choice for a fraction of the price. So, I did a day spa experience. The spa area is GREAT! The steam room is the best I've ever experienced and the sauna out on the lake is AMAZING!

However, the massage was horrible! I got a man even though I had not been informed or asked. He was no good and although I asked for a firmer touch, he did not change at all. He did not walk out as I changed and just removed the sheet when I was to turn. Very uncomfortable and the worst massage treatment ever. And this is supposed to be an award-winning spa?!? Nobody asked me afterward how it was. The shower/changing area is super small and has no products whatsoever and they required that I purchase shampoo and conditioner even though I had already paid an expensive daily spa fee along with the massage. Honestly! As nice as the spa is, I will not go back there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went with a gift voucher which included breakfast and dinner. Mixed feeling about this place as we had very high expectations which weren't met.

It is not a five star, not even a four star by international standards, it could be classified as such in the Canary Islands were mass tourism gives another weight to star ratings.

First of all you arrive to main entrance through the garage, not the best impression!

Garage is overcrowded and people park everywhere so it is a problem if you get there late in the evening.

You are supposed to collect your bathrobe with a special card at the SPA and take them back at the end of your stay as they are not provided directly in the room.

It is new but it looks old, corridors are worn and sadly decorated as are the rooms, nothing Tuscan about the place, more like a cheap Südtirol garni. There was a very dangerous step in the room and if you do not pay attention you risk to break your neck.


Bathroom has a window into the room which you can fortunately close with a curtain but we wondered what is wrong nowdays with architects who place bathtubs in the room and design open toilet space! We are old-fashioned but we like my living space divided with privacy in mind!

Quality of food varied, self serve salad buffet was poor, other dishes served at the table varied from good to poor. It seems that quantity wins over quality. Tables too close, so you actually eat at the same table with your neighbor, while waiters squeeze through!

Many people come to dinner well dressed, others wearing sneakers and sweat-shirts.

Behavior varies as well, form very polite guests to barbarian herds who display bad manners and are allowed to wear wet bathrobes for breakfast.

SPA is a disaster, many people working there but apparently running in circles as I had to wait fifteen minutes before my masseuse arrived and gave me the worst back massage ever!

What is good about this place then?

The view from the balcony is amazing, the pool is huge and beautiful and the location the best you can imagine! it is very close to charming Bagno Vignoni and to the most enchanting towns like Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano and the amazing Crete Senesi area.

A great location which cannot be beaten and they surely take advantage of it and of the fact that there isn't that much in the area in terms of high end hotels.

If they charged half the price it would be OK but the rate they charge for the five star pretense is a total rip off!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've spent the Easter holidays there for two years in a row.
We had a standard room with an extra bed for our daughter. The room is big enough to fit an extra bed so you don't necessarily need to book a suite if you have one child. The room was very quiet and I haven't even noticed the air conditioning some of the reviewers mentioned. The toiletries were of very good quality.
The location of the hotel is perfect with beautiful views of the hills.
We were on half board. Breakfast was until 11 am and it offered everything you could wish for: homemade marmalades, pancakes, omelettes, fresh fruit and vegetable juices, everything prepared on the spot right in front of you. Dinner was the same. After a buffet of salads you could pick your choices from the menu, which were brought to your table. For dessert there was again a huge buffet, with lots of cakes, fresh fruit, ice cream.
We didn't try the spa, I think the prices were a bit to high.
The gym was well equipped and there were free gym classes every day, from yoga to Pilates.
There's the hot water pool where you can just sit and relax and a bigger swimming pool where you can go for swim. the water in the latter is warm enough (28 C) so you can enjoy it even in April.
There's also a kids club where children can play, have lunch and dinner, watch movies or do crafts.
It was a very relaxing vacation.
I wouldn't do it again just because I like going to different places and the price is a bit too high for our budget.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the ground floor. From the terrace you can get directly to the pool. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location of this hotel is utterly astounding.....just the view from your bedroom is enough to calm and sooth your soul........ the spa services are nearly perfect, a couple of blips, as in it is silly to have to move from one treatment room to another and to change therapist! I had a fabulous massage and had booked a head massage directly afterwards, but had to move to another treatment room for that!!! NOT good when you are happily snoozing on a warm massage bed.
The food in the hotel is amazing!!!!! The choice of 'light' "tuscan kitchen' and "general Italian" is a perfect mix and of the highest quality!!! Congratulations to the chef!
However, a few nags that I had, 1. A perfect bath tub with a view and there was no bubble bath, oil, salts to make it enjoyable. 2. duvet and pillows....they need to be softer, fluffier and warmer... this is a place to relax!!! 3. NO Slippers in the room.... A MUST! The hotel provides flip flops for the spa, but it is not hygienic to walk around outside around the pool area and then to walk around a carpeted bedroom in them as well! A simple pair of slippers for the room IS NEEDED.

All in all, they are really getting it right on how a SPA should work, and a big thank you to all their hard working staff who SMILE continually. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have really appreciated our 10 days stay in this hotel: easy and quick booking, marvelous region and location, excellent and professional welcome, nice room,perfect garden and swimming pools, very good food and perfect service.
We didn't visit the spa which seems to be as nice as the rest of this fabulous hotel!
We will certainly come back to this place with friends.
Martine & Michel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagno Vignoni
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casanova Hotel Residence
Casanova Hotel Residence
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
10.2 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort

Address: Via Bagno Vignoni 1 | S. Quirico D'Orcia, 53027 Bagno Vignoni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Bagno Vignoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bagno Vignoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a country house style, the resort boasts 1000 square meters of thermal and sports swimming pools, a sauna and steam bath area delimited by the walls of an old travertine quarry. Waters are piped and chilled, and maintain their beneficial and healing properties intact: they are used for packs, hydro massages and mud therapy. The range of aesthetic treatments is wide – from the classic beauty treatments to fitness programs with different intensities; from holistic techniques for the well-being of body and mind to thermal treatments. Ayurveda is the pride of the spa: besides custom massages, you can also be examined by professional Indian doctors who, after a long session, give advices on the best health tips and diet to reach a psycho-physical well-being.The cookery is in tune with the general atmosphere. Thanks to a mix of original recipes from the Tuscan tradition and well-balanced solutions, food at Adler is divine, healthy and tasty at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Escapio, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Thermae Spa And Relax Resort
Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Hotel Bagno Vignoni
Adler Thermae Hotel
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort Bagno Vignoni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.