We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant but in Val D'Orcia there is better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Parata

Ristorante La Parata
Piazza del Moretto, 40, Bagno Vignoni, Italy
0577 887 508
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but in Val D'Orcia there is better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This restaurant is very very good, however, you have to value it in the context of Val D'Orcia where the quality of food is beyond belief, hence only 3 star rating. However, if you are in Bagno Vignoni and do not wish to take the car to eat, this restaurant offers good value for money. The service is very fast. 4 of us paid 70 euros for 4 dishes of pasta, 1 dish of vegetables, 4 sweets and a bottle of very good house wine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    103
    42
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Armidale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wish it was my local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I loved going here, the menu was varied and the home made pastas were divine. Giancarlo is the inspiration in the kitchen and his English wife Susan works the restaurant. Great combination. The other staff are friendly and efficient. I was going to try some of the other restaurants but felt lured back to La Parata each time. I felt this restaurant was great value and I loved the feeling of being in a family restaurant but for me the draw is always the food and I wasn't disappointed. I stayed in their B&B just outside of town for 5 days and it was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“tasty service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Alice will welcome you in perfect English ,and quickly get your order,among a rich menu,including
pecorino di Pienza con radicchio di treviso
The athmoshere is relaxing and the guests are nice too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good fun. Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Tuscan traditional cooking with some nice twists. Home made pasta with generous sauces both rich and light. Vegetarian options and lots of hearty meat dishes, some finished with heavenly balsamic vinegar reductions. Good side-dishes including "sformata" of potato and onion. Home-made desserts and good range of wine including some lesser-known but good local reds.
The inside eating area is made up of two rooms, sosy when the weather is not so good. the garden area is wonderful on warm days and summer evenings and has viws over the Rocca D'Orcia.
La Parata is run by an Italian chef and his English wife so if translations are required they are available.
The village of Bagno Vignoni is beautiful and well worth a visit, though it is very busy at weekends with Italian visitors and still is frequented, as it has been since the time of the Medici, by those taking the waters.
The proprietors run a locanda just up the road towards Siena, the San Bonaventura. This offers lovely rooms, magnificent views and delicious breakfasts.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan cuisine with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We had very attentive service here. The restaurant is family run and our waitress who was bilingual was able to explain the menu to us in great detail, I'm ashamed to say our Italian is almost non-existent so this was a great help!

For anti pasti we had two platters to share with a great selection of local salamis, fresh and pickled veg and local cheese one of which had been made that morning. We then had a delicious chicken dish recoomended by the waitress. It was dish of the day, simply cooked breast of chicken in a delicious tomato sauce accompanied by a selection of fresh veg and potatoes all wahed down with local wine and finished off with a tiramasu - divine! There is a very extensive menu, something to suit all tastes.

The whole meal with drinks cost approx 25 euros per person. It was a very busy restaurant full of Italians which I think always speaks volumes and I have no problem with recommending this restaurant to other trip advisor travellers - enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Parata also viewed

Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
 
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante La Parata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Parata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.