We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzuolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzuolo to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzuolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is about 15 mins walking from the centre of San Quirico,where there are plenty of restaurants,with good value menus,the hotel only appears to offer a fixed price menu.

Our room was spacious and clean with an excellent balcony and we overlooked both the pool ,which looked very inviting ,and the Tuscan hills and in the distance to town of Montalcino from where we had walked

The reception was efficient ,but lacked warmth and any attempt to sell the hotel's facilities

Breakfast was one of the best of our trip and provided plenty of choice

Room Tip: Try and ensure a balcony and views of the Valley D'Orcia
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    121
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
52
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Look I can see the reviews but we really hit this hotel at the wrong time becuase our stay was not very good at all. Let's start with the positive, the hotel is in a nice location on the edge of town but still a nice 15min stroll to the center. The pool area has a lovely view. Now, on arrival we struggled with our bags while the man on reception watched, approached the counter no hello, no greeting, actually he looked very grumpy on the verge of angry. We offered our passport, nothing not a word, he fussed over papers for 10mins, huffing, finally put a key on counter and that was it. I have never had such a bad welcome in a hotel ever. We asked for directions to find our room, but he had turned his back and was off. The room was tiny and hot. We tried to get the aircon working, being an extremely hot Italian summer day. Nope. Asked reception, no there is no aircon is what we could work out. Whether permantly or just today I don't know, but no attempt to recitify. Terrible nights sleep with windows open and mosquito/midges in. I had flown into Italy that morning for a Tuscan holiday and was already upset, feeling like the next 3 weeks was going to be hoteliers like this. So without aircon we went down to the pool hoping to cool off. Into the pool we go, so relaxing, beautiful, a little caravan park with unkept lawns etc but hey I'm in Southern Tuscany, I should get over it. Within 5mins a staff member came over to tell me I wasn't allowed to swim without a bathing cap and as she is going on lunch in 5mins we can't swim without a life guard on duty, she will be back in hour. Stunned doesn't describe how I felt, nor does angry. We got out the pool, walked into town and ordered a stiff drink at the local cafe to calm down. That night we ate at the restaurant and was served the worst deep fried battered vegetables, Ive ever eaten (soggy) and greasy poultry with oily fennel bake. We didn't eat at the restaurant again. Look I really wanted to like this place, but it just wasn't for us. I think it would suit families who are after an affordable basic base for activities during the day and people who can speak Italian.We didn't find this hotel comfortable and it lacked even basic hospitality driven service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I would agree with most of the reviews
I have read - lovely hotel, great views,
Staff friendly though limited English
Showers were the best!!! Room service
Good. Food was basic but plenty of it
Would certainly return and recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were on a walking holiday and stayed in the Hotel for a week. The location is just on the edge of the village and an easy walk to the shops and local supermarket. The grounds are pretty with a good sized pool (unheated) The rooms are basic, good for sleeping and showering but not for a honeymoon ! Everywhere is very clean. The breakfast is fine, no eggs and bacon but a good wholesome selection of everything else. The fruit juice and coffee are just about acceptable.

However the evening meal made up for any shortcomings. 4 courses of straightforward very good Italian dishes. Well prepared, tasty and nicely served. And the house wine is excellent and only 5 euros a half carafe.

Room Tip: As for a balcony overlooking the pool. Be very nice to the staff. Their English os OK but if you smi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Perfect, beautiful location. the view from the pool amazing. great location to be in if you want to be able to travel in Tuscany without changing hotels. Staff had a bit of a difficulty understanding English (maybe the accents) but were still able to help and guide us. Good selection for breakfast.
There were too many bugs in the room but I cant blame the hotel it was summer. but they should have insect killer in the rooms.

TIP:- Take a swimming cap with you because you cant swim without it. (apparently its a norm there but we didn't know)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stresa, Italy
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came from Positano that day, had driven some 500 km and were late for lunch. However, the nice gentleman offered us light lunch immediately, salad, cheeses, ham and a nice bottle of wine. After that we relaxed by the pool that is big enough to have a proper swim. Dinner was great, service was excellent and the rooms were quite large, everything was clean and nice.

We experienced one of the most beautiful sunsets one could imagine in Toscana.

I would recommend this place for families with children.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor that is on the ground level. However, we had to walk up to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very good location in Tuscany between Montepulciano and Montalchino and adjacent to the beautiful Pienza.
Food was quite good. Not gourmet but good.
Rooms are spacious and efficient.
Very good hot water stream in all rooms.
Dining room not so romantic to my taste.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzuolo

Address: Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzuolo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzuolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzuolo San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzuolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.