We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient place for touring Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzuolo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzuolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzuolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Efficient place for touring Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very good location in Tuscany between Montepulciano and Montalchino and adjacent to the beautiful Pienza.
Food was quite good. Not gourmet but good.
Rooms are spacious and efficient.
Very good hot water stream in all rooms.
Dining room not so romantic to my taste.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    100
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
41
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Room No. 47 was dark with closed shutters. Floor needed cleaning. Very good supply of towels and toilet paper. Restaurant serving staff was excellent. Dinner food selections, by Italian standards, were uninspiring, but the continental breakfasts were generous and varied with large pots of coffee on each table!

Each guest had to carry her own luggage to and from the room, up/down stairs. Nice library area for reading and large patio overlooking large pool. Weather was too cool for swimming during my stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the kitchen as they are noisy early in A.M. when kitchen staff arrives. Was kept a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was comfortable and had a balcony with great view (not all the rooms hav a balcony and view). Nice swimmingpool, but you have to wear a bathing cap (which you can buy at the reception desk). We were friendly received by the receptionstaff and had diner at the hotel. They served just the day-menu (so no choice), and we were disappointed by the quality of the food. In Italy absolutely the worst culinary experience. The seat of my husband cracked during diner (he is not a heavy weight), which can happen, but we were surprised to find out they put back the same seat for breakfast (when he again fell down, because it wasn't repaired properly). Weird kind of humour? In short: If you just sleep here and manage to get a room with a view, it is worth a stay, but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent a week in San Quirico d'Orcia, renting an apartment in town. It was very hot and our home had no air conditioning. However, the Hotel Palazzuolo lets you use their beautiful pool at a daily rate. We would return from sightseeing in the afternoons and head over to the hotel for a few hours of cooling off from the 90 degree heat. They were very friendly, and there is wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for a week , on a walking tour with HF holidays, the hotel could not have been better, We are vegetarian and gluten intolerant and the cook made special meals for us and accomodated us at breakfast with gluten free bread etc. The staff are english speaking and very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the holiday was the best I have had for a while. The pool is not heated, but was very refreshing after a day of walking

Room Tip: main floor overlooking the pool and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked for 4 nights in spite of some negative reviews on Trip Advisor. After a few hours in the hotel we decided to extend our stay, and never regretted the decision. As a two star hotel, Palazzuolo offers terrific value; we had a newly refurbished room with a private balcony and use of the open air swimming pool (still warm enough in late September!). The buffet breakfast was ample and varied, and the restaurant also provided an optional evening meal. Service was friendly, helpful and very competent, both at the desk and in the restaurant. Although bus tours came and went, we were never aware of any reduction in the quality of service, whether the hotel was quiet or filled with enthusiastic groups of walkers or cyclists. We found the area around San Quirico full of interest, and the town itself offered a range of excellent restaurants. Above all, the setting offers a marvellous location for exploring southern Tuscany.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. All have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A small but friendly hotel, with a swimming pool, in southern Tuscany. very good value. It is just outside the village walls but has lovely gardens and you can walk to the countryside from it. The hotel will make you a packed lunch if required too.A very central location for visiting several hilltop towns.

Room Tip: The bedrooms facing poolside have wonderful views across the garden and Tuscan landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzuolo

Address: Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzuolo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzuolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzuolo San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzuolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.