We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzuolo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzuolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzuolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for a week , on a walking tour with HF holidays, the hotel could not have been better, We are vegetarian and gluten intolerant and the cook made special meals for us and accomodated us at breakfast with gluten free bread etc. The staff are english speaking and very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the holiday was the best I have had for a while. The pool is not heated, but was very refreshing after a day of walking

Room Tip: main floor overlooking the pool and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    100
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
41
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked for 4 nights in spite of some negative reviews on Trip Advisor. After a few hours in the hotel we decided to extend our stay, and never regretted the decision. As a two star hotel, Palazzuolo offers terrific value; we had a newly refurbished room with a private balcony and use of the open air swimming pool (still warm enough in late September!). The buffet breakfast was ample and varied, and the restaurant also provided an optional evening meal. Service was friendly, helpful and very competent, both at the desk and in the restaurant. Although bus tours came and went, we were never aware of any reduction in the quality of service, whether the hotel was quiet or filled with enthusiastic groups of walkers or cyclists. We found the area around San Quirico full of interest, and the town itself offered a range of excellent restaurants. Above all, the setting offers a marvellous location for exploring southern Tuscany.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. All have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A small but friendly hotel, with a swimming pool, in southern Tuscany. very good value. It is just outside the village walls but has lovely gardens and you can walk to the countryside from it. The hotel will make you a packed lunch if required too.A very central location for visiting several hilltop towns.

Room Tip: The bedrooms facing poolside have wonderful views across the garden and Tuscan landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Conveniently located Palazzuolo is a great place to unwind during a busy tour of Tuscany. The friendly, efficient staff immediately made us feel welcome and the property is full of family-style charm. We cooled off at the large, attractive pool that had many comfortable lounge chairs. Later our room's balcony provided a great vista of the countryside at dusk. Dinner on the restaurant's patio was a romantic delight and we enjoyed the local specialties -- especially stuffed eggplant. Also we appreciated our friendly server, Dolores. Breakfast in the morning provided a delicious start to get us back on the road to more marvels of Tuscany. Great value for price. Bottom line: a top recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking the pool (and countryside).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our stay in this hotel in May / June 2012 was very enjoyable. The new cook was on fine form with imaginative choices of Tuscan fare on offer at dinner - very well cooked and nicely presented. Breakfasts were also good: fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, preserves and cakes were all sampled and enjoyed. Cold meats, cheese and eggs were also on offer.
The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable (although in need of redecoration) with a new modern bathroom. No shortage of hot water, clean towels and other bathroom provisions.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from staying at the Hotel Palazzuolo on a walking holiday in May 2012. During our visit the hotel was mainly used by British, German and Swedish tourists on walking, painting, and cycling holidays. As others have remarked, the hotel is situated only ten minutes walk from the lovely old town of San Quirico. It is also only 5 minutes walk from the local Co-op where you can buy a wide range of food and drink for picnics and snacks. The hotel itself is very good. It is clean, well run, and the staff are cheerful and very helpful indeed. In general, the food was plentiful and perfectly acceptable (although some guests had a different view occasionally). The hotel is situated on the edge of the countryside and has lovely views from some areas. In particular, there is a beautiful view from the Dining Room balcony as the sun sets over Montalcino. Our beds were comfortable, and the shower was wonderfully hot after a hard day of walking, although our room was rather small and tired. Some guests were disturbed by barking dogs at times, but then you can't prevent that in a rural community. Overall, this is a thoroughly good little hotel which is run by the Simonelli family (who make the local wine) in a relaxed but efficient way. It's a budget hotel, and hence you get what you pay for, but it's sound and reliable.

Room Tip: You might be less troubled by barking dogs if you ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Palazzuolo in San Quirico on a walking holiday in May 2012. The hotel is just a ten minute walk away from the beautiful mediaeval centre of San Quirico, but feels as though it is out in the country. The views from the terrace over the swimming pool to the hill top town of Montalcino are superb.

The rooms are not spectacular, but they are comfortable and the bathrooms have been upgraded since I was last there. I slept well although some lighter sleeping companions were disturbed by local dogs barking into the night.

The food previously was OK, but with a new chef in place things were really good, with authentic Tuscan fare, nicely presented. The wine list is lengthy, but you can't do better than the local Orcia DOC wines produced by the family that own the hotel - the Simonelli's. There is a decent choice at the buffet breakfast, including fresh fruit, but some real fruit juice rather than diluted concentrate would have been welcomed.

Claudia and Anna on reception were really efficient and did all they could to look after the group I was with. Things in the restaurant sometimes got a bit busy when there were other groups staying, but service was always cheerful.

All in all, a comfortable relaxing stay - and the walking in the area is brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzuolo

Address: Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzuolo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzuolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzuolo San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzuolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.