We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Hotel Residence

Save Saved
You added Casanova Hotel Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casanova Hotel Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S.S. 146 Localita Casanova, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed many times in the apartments in Casanova. The service from the friendly staff is excellent. The cleanliness of the rooms, pools, gym and communal areas are impeccable. The restaurant gets busy, so one needs to book in advance and the food truly is Tuscan specialities (large portions too) The village is within a 6 minute stroll. We enjoy best using their apartments where we prepare a lazy late brunch using fresh local produce from the village. The spa is relaxing and the countryside has breathtaking views, as do some of their apartments.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms or apartments have air conditioning, so if you are there in August, you may you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    23
    22
    4
See reviews for
20
88
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second visit to Casanova. The first was while on a bike tour six years ago. We went back because of the great experience we had before. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with an enormous pool outside. There is also a roman bath type spa pool inside. This time, the spa pool was only luke warm, not what we had before. We opted to get a massage this time, and I was a little disappointed that I was charged 10 Euros more for my "hot stone" massage, since the stones weren't even warm! All in all, though, this hotel is a great place to stay while travelling through Tuscany. We had a private patio, comfy beds, good pillows...what else do you need?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The hotel is sprawling and spacious; rooms are lovely with their private settings. Service is good, but leisurely. The reason it does not rate higher is that the breakfasts were truly not good -- no fresh fruit, mundane pastries, bad coffee. The restaurant next door was accommdating for lunches and dinners, the food was plentiful and hearty, but in an area of wonderful cuisine, not impressive.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This was our second stay having been introduced to this hotel on a group photographic workshop trip. We booked a Junior Suite confort room. This has an upstairs mezzanine with large bed, very comfortable.Actually 2 single mattresses on one base. Massses of towels, dedicated pool towels. Depending on what tariff you pay sometimes are an extra charge of 10 euros, for a pair.The bathroom was very adequate, clean with a great power shower/ body spray cubicle. Ground floor lounge had small kitchen area , this was convenient for making snacks. Again depending on tariff, cooking facilities could be inclusive or extra. There was an extra bed/ sofa in the lounge. The rooms are motel style, seperate units , on ground floor, with small terrace , table, outside chairs, & sun brolly. The public reception area has nice airy lounges on 2 levels with a small bar, that I never saw anybody using it. Breakfast is continental, no eggs, but a good selection of pastries, croissants, & cold meat.This room has no windows & is not pleasing, you culdn't take your breakfast out from this room.The outdoor pool has masses of free sun loungers & was warm. There is a super vista from the rear of the hotel in this area. The hotel also has an indoor pool , plus beauty therapy " spa " area. Use of indoor pool may be inclusive, or extra depending again on your tariff.The hotel is about 750 yds from the old town of San Quirico d'Orcia, which is a gem. Lovely restuarants here & shops.We ate out every night in a week stay & although the hotel has an adjacent taverna we liked the stroll into the town to soak up the evening ambiance.In summary, the best bit about the hotel is it's location. It appeals to photographers & many Italians. If went again, I wouldn't opt for bed & breakfast as I would prefer to self cater for breakfast & eat it outside my room on the terrace.Very friendly staff, also Wi-Fi ( 5 Euros per stay ), no hotel internet public terminal. Difficult to set up Wi-Fi but staff incredibably helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
québec
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

It was late, and had previously stopped at another hotel, not sure of the name, but it was bad....we found the Casanova Hotel Residece. Last minute and the receptionist was fantastic! She gave us a good price, 110,00 euro for the night,(low season) and just looking at the lobby, didn't have to go visit the room. It was perfect for us, would have liked to stay longer. Big room, for tuscany, Therapeutic bath, bathroom amenitites and nice creams, this is a Spa...with a nice big terrace with a great view in the morning.

The restaurant next door was closed, it was appr 9h30pm. The young lady tried to get us some food from there, but to no avail...Nice try though, thank you..However, we told her we'd dine on our wine in the room. She offers to bring us wine glasses. But when she shows up, she put together this great little plate with cold cuts, cheeses and breads. Wow, that is service.

Here are pictures of the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel is in a great location for touring around southern Tuscany. The rooms are large and quite plainly furnished and the atmosphere is comfortable. There's a good pool and small bar.

The best part of the stay for me was the helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed at the Casanova Hotel for about a week in October 2008. We had a suite which overlooked the little valley and had an excellent view of the Belvedere. Sadly, this and the fact that the internet only cost EUR 5 for a week, was the only good part of our stay.

Check in was easy. It was a fair hike to the room but I think the hotel is a combination of an older building and a newer part. There were lots of tiled ramps on the way to the room (which they seemed to mop every morning and make quite slippery around breakfast time) so pretty easy to get suitcases around.

There was no air-conditioning as it had been turned off due to the season not the actual weather. It was hot in the room at night so we had to leave the windows and balcony door open. There were shutters so we could keep the light out but no screens so we had a few flies and other bugs come in. Not too bad though. We had some chairs and a table on our balcony when we first arrived that were arbitrarily taken away mid-stay.

The room opened with a key card that made a very loud buzzing noise as it unlocked. It also automatically turned on the lights in the room. This might be convenient at times (not the buzzing noise, but the lights), but not so when you are trying to come quietly back in at 1.30am and others are asleep in the room.

The outside pool was closed (despite the hotel’s material saying it was open to the end of October) for “weather reasons”. I was later told that they only had the contract with someone to keep it open til the end of September. There is an internal pool which is part of the “wellness” centre and it costs 10 EUR for an adult and 5 EUR for a child per day. Pretty expensive for a small pool that at times was very busy.

The internet was wireless and cheap at 5 EUR for a week but is only accessible in public areas. It worked fine.

The hotel offers breakfast and it’s just bland. There is a pile of cakes, pastries and bread (but a very poor toaster), four cereals, one type of ham, cheese, salami, yoghurt and some tinned fruit. Sounds like a lot to choose from but it wasn’t.

We had some afternoon tea one afternoon. The menu is wide enough and pretty cheap (e.g. 1 EUR for an espresso). We got a basket of chips/crisps and they were stale. We later saw that the baskets of crisps were put out early in the afternoon and just left to sit there.

There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel called the Barbarossa. We ate there one night and the food was terrible. The service was ok but the meat was overcooked and poor cuts to begin with. Each main meal came out with a pile of overboiled green beans and they were cold. There are so many better options in town – it’s a 5-10 minute walk and we would strongly recommend that you avoid the hotel restaurant and head into town. Take a torch as it can be a bit dark. We ate at the Trattoria al Vecchio Forno four times and it was just fantastic. The service there was terrific and the food delicious.

The staff were generally uninterested, and one reception staff member was pretty snippy. The women who worked in the breakfast area were nice and helpful. When we first arrived, we went up to reception to get the code for the internet. The reception staff member took a call in the middle of getting me the code and then talked for 15 minutes while I waited! Just plain rude.

I swung between giving this place a 1 or a 2 rating. In the end, I settled on a 2 as our room did have a great view of the Belvedere and the hotel itself was in easy walking distance of some great views and the town of San Quirico. But I wouldn’t stay here again and wouldn’t recommend it to others. There are other options in town that I would try.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casanova Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova Hotel Residence

Address: S.S. 146 Localita Casanova, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova Hotel Residence 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casanova Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Hotel Residence San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Hotel Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.