We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€60 (EUR)
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful small Hotel in old town. Lovely garden with jacuzzi. Nice rooms with AC and friendly staff. I took a massage and really enjoyed it. Other services are also available. You need to leave your car outside the walls but it's near and hotel provide help with luggage. I really recommend this hotel and village to visit.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    172
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
70
580
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Charming restored houses with lovely central garden in a quiet slightly off the tourist map little town near Pienza. Also has a spa. Excellent breakfast and associated restaurant was very good.
Town has a 15th century formal Italian garden worth seeing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We travelled to Tuscany in June 2014 having spent three nights in Florence and San Quirico was the perfect opposite of the bustle and noise of the City.
The hotel is situated within the city walls in a beautiful, picturesque, quiet street not far from the main square.
The emphasis of the hotel is relaxed charm and it generally markets itself as a bed and breakfast.
Our room was not the most opulent that I have stayed in but was well appointed, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent and fairly extensive. In fact thinking about it is making me hungry now.
The staff were excellent, attentive, helpful and friendly.
There is a beautiful garden to the rear of the hotel and I am told that a swimming pool is due for 2015.
The hotel has a sister restaurant, which is accessed from the rear of the hotel, and this too was fantastic.
Lastly I thought that the hotel was excellent value for money and was an ideal location for exploring Tuscany, specifically the Chianti region.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked a last minute room for the night and was hugely surprised at the standard of the room and setting.

Staff came down to show us where to park and they helped with the luggage. On check-in we were given discount cards for the hotel's boutiques across the road.

We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite on 2 levels with a sitting room, 2 bathrooms, 2 large televisions, bedroom and open staircase. The decoration was beautiful, unique and personal.

We used the jacuzzi outside in the garden which was lovely. The only disappointment for us was the food at the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast in the main hotel was great.

Staff were excellent and we'd happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

There truly isn't a more beautiful backdrop that this hotel with it's mountainous location, beautiful gardens and quaint rooms. We returned to this hotel after a fabulous experience 5 years ago. Sooo, I assumed it would be the same. Yes, it still had the beautiful atmosphere but I was disappointed with the air conditioning (or LACK OF IT). We visited in the beginning of June and did a lot of sight seeing in the day with the temperatures in the high 80's and low 90's . The nights were warm as well.Actually, it was hot!The front desk told us they do not put the air conditioning on until JULY!!! Seriously, what kind of answer is that. How can you put such a stipulation on when the air conditioning should or shouldn't be put on. So, to get some are circulating in our room, we tried to open the windows but there were no screens. And because of the gardens below, there were birds flying around. So we had to keep them closed to avoid anything flying in. We could never find a bartender in the garden bar to get a drink after we came back from touring all day. The restaurant atmosphere at the hotel still had the same charm except for the meals that we were served. There was 5 people in our party and 3 of the 5 meals were not up to par. I , myself, had to send my meal back twice. It was my least favorite dinning experience in the 10 days that we toured this Beautiful Country. I am quite disappointed because my last stay there was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OIrlando, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here recently while doing a bicycle tour. The hotel is amazing with a great location and true Tuscany charm. The staff was extremely generous, friendly and hospitable. Each room has unique character (we saw 3 of them) without a typical hotel feel. The furniture was unique and like what you would find in a home vs a hotel. It felt special to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very interesting and suggestive hotel in an old palace situated in the centre of San Quirico d'Orcia. Splendid inside garden. Rooms of rather unusual and attractive architecture. Polite personnel and very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Gemelli room has a kind of mansarda - very interesting , overviewing the garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I dream in silence awaken in another era in the tranquil shade of ancient olive trees amongst fragances and flavours of the past home for the heart, refuge of the soulSogno nel silenzio, risveglio nella storia all'ombra cheta di ulivi secolari i profumi e i sapori di un tempo, dimora del cuore, rifugio dell'anima ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.