We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€60 (EUR)
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel in a lovely village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very pleasant boutique-style hotel in all respects; excellent staff with impeccable English, good range of breakfast options, very comfortable room with excellent facilities and just the right degree of historic atmosphere. Enjoyed an excellent meal in their nearby restaurant - the food, wine, ambience and service were great and the price was reasonable. Very much enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea and cakes sitting outside on the raised terrace garden. It wasn't busy when we were there and this added to the quality of our stay. Overall an excellent experience in all respects and not especially expensive at this low season period.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    172
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
70
581
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kigali
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel was very nice and I appreciated the extra little touches (bath soaps, creams) from the boutique across the hotel. The rooms were on the small side but very comfortable. The only complain is that the heat could not be turned down automatically so we had to open the windows to sleep as we were literally sweating in our bed when it was 7C outside!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are nice but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Palazzo for two nights. Nice, warm and clean rooms in a relaxing environment. We bought a spa package which included exclusive use of jacuzzi and steam bath as well as relaxing oil massages. A good experience. Reasonable prices due to a special offer. Had a wonderful four course menu at the restaurant which is connected to the hotel and it was probably one of the best meals during our one week stay in Tuscany (and there were numerous to choose from). Friendly and helpful staff. Charming little town to relax in for a couple of days. Great samples of shower and skin care products in the bathroom (however, one had already been opened and used by another guest..) Pillows were too big to be comfortable. Would love to go back in the Summer time when you can enjoy the sun in the little garden of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My father and I stayed at the Palazzo del Capitano in September of 2012 when we were on a photo excursion of Tuscany. We had different rooms and both were very nice and comfortable. San Quirico is a beautiful town.
Our dinner at the Trattoria al vecchio forno was very impressive. I had pot roast that was probably the best in my life, just don't tell my mom that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Unic sity & unic hotel!!! Good room named "Copricorno"! 70 meters! But very loudly! Good breakfast. Good location. A pity that the restoran was not working during our stay in the hotel! Very frendly personal.

Room Tip: The room named "Copricorno"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent location to enjoy San Quirico. Very comfortable and charming hotel, and outstanding breakfast buffet. My husband was ill during our 2 day stay-very unfortunate, but at least it was in a comfortable place. Staff were very helpful. Local pharmacy was also very helpful. Would have loved to try the spa, but nothing was available. Best to think ahead and make a reservation. Could use a few more directional signs to avoid driving around in circles - GPS did not take into consideration the market day street restrictions.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on a higher level or overlooking the lovely gardens at the back of the hotel, if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent two nights in the 'Scorpione' suite at Palazzo del Capitano and had a wonderful stay! I agree with reviewers, this romantic hotel is definitely worth more than a four star in every aspect. From the reception and breakfast areas, the garden to the private spa (for the exclusive use of two people) and bedroom, everything is beautifully decorated. The warm, friendly and professional service was impeccable, as well as the lovely amenities in our suite. San Quirico d'Orcia is also a great basis to explore the area as it is a short drive to Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Bagno Vignoni. We can't wait to find an excuse to return to Palazzo del Capitano!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I dream in silence awaken in another era in the tranquil shade of ancient olive trees amongst fragances and flavours of the past home for the heart, refuge of the soulSogno nel silenzio, risveglio nella storia all'ombra cheta di ulivi secolari i profumi e i sapori di un tempo, dimora del cuore, rifugio dell'anima ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.