We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€79 (EUR)
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Unic sity & unic hotel!!! Good room named "Copricorno"! 70 meters! But very loudly! Good breakfast. Good location. A pity that the restoran was not working during our stay in the hotel! Very frendly personal.

Room Tip: The room named "Copricorno"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    200
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
78
676
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent location to enjoy San Quirico. Very comfortable and charming hotel, and outstanding breakfast buffet. My husband was ill during our 2 day stay-very unfortunate, but at least it was in a comfortable place. Staff were very helpful. Local pharmacy was also very helpful. Would have loved to try the spa, but nothing was available. Best to think ahead and make a reservation. Could use a few more directional signs to avoid driving around in circles - GPS did not take into consideration the market day street restrictions.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on a higher level or overlooking the lovely gardens at the back of the hotel, if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent two nights in the 'Scorpione' suite at Palazzo del Capitano and had a wonderful stay! I agree with reviewers, this romantic hotel is definitely worth more than a four star in every aspect. From the reception and breakfast areas, the garden to the private spa (for the exclusive use of two people) and bedroom, everything is beautifully decorated. The warm, friendly and professional service was impeccable, as well as the lovely amenities in our suite. San Quirico d'Orcia is also a great basis to explore the area as it is a short drive to Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Bagno Vignoni. We can't wait to find an excuse to return to Palazzo del Capitano!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We returned this fall for our second visit to Palazzo del Capitano, this time with our daughter. We found the front desk staff very engaging and helpful this time, especially Alicia. The restaurant staff in both the breakfast room and the trattoria (often the same people) were helpful, welcoming and anticipated our preferences. The bedrooms and bathrooms are completely stocked, comfortable, and very clean and comfy. San Quirico and this hotel offer a perfect combo for a break in touring, a place to rest and take a breath, at least for us. For others, there is much to do in the area, especially if you are interested in the architecture and city planning at Pienza, and the wineries at Montalcino and Montepulciano, and the breathtaking countryside.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were absolutely delighted with a last minute change in our plans; instead of crowded, dark Sienna, we found our way to the most welcoming, lovely home staffed by genuinely happy, friendly folks in the perfect small Tuscan hill town. We had visited Montepulciano and Pienza before but somehow missed San Quirico; now it would be our first choice - for the town itself, as well as the location. The town is immaculate - amazing really considering the history here. The residents are truly friendly -- it is not too large, the streets are not too steep - we said to one shop owner, Wow, it is perfect here! She smilingly said, not too perfect though, people actually Really live here -- there are services within the town for the residents, who stroll up and down the charming main (almost car free) street in the evening, the kids hang out in the quite impressive garden, it is just what you would hope to stumble upon in a Tuscan town.
The hotel itself is beautiful -- our room was authentic, yet updated, with a terrific bathroom, great shower - not always the case! Very comfortable bed, pillows, etc. Wifi in the rooms, and really terrific food -- tea and cake in the afternoon, I think the wonderful pastries were from the cute shop in town. Really great breakfast, oh my. And for dinner -- head around the little lane behind the hotel and find the restaurant with torches lining the street -- perfect beef, beans, all of the Tuscan specialties you would expect; very nice wine and again, friendly friendly people.
I can't forget to thank Coco, the bellman at the hotel -- once you meet this kind soul, you'll understand -- as amazing as the scenery, history, food and oh my the wine are here, it is the people who remain in your heart and the people who call you back to this beautiful special part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent a night is this lovely hotel. The room was so romantic and all done in yellow. There was a big jacuzzi tub in the room. Each room is different. The hotel offers tea and cookies at 4 pm. Breakfast is included in the morning and mainly pastries.
The town is a fun little town to explore and enjoy dinner. The gardens with this hotel are beautiful and a great place to go with your cup of tea and enjoy a relaxing moment. I purchased some skin care products in their shop that are made in Italy and loved the face cream.
If you are looking for a romantic stop this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband an I stayed at Palazzo del Capitano for our 20th Wedding Anniversary - as first timers to Italy. We had discovered the hotel very fortunately on the internet and we were not disappointed. This is the place to come to completely relax and enjoy a special getaway. The whole environment is geared toward relaxation. We thoroughly enjoyed our in-suite jaccuzzi tub, as well as our special spa treatments - excellent! Thank you Katushka. The suite was not large but very comfortable and had everything we needed. The olive oil soap and special toiletries are so nice (fabulous lotion and eye creme) - we made sure to purchase some special things to bring home from their spa store. The garden - was so lovely and a perfect place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine (and cake). We enjoyed tea time, the breakfast room, which was so comfortable and the pastries, breakfast foods and cappuccino were delicious. The restaurant is exceptional - Trattoria al Vecchio Forno - a lovely romantic evening stroll from your room. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed on Wednesday and we had to dine elsewhere. A special grazie to Lara and the front desk team, the Breakfast room team,the helpful and patient servers at the Vecchio Forno and Coco! We are already dreaming of returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantic Wellness Suite which included a jacuzzi tub and fire place which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
7.9 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casanova Hotel Residence
Casanova Hotel Residence
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.