We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter in San Quirico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Winter in San Quirico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent location to enjoy San Quirico. Very comfortable and charming hotel, and outstanding breakfast buffet. My husband was ill during our 2 day stay-very unfortunate, but at least it was in a comfortable place. Staff were very helpful. Local pharmacy was also very helpful. Would have loved to try the spa, but nothing was available. Best to think ahead and make a reservation. Could use a few more directional signs to avoid driving around in circles - GPS did not take into consideration the market day street restrictions.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on a higher level or overlooking the lovely gardens at the back of the hotel, if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    173
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
72
589
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent two nights in the 'Scorpione' suite at Palazzo del Capitano and had a wonderful stay! I agree with reviewers, this romantic hotel is definitely worth more than a four star in every aspect. From the reception and breakfast areas, the garden to the private spa (for the exclusive use of two people) and bedroom, everything is beautifully decorated. The warm, friendly and professional service was impeccable, as well as the lovely amenities in our suite. San Quirico d'Orcia is also a great basis to explore the area as it is a short drive to Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Bagno Vignoni. We can't wait to find an excuse to return to Palazzo del Capitano!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We returned this fall for our second visit to Palazzo del Capitano, this time with our daughter. We found the front desk staff very engaging and helpful this time, especially Alicia. The restaurant staff in both the breakfast room and the trattoria (often the same people) were helpful, welcoming and anticipated our preferences. The bedrooms and bathrooms are completely stocked, comfortable, and very clean and comfy. San Quirico and this hotel offer a perfect combo for a break in touring, a place to rest and take a breath, at least for us. For others, there is much to do in the area, especially if you are interested in the architecture and city planning at Pienza, and the wineries at Montalcino and Montepulciano, and the breathtaking countryside.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were absolutely delighted with a last minute change in our plans; instead of crowded, dark Sienna, we found our way to the most welcoming, lovely home staffed by genuinely happy, friendly folks in the perfect small Tuscan hill town. We had visited Montepulciano and Pienza before but somehow missed San Quirico; now it would be our first choice - for the town itself, as well as the location. The town is immaculate - amazing really considering the history here. The residents are truly friendly -- it is not too large, the streets are not too steep - we said to one shop owner, Wow, it is perfect here! She smilingly said, not too perfect though, people actually Really live here -- there are services within the town for the residents, who stroll up and down the charming main (almost car free) street in the evening, the kids hang out in the quite impressive garden, it is just what you would hope to stumble upon in a Tuscan town.
The hotel itself is beautiful -- our room was authentic, yet updated, with a terrific bathroom, great shower - not always the case! Very comfortable bed, pillows, etc. Wifi in the rooms, and really terrific food -- tea and cake in the afternoon, I think the wonderful pastries were from the cute shop in town. Really great breakfast, oh my. And for dinner -- head around the little lane behind the hotel and find the restaurant with torches lining the street -- perfect beef, beans, all of the Tuscan specialties you would expect; very nice wine and again, friendly friendly people.
I can't forget to thank Coco, the bellman at the hotel -- once you meet this kind soul, you'll understand -- as amazing as the scenery, history, food and oh my the wine are here, it is the people who remain in your heart and the people who call you back to this beautiful special part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent a night is this lovely hotel. The room was so romantic and all done in yellow. There was a big jacuzzi tub in the room. Each room is different. The hotel offers tea and cookies at 4 pm. Breakfast is included in the morning and mainly pastries.
The town is a fun little town to explore and enjoy dinner. The gardens with this hotel are beautiful and a great place to go with your cup of tea and enjoy a relaxing moment. I purchased some skin care products in their shop that are made in Italy and loved the face cream.
If you are looking for a romantic stop this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband an I stayed at Palazzo del Capitano for our 20th Wedding Anniversary - as first timers to Italy. We had discovered the hotel very fortunately on the internet and we were not disappointed. This is the place to come to completely relax and enjoy a special getaway. The whole environment is geared toward relaxation. We thoroughly enjoyed our in-suite jaccuzzi tub, as well as our special spa treatments - excellent! Thank you Katushka. The suite was not large but very comfortable and had everything we needed. The olive oil soap and special toiletries are so nice (fabulous lotion and eye creme) - we made sure to purchase some special things to bring home from their spa store. The garden - was so lovely and a perfect place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine (and cake). We enjoyed tea time, the breakfast room, which was so comfortable and the pastries, breakfast foods and cappuccino were delicious. The restaurant is exceptional - Trattoria al Vecchio Forno - a lovely romantic evening stroll from your room. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed on Wednesday and we had to dine elsewhere. A special grazie to Lara and the front desk team, the Breakfast room team,the helpful and patient servers at the Vecchio Forno and Coco! We are already dreaming of returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantic Wellness Suite which included a jacuzzi tub and fire place which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife booked this place on our travels through Tuscany. What a surprise to find this hidden gem. Everything about this place, the hotel, the town, the food, the staff you name it was fantastic! After spending all day everyday for 2 weeks on my feet walking from one tourist attraction to another this was a welcome break to put my feet up out in the garden, indulge in a massage and eat some great meals! Thanks to all involved in making our short stay so enjoyable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I dream in silence awaken in another era in the tranquil shade of ancient olive trees amongst fragances and flavours of the past home for the heart, refuge of the soulSogno nel silenzio, risveglio nella storia all'ombra cheta di ulivi secolari i profumi e i sapori di un tempo, dimora del cuore, rifugio dell'anima ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.