We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Tuscan Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Tuscan Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were absolutely delighted with a last minute change in our plans; instead of crowded, dark Sienna, we found our way to the most welcoming, lovely home staffed by genuinely happy, friendly folks in the perfect small Tuscan hill town. We had visited Montepulciano and Pienza before but somehow missed San Quirico; now it would be our first choice - for the town itself, as well as the location. The town is immaculate - amazing really considering the history here. The residents are truly friendly -- it is not too large, the streets are not too steep - we said to one shop owner, Wow, it is perfect here! She smilingly said, not too perfect though, people actually Really live here -- there are services within the town for the residents, who stroll up and down the charming main (almost car free) street in the evening, the kids hang out in the quite impressive garden, it is just what you would hope to stumble upon in a Tuscan town.
The hotel itself is beautiful -- our room was authentic, yet updated, with a terrific bathroom, great shower - not always the case! Very comfortable bed, pillows, etc. Wifi in the rooms, and really terrific food -- tea and cake in the afternoon, I think the wonderful pastries were from the cute shop in town. Really great breakfast, oh my. And for dinner -- head around the little lane behind the hotel and find the restaurant with torches lining the street -- perfect beef, beans, all of the Tuscan specialties you would expect; very nice wine and again, friendly friendly people.
I can't forget to thank Coco, the bellman at the hotel -- once you meet this kind soul, you'll understand -- as amazing as the scenery, history, food and oh my the wine are here, it is the people who remain in your heart and the people who call you back to this beautiful special part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    160
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
62
525
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent a night is this lovely hotel. The room was so romantic and all done in yellow. There was a big jacuzzi tub in the room. Each room is different. The hotel offers tea and cookies at 4 pm. Breakfast is included in the morning and mainly pastries.
The town is a fun little town to explore and enjoy dinner. The gardens with this hotel are beautiful and a great place to go with your cup of tea and enjoy a relaxing moment. I purchased some skin care products in their shop that are made in Italy and loved the face cream.
If you are looking for a romantic stop this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband an I stayed at Palazzo del Capitano for our 20th Wedding Anniversary - as first timers to Italy. We had discovered the hotel very fortunately on the internet and we were not disappointed. This is the place to come to completely relax and enjoy a special getaway. The whole environment is geared toward relaxation. We thoroughly enjoyed our in-suite jaccuzzi tub, as well as our special spa treatments - excellent! Thank you Katushka. The suite was not large but very comfortable and had everything we needed. The olive oil soap and special toiletries are so nice (fabulous lotion and eye creme) - we made sure to purchase some special things to bring home from their spa store. The garden - was so lovely and a perfect place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine (and cake). We enjoyed tea time, the breakfast room, which was so comfortable and the pastries, breakfast foods and cappuccino were delicious. The restaurant is exceptional - Trattoria al Vecchio Forno - a lovely romantic evening stroll from your room. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed on Wednesday and we had to dine elsewhere. A special grazie to Lara and the front desk team, the Breakfast room team,the helpful and patient servers at the Vecchio Forno and Coco! We are already dreaming of returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantic Wellness Suite which included a jacuzzi tub and fire place which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife booked this place on our travels through Tuscany. What a surprise to find this hidden gem. Everything about this place, the hotel, the town, the food, the staff you name it was fantastic! After spending all day everyday for 2 weeks on my feet walking from one tourist attraction to another this was a welcome break to put my feet up out in the garden, indulge in a massage and eat some great meals! Thanks to all involved in making our short stay so enjoyable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a lovely small town in Italy
Very quaint
They welcome you and are very attentive, afternoon tea/ snacks brilliant
Rooms are basic and the sheets and blankets perhaps not the best , a bit tired perhaps
The friendliness is the best part
Breakfast is excellent
I would stay here again because there is so much to do and they are nice folk but would like a bit better room with nice sheets and blankets and pillow

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent hotel, the service was oustanding, the staff is amazing and extremely supportive. We were there with my two and half months old son and we felt that all our needs were met. The room was excellent. The breackfast was very good with all selected local produces and an amazing home made jam tart. We will definitively return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit San Quirico again and stayed a second time at Palazzo del Capitano. This s a great hotel in a sleepy hill town and we love it. The rooms, gardens, hotel restaurant, staff and atmosphere are the best, in our opinion. My wife and I stayed in their large Tuscany style suite the first time and it was fabulous. My daughter and I each had a single room this visit and the rooms are obviously smaller but very comfortable with AC. The hotels restaurant , a short walk from the hotel, is the best on our trip and we would have eaten there a second time but they are closed on Wednesdays. The village is quite but charming and easily taken in on a cool morning stroll. I especially like the town's winery at the bottom of the main street where you can buy a bottle of good wine for 5-10 Euros. Being there on Market day is fun. No crowds in this place and a relaxing hotel to enjoy. Short day trips to Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, and especially Monticchiello (a hidden gem) are great. The hotel's gardens behind the building are a place to sit back and enjoy the flowers, hot tub, birds, vine shaded seating areas. It doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: This is our favorite hotel in Tuscany!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Via Poliziano 18 | San Quirico d'Orcia - Bagno Vignoni, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I dream in silence awaken in another era in the tranquil shade of ancient olive trees amongst fragances and flavours of the past home for the heart, refuge of the soulSogno nel silenzio, risveglio nella storia all'ombra cheta di ulivi secolari i profumi e i sapori di un tempo, dimora del cuore, rifugio dell'anima ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.