We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An island of serenity in a sea of beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An island of serenity in a sea of beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent hotel, the service was oustanding, the staff is amazing and extremely supportive. We were there with my two and half months old son and we felt that all our needs were met. The room was excellent. The breackfast was very good with all selected local produces and an amazing home made jam tart. We will definitively return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    198
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
79
662
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit San Quirico again and stayed a second time at Palazzo del Capitano. This s a great hotel in a sleepy hill town and we love it. The rooms, gardens, hotel restaurant, staff and atmosphere are the best, in our opinion. My wife and I stayed in their large Tuscany style suite the first time and it was fabulous. My daughter and I each had a single room this visit and the rooms are obviously smaller but very comfortable with AC. The hotels restaurant , a short walk from the hotel, is the best on our trip and we would have eaten there a second time but they are closed on Wednesdays. The village is quite but charming and easily taken in on a cool morning stroll. I especially like the town's winery at the bottom of the main street where you can buy a bottle of good wine for 5-10 Euros. Being there on Market day is fun. No crowds in this place and a relaxing hotel to enjoy. Short day trips to Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, and especially Monticchiello (a hidden gem) are great. The hotel's gardens behind the building are a place to sit back and enjoy the flowers, hot tub, birds, vine shaded seating areas. It doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: This is our favorite hotel in Tuscany!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Absolutely lovely place. Particularly liked the calm garden and excellent breakfast. Bedrooms fashionable and comfortable. Will revisit in future thoroughly recommend this hotel. Book massages etc in advance. Attached restaurant was also great. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very well located hotel in quaint town mid way down between Rome and Siena / Florence. Very convenient to travel around Southern Tuscan region with very good wine towns and farms nearby. Hotel was great, rooms large, big shower, could have slightly bigger windows. The staff were helpful and keen to recommend places to see and go. Didn't use the Spa at all but seems nice. The garden area is an excellent idea with benches and chairs around to relax and just soak in the atmosphere. Breakfast very tasty and well stocked with good quality food and more than ample food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights just week before last. hotel is right in the middle of town and we used it as our base for exploring Tuscany. Staff just was wonderful and they attended to oour every need. Arranged winery tour and a winery Sunday lunch as well as pointing out sights to visit.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, San Quirico d'Orcia, for 5 days during July 2012 as a base for exploring Tuscany. San Quirico is wonderful little town. There is not much to do here but a lovely half day can be spent exploring the town walls, the ancient churches and taking in the stunning views. It is very close to major road routes so visiting Florence, Sienna, Montepulciano, Montelcino, Monteriggioni, Arezzo, Cortona, etc. is no problem. The hotel advertizes itself as a spa but it’s actually a small complex of complementary businesses. The shop across the street sells oils and spa/massage items, the spa is in the building next door. The garden complex is wonderful. There are areas to sit and relax/sun-bathe, there’s a massage area, a small pool, and all within beautifully landscaped formal gardens. Breakfast each day is served in the hotel where there is also a well-stocked bar. Breakfast consists of a variety of breads, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, coffees, and hot cooked items too. Breakfast at the hotel is wonderful although they do not serve dinner. Instead they have a partner restaurant La Jadine next to the hotel where the partially-covered outdoor dining restaurant caters for your every need in terms of Tuscan cuisine. We ate there four times and every time was superb (not inexpensive however). There are also other restaurants in the town to choose from. Our room was very comfortable, clean and had AC. The rooms are named after the constellations and ours was on the first floor overlooking the garden. The Sagittarius room was up the main flight of stairs and through a tiny door partially obscured by a book case. We thought this looked odd at first but realized it was actually really cool, almost a hidden room that was just for us. The staff were all perfect. Cars have to be parked just outside the city walls in a small but safe public car park which is a five minute walk from the hotel. If this sounds like an imposition it’s actually really nice to return from a long day of sight-seeing to park up them walk through the ancient city gates to the hotel with all the treasures you’ve bought during the day saying “Hi” to all the locals taking it easy beneath the setting Tuscan sun as you do so. We would go back to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, San Quirico d'Orcia, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You don't need a tip - they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a lovely, romantic stay here and can't recommend it highly enough. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the facilities were amazing. We plumped for a junior suite, and weren't disappointed. Not the cheapest hotel in the world, but well worth the money. The garden and outdoor jacuzzi were a lovely way to pass a beautiful tuscan evening and we really enjoyed the food at the hotel's restaurant too. We'd love to come back again soon - thanks for a really enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, which i would recommend. The most expensive room/s looked really lovely too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
7.9 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casanova Hotel Residence
Casanova Hotel Residence
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
11.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.