We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Le Macie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagliagli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Le Macie
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Le Macie to your Saves list
Strada Provinciale 9, 52/54 | Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga (SI), 53010 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Vagliagli B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is not just about the accommodations.
As you approach this area, you start filling inside things that Sienna only can give you. Nowhere else.
The weather in this area in the late summer is so welcoming, and the vistas are literally breathtaking!
Mr. Daniele has been investing great efforts in making him accommodations not any less welcoming.
The rooms, the bath, the kitchen, all left me speechless.
The pool is specially designed in a way that only seeing it could explain.
His Chianti Classico wine and honey leave you no choice but to build a heavy delightful meal over them.
Usually I find myself choosing the right wine for the right meal.
This case turns that saying topsy turvy.
More than recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our family, 7 adults and 2 babies, had a fantastic 2 week vacation at Le Macie. This agriturismo situated on 15 glorious hectares 20 minutes north of Siena has the most beautiful panoramic view of the Chianti/Tuscan country side.

This working agriturismo produces great wine, olive oil and honey. You can spend a lot of time just walking/cycling the property and surrounding area or just hanging around your court yard and swimming pool. A great spot for touring Tuscany. Siena, Radda, Castellina and Gaiole are just minutes away.

Our accomodations, the Cedro and Ciliegio apartments in the converted barn were just great - clean, well designed and furnished nicely. Very comfortable for both sleeping and during the day. More than enough space for our large group. The full kitchen allowed us to both eat in with the local foods or go out to sample excellent local restaurants.

Our hosts Maria and Daniele and their 3 sons live on the property couldn't be nicer and were always helpful in assisting us. This place is very well managed.

Le Macie is like your home in Tuscany. While the grounds and common areas are always immaculate, don't expect a restaurant on site or a maid to clean your apartment each day. This agriturismo is perfect for families. Also several couples were having wonderful times during our visit.

Quiet, beautiful and peaceful. We strongly recommend Le Macie and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Le Macie is gorgeous! We (2 parents, 3 kids aged between 10 and 20) stayed in the 2 bed/2 bath side of this beautifully renovated farmhouse, and were seriously impressed with the spaciousness and cleanliness of it. Our hosts, Maria and Daniele, made sure we lacked for nothing.
The view from their property is absolutely out of this world!
Getting there was not bad at all - 10 km of country roads. But then you get to the vila and there is peace and quiet! It's also pretty close to Siena, about 15-20 minutes.
We hightly recommend Le Macie if you are looking for a slow week in beautiful Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I was looking for a quiet place, with a local character and possibly a nice view. Well, Le Macie si all this, and more. It is very quiet, commanding a superb view of all the southern section of Chianti and the whole countryside around Siena, up to Monte Amiata and Montalcino. The view is truly breathtaking, and we found ourselves spending a good deal of time just contemplating it. The swimming pool is nice, and made in such a way that you feel like floating in the air, swimming and flying towards some hills. We have been there three times, experiencing different apartments. They are all quite roomy, furnished in a simple, traditional way, some with a fireplace. In the three apartments that we know, bathrooms are very nice and spacious, kitchens are state of the art and well equipped. The place is owned and managed by a young couple with kids. They are very nice and helpful. They grow and make their own olive oil, which I recommend. They have also some mountain bike, somethign to be kept in mind, since this is a bikers' paradise. The location is also great, ideal for visiting Siena (a mere ten-fifteen minutes by car), Florence (one hour to Piazzale Michelangelo), S. Gimignano, Pienza, Montalcino, Montepulciano and the endless small villages and hidden art treasure of Chianti. We shall definitively return some more times

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

Staying at the Agrutismo Le Macie (Le Macie Farmhouse) was an absolute delight! We had the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom portion of the farmhouse and it was very spacious with all updated appliances and bathrooms. We were there May 2006 and the price of 515 euro was incredibly reasonable. Le Macie is just a few minutes from the very quaint village of Vagliani and a short trip to downtown Siena. Maria and her family were a very obliging, young couple, who process and sell their own olive oil although you will have to ask for it. The location was very close for day trips to Pienza, Montlcino, San Gimignano and Lucca but the trip to Florence was further. All of the views were just breath taking and the view from the farmhouse at night was glittering with lights from the villages. The people were incredibly friendly and we were well taken care of. Our only complaints were that the beds seemed a bit hard and sometimes it was difficult to get the hot tub running. Also, bring your own hair dryer. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Le Macie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Macie

Address: Strada Provinciale 9, 52/54 | Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga (SI), 53010 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vagliagli
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ‘Agriturismo’ Le Macie is part of a family-run organic farm that produces wine grapes and extra virgin olive oil. The farm is on a hill near Siena, about 500 m above sea level, with a 360 view on the Tuscan countryside and Chianti Classico area. The apartments for guests are in the xvii century farmhouse and in the old barn, both completely renovated and with modern facilities. In the garden, there is a pool and a Jacuzzi. L'agriturismo Le Macie è una struttura a conduzione familiare all'interno di un'azienda agricola biologica certificata che produce vino Chianti Classico D.O.C.G., olio extravergine di oliva e miele. Situato nel cuore del Chianti Classico a circa 500 m. sul livello del mare, l'agriturismo si affaccia su Siena e domina con un panorama a 360° la campagna circostante del Chianti. Gli appartamenti per gli ospiti si trovano nella casa colonica del '700 e nell'annesso agricolo che, recentemente ristrutturati, offrono comfort e tranquillità. Nell'agriturismo sono inoltre presenti una piscina panoramica e una vasca idromassaggio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Le Macie Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Le Macie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.