We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Suvera to your Saves list
Relais La Suvera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Suvera, 70, 53030 Pievescola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed at Relais La Suvera with a group of 50 friends and family members for my wedding in June 2009 & cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to anyone wishing to experience something extremely special.
Having looked at multiple possible wedding venues in Tuscany and then visited La Suvera, I immediately fell in love with what I can only describe as the sheer charm, history, wonder & magic of the place. For anyone wishing to find a unique wedding venue with major cultural and historical interest, as well as true "wow factor", it is just perfect.
As a hotel, it is simply exquistive - set in a peaceful and beautiful location, nestled in the hills above the tiny village of Pievescola, it is an ideal place for true rest and relaxation and genuine peace and quiet. It is also an excellent base for travelling around Tuscany and for local sightseeing in towns such as San Gimignano, Volterra, Monteriggioni, San Galgano & Siena. The local wine cellars of Chianti & Montalcino are also within close reach, as are the big brand Italian shopping outlets. Florence is also easily accessible from Pievescola and the hotel staff are more than willing to help out in organising your itinerary and travel arrangements.
I have stayed in many outstanding hotels and travelled extensively, but can say without doubt that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at and one to which I will definitely return. The staff at La Suvera are absolutely outstanding and go above & beyond all reasonable expectations, even for a 5 star hotel, to provide first rate service. Guests are treated with a very warm welcome and can expect extremely professional, yet unintrusive service throughout. I have never experienced the level of personal and professional service anywhere else in the world & the real beauty of it is that it all seems to come very naturally to all of the staff at La Suvera. There is nothing fake about this place - it is like staying at the finest hotel in the world, with exquistive food, wine & surroundings, with your every need being met by top class professionals, yet almost like being amongst friends!
La Suvera is a wonderful mix of old world charm and modern day luxury and a stay here will leave you totally relaxed and replenished. For those interested in art, history and Italian culture, you will adore this place. For anyone simply looking for some peace and tranquility or to treat themselves to some hard-earned R&R and true luxury, this is the place for you. The majestic Papal Villa and the unforgettable little icing-white church of Saint Carlo Borromeo within the grounds of the hotel are simply amazing & indeed all of the hotel rooms throughout the 3 main buildings of the hotel are completely unique, very tastefully decorated, beautiful, interesting and quirky in parts - there is something around every corner that will make you smile! This hotel is owned by a Marquis and a Princess and in a way feels very much like a mix between a palatial hotel and a museum. The service you get in this hotel is definitely fit for kings & queens, as are all of the facilities and the outstanding food and wine served in the serenely beautiful and relaxed settings of the Lemon Garden and the Oliviera Restaurant. Sitting in the Lemon Garden in the late afternoon, with the sun beginning to go down and sampling an array of delicious pecorino cheeses and local Chianto Classico is one of the best memories I have of my stay - if you want a place to chill out completely, this is it!
My wedding day was the best day of my life and the staff at La Suvera made me feel like a princess for a day :-) I very much look forward to going back to La Suvera & would highly recommend it for weddings, special family events, as an ideal honeymoon location or just for an extra special treat at any time of year. You will not regret it & will not want to leave - there is a magic to La Suvera that you will not find anywhere else in the world & the experience you get is worth every cent - Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    35
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
150
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I loved the grounds of this hotel just not the room we had. It was too crowded with antiques and old things. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine but I feel like our room would have been more comfortable if they removed half of what was in it. Everything else was wonderful. The pool was quiet and relaxing, the gardens were peaceful and beautiful. We walked down to the little village for lunch one day and had a delicious meal. The location was just so quite and relaxing, we cancelled our plans to go to San Gimignano to stay by the pool and relax. I also enjoyed the cats around the property, they were very cute.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We along with 40 of our closest family and friends had the wedding week of a lifetime! La Suvera is beautiful and filled with so much history, every room you enter tells you a different story and is like nothing you have ever seen before. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels all over the world and this is the only one that goes far beyond their 5 star rating. For outstanding service, attention to detail and some of the most remarkable food in Tuscany you cannot miss a night at La Suvera! It is worth the price and more. The staff is wonderful, their attention to detail and friendliness is unmatched! After the end of our week long stay our group from the US felt like we were saying good bye to family. We are already speaking of a return trip for all 40 of us.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon.

I would call the hotel a 'retreat' as much as a hotel. it is out in the sticks (but easy to find with a satnav) and is very quiet. There are not many rooms and there was always plenty of space by the pool and the rooms were nice. We stayed in the converted stable block (Scuderie); not half as flash as staying in the papal villa where the photo's in the brochure are from!

The only entertainment type services are the pool and a treatment/spa place, and you can also take out cycles if you want. It is very quiet. I would only suggest coming here if you want to completely crash out or use it as a base for exploring tuscany, which it is great for, being located within easy reach of a number of places.

The only real draw back for us was the cost of eating there. A club sandwich at the snack bar cost 21 euros, spaghetti around 15 euros. A cup of tea was 10 euros i think. To eat here regularly lunch and dinner would set you back the cost of the holiday again.

The restaurant in the evening serves upmarket and interesting dishes, but a meal for two is likely to cost you around 120 euros. So eating there was prohibitively expensive for us. We ended up buying snacks and drinks from the village shop which we ate during the day and in the late afternoon we would set off exploring and eat out. In a local restuarant in Col' di Elsa (Sp?) a lovely dish of pasta arrrabiata would cost you 7 euros.

Its a shame because the cost of eating there took the edge off it for me and i like to have a drink or two and i couldn't as i always drove. it was a lovely hotel though and the views are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

On the plus side it is a very charming, peaceful, old palace. Superb to unwind and relax.

The best thing about it though is the staff. They are the best we have come across for customer service, nothing is too much trouble, very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The rooms are old, have character and are clean if a little cluttered - and serviced excellently by the housekeeping staff. The museum around the rooms and corridors can be a little odd for some people.

Whilst the breakfast is fine we suggest going B&B and eating out. The food is OK but it is trying to be michelin star and is not, but the prices are michelin and it is not worth the money. However, the hotel staff will happily suggest and book local restaurants for you, but you need a car. There are lots within 30 mins drive that are fantastic, excellent food, wine, service and the same or lower price than the hotel yet far better quality food. The only restaurant in Pievescola is worth a visit and the owner knows his wine well. We would go again to Relais la Suvera but please, 7 euros for a cup of coffee with not even a chocolate, 6 euros for half a beer (with nuts if you ask) is taking the micky a little. All in all a pleasant stay and we really would go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

What can one add to the already published glowing reports? Well I can only endorse the positives. An architecturally beautiful hotel in a wonderful Tuscan location. The room in the Papal Villa was wonderful, spacious and comfortable. It really did feel like staying as a guest in a private house, especially meeting the Princess every morning feeding her family of cats in the grounds. Staff are excellent, from Front of House, Restaurant to Housekeeping, always polite and efficient.
Now the criticism, I concur with previous comment about the “tired gardens”, they are, I can’t quite understand this as there are “available employees” to undertake some maintenance work. In the heat of the Tuscan sun it would have been pleasant to relax in a formal Italian Garden, but not here, rather overgrown and shabby. The excellent pool, with attendant, needs daily sweeping of pine needles from the pool surrounds. Small points but ones worth undertaking to meet five star standards. Complementary bottled water would have also been appreciated. The food in both restaurants is excellent, but the more relaxed pool location has a rather limited menu. I thought the food and beverage prices were excessive but this is of course a personal opinion based on comparing this level of dining experience with other Tuscan restaurants in the area.
To reinforce this point visit Villiam and Paula’s restaurant Alla Pieve in the village of Pievescola just a mile or so down the road, and enjoy a superb nouvelle cuisine meal of Tuscan delights beautifully prepared by Chef Paula and served with all the extras by your host, and wine expert, Villiam.
All in all don’t be put off, this hotel is unique, in a great location, with service you would expect from this grade of hotel, just needs some polish here and there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed at the Relais la Suvera for our Honeymoon in August 2008 and we could not say enough good things about our stay. The location was perfect, it was quiet beautiful countryside. We loved it. We could not fault the hotel, it was absolutely fantastic. The hotel has so much history to it, it was so interesting walking around the hotel and gardens/grounds, all superb. The views of Tuscany from the hotel were amazing. The rooms are decorated very nice and kept in style with the hotel. The food was out of this world, the staff could not do enough for you and were very friendly. All the produce is bought locally. We will definitely being going back. A really treat.

Laura & Rob

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Address: Via della Suvera, 70, 53030 Pievescola, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Italy/Pievescola, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Suvera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.