We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Relais La Suvera to your Saves list
Relais La Suvera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Suvera, 70, 53030 Pievescola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

To stay in Relais la Suvera is to live a very special experience that will appreciate people interested in art, history, architecture... and good living. You'll have a clear feeling of being in another time, another century. Such a magical atmosphere.
Everything is beautiful! Service is superb. So is the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    35
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
148
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights on our first year wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was comfortable and luxurious and the turndown service was a nice touch. The location was amazing, set in the Tuscan countryside with some lovely walks nearby (which we were directed to by helpful staff). The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever had. The pool and indoor jacuzzi/hot tub were fab. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Celebrated my birthday and honeymoon at Relais la suvera, and it was definitely the right choice. Had a lovely massage at the spa, spent some time in the indoor jacuzzi, swam in a very nice pool, stayed in the farmhouse in a lovely room with a little balcony. It is quite romantic, the staff is friendly and helpful. I viewed several other rooms in the main building and the stable, and if you can afford the splurge, a few of the rooms in the main building are worth it (some are a little oddly decorated with color, but some are absolutely stunning).

The breakfast was the best we encountered during our 3 week trip to Italy. So many choices, beautifully displayed, and abundant with fruit, pastries, meats, eggs, cereals, yogurt, and much more.

I would highly recommend a stop for a couple of days at Relais la suvera. Recharge your batteries, swoon in romance, slow down a bit, bathe in a bit of luxury, enjoy some down time with your sweetie, and then head to your next adventure. Lovely and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent our Golden Wedding at La Suvera and couldn't have found a more perfect place. The amazing old buildings, furnished with antiques, the delicious food, the helpful and charming staff and above all the ambience of peace and beauty fullfilled all our hopes. When we could tear ourselves away, it was easy ro reach Siena and other interesting towns, and a beautiful pool back at Suvera in which to relax on our return. A jewel in the glorious Tuscan contryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I travel worldwide and we are not ones to contribute reviews, but our stay at La Suvera was so shocking that I could not withhold myself from sharing our experience.
Unless one rents a suite, the historical property is NOT open to hotel guests. There is the 'museum', obviously the private quarters of the owner, which one can visit as a 'museum visitor'.
No hotel has ever made us feel so unwelcome. At check-in, there is no token of welcome: one is greeted by this sickly smell of years old lavender topped up daily by lavender oil, but there are no fresh flowers in the room, no small box of chocolates, not welcome card, no bottle of Prosecco, no complementary water.
The restaurant nor the bar does not bother to dress tables on the outside terrace despite it being a very pleasent 26 degrees Celcius.
Do not be fooled, unless you rent the papal suite, the hotel and its grounds DO NOT have views of the surrounding Tuscan hills. The owner keeps the views from his first and second loggia balconies to himself! In fact, everything in this hotel is designed to keep the hotel guests out of the way of the owner: the restaurant and the reception are outside the main gates, the pool cannot be used after dark for it has no pool lights, the garden furniture has no cushions. The garden and grounds are poorly maintained.
The rooms are supposed to be shabby chic but one can leave the 'chic' part out: visible electrics, broken tiles, poorly fitted showers, tiny bath only suitable for an 8 year old child, tiny and dirty dressing room, with a ceiling too low for my husband, and a TV screen the size of a portable computer. The room was so stuffed with brocante furniture that we could hardly move around. Sky TV was pay only!
The staff definitely have an attitude. The food in the restaurant is mediocre, the wine-list is very short, and some of the porcelain was chipped!
The spa facilities are of very poor quality, plastic prefab showers, no marble in sight anywhere. It felt dirty.
Overall things have been done on the cheap and the whole place desperately needs a refurbishment. It is looking very tired indeed.
There is NO investment in this hotel, there are a few Italian staff, 'padded out' by short-term interns trying to learn the ropes of the hotel business. The only time that a shimmer of 5 stars comes through is at breakfast, which is very opulent indeed, but nothing out of the ordinary with what should expect of a 5 star hotel. Apart from that, in our humble opinion, this hotel deserves no better that 3 stars. My husband and I are both absolutely puzzled by all these people who seem to think that this is a wonderful place????

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My past review "Elegance and refinement in Le Colline Senesi" about Relais La Suvera praised the consistency and high standards of the hotel.  After returning form our 16th visit it was quite apparent that La Suvera continues to excel in all areas. My wife and I have gotten into the delightful habit of returning every spring and fall.  In the spring we love the longer time of daylight so that we can spend more time at the pool or take long walks in the countryside.  Lunch in the courtyard next to the pool is relaxed and elegant. When we return in the fall we look forward to seeing the vineyards and farmland; sometimes arriving during the mushroom festival. The location is wonderful for its' proximity to Florence and Siena. At the root of our true appreciation of this hotel is the visual pleasure of its' setting, outstanding service, excellent cuisine, a sense of tradition and the best air conditioning in Europe.  In short La Suvera is unsurpassed for its' beauty and tranquility.

We look forward to out 17th visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

In September of this year, myself and my wife travelled to Tuscany for the first time. I had read about Relais La Suvera online and it had some amazing reviews both on its scenery and its fantastic level of customer service. Upon arrival, having high expectations of both, we were not disappointed. The hotel views and grounds were outstanding, and the very welcoming staff was second to none. They greeted us with a very warm welcome and were extremely accommodating in every respect. We felt more like friends than guests. They were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and arranged an onsite wine tasting and an offsite cooking class, both of which were fantastic. Our Italian was limited to a few common phrases but their ability to speak English was very good which made communication easy. The food at both of their restaurants was excellent. In fact we ate breakfast their every morning and made sure we arrived back at the hotel each evening in time to eat dinner, service again was exceptional. My understanding is that the owners stay there during the summer and early fall seasons. They are very friendly and often chatting with guests to make sure that they are enjoying their stay and even sharing some Sangiovese grapes from their local vineyard. We can’t say enough good things about this hotel and staff and upon returning to Tuscany we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: One of the staff showed us around many of the rooms in the hotel and all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Address: Via della Suvera, 70, 53030 Pievescola, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Italy/Pievescola, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Suvera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.