We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been so disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Suvera to your Saves list
Relais La Suvera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Suvera, 70, 53030 Pievescola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never been so disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I travel worldwide and we are not ones to contribute reviews, but our stay at La Suvera was so shocking that I could not withhold myself from sharing our experience.
Unless one rents a suite, the historical property is NOT open to hotel guests. There is the 'museum', obviously the private quarters of the owner, which one can visit as a 'museum visitor'.
No hotel has ever made us feel so unwelcome. At check-in, there is no token of welcome: one is greeted by this sickly smell of years old lavender topped up daily by lavender oil, but there are no fresh flowers in the room, no small box of chocolates, not welcome card, no bottle of Prosecco, no complementary water.
The restaurant nor the bar does not bother to dress tables on the outside terrace despite it being a very pleasent 26 degrees Celcius.
Do not be fooled, unless you rent the papal suite, the hotel and its grounds DO NOT have views of the surrounding Tuscan hills. The owner keeps the views from his first and second loggia balconies to himself! In fact, everything in this hotel is designed to keep the hotel guests out of the way of the owner: the restaurant and the reception are outside the main gates, the pool cannot be used after dark for it has no pool lights, the garden furniture has no cushions. The garden and grounds are poorly maintained.
The rooms are supposed to be shabby chic but one can leave the 'chic' part out: visible electrics, broken tiles, poorly fitted showers, tiny bath only suitable for an 8 year old child, tiny and dirty dressing room, with a ceiling too low for my husband, and a TV screen the size of a portable computer. The room was so stuffed with brocante furniture that we could hardly move around. Sky TV was pay only!
The staff definitely have an attitude. The food in the restaurant is mediocre, the wine-list is very short, and some of the porcelain was chipped!
The spa facilities are of very poor quality, plastic prefab showers, no marble in sight anywhere. It felt dirty.
Overall things have been done on the cheap and the whole place desperately needs a refurbishment. It is looking very tired indeed.
There is NO investment in this hotel, there are a few Italian staff, 'padded out' by short-term interns trying to learn the ropes of the hotel business. The only time that a shimmer of 5 stars comes through is at breakfast, which is very opulent indeed, but nothing out of the ordinary with what should expect of a 5 star hotel. Apart from that, in our humble opinion, this hotel deserves no better that 3 stars. My husband and I are both absolutely puzzled by all these people who seem to think that this is a wonderful place????

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    35
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
150
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My past review "Elegance and refinement in Le Colline Senesi" about Relais La Suvera praised the consistency and high standards of the hotel.  After returning form our 16th visit it was quite apparent that La Suvera continues to excel in all areas. My wife and I have gotten into the delightful habit of returning every spring and fall.  In the spring we love the longer time of daylight so that we can spend more time at the pool or take long walks in the countryside.  Lunch in the courtyard next to the pool is relaxed and elegant. When we return in the fall we look forward to seeing the vineyards and farmland; sometimes arriving during the mushroom festival. The location is wonderful for its' proximity to Florence and Siena. At the root of our true appreciation of this hotel is the visual pleasure of its' setting, outstanding service, excellent cuisine, a sense of tradition and the best air conditioning in Europe.  In short La Suvera is unsurpassed for its' beauty and tranquility.

We look forward to out 17th visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

In September of this year, myself and my wife travelled to Tuscany for the first time. I had read about Relais La Suvera online and it had some amazing reviews both on its scenery and its fantastic level of customer service. Upon arrival, having high expectations of both, we were not disappointed. The hotel views and grounds were outstanding, and the very welcoming staff was second to none. They greeted us with a very warm welcome and were extremely accommodating in every respect. We felt more like friends than guests. They were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and arranged an onsite wine tasting and an offsite cooking class, both of which were fantastic. Our Italian was limited to a few common phrases but their ability to speak English was very good which made communication easy. The food at both of their restaurants was excellent. In fact we ate breakfast their every morning and made sure we arrived back at the hotel each evening in time to eat dinner, service again was exceptional. My understanding is that the owners stay there during the summer and early fall seasons. They are very friendly and often chatting with guests to make sure that they are enjoying their stay and even sharing some Sangiovese grapes from their local vineyard. We can’t say enough good things about this hotel and staff and upon returning to Tuscany we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: One of the staff showed us around many of the rooms in the hotel and all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

La Suvera is a true Tuscan retreat, steeped in luxury and elegance. If total relaxation, peaceful solitude and beautiful food and wine are your requirements them you've found heaven at La Suvera. If hustle and bustle, socializing and night life are high on your holiday list them absolutely avoid La Suvera! I had to attend meetings in Siena and dragged my tired husband along with me, on the promise of 3 days of rest for him, and that's what we got. I very reluctantly left for work during our stay, but I knew the other half would love the peace, whilst sneaking emails and a little work in by the pool (great wifi everywhere on the estate!) Breakfast, lunch and dinner were blissful gourmet experiences. Our suite in the stables was cosy and comfortable - although I'd recommend the farmhouse over the stables- and had a great garden area for sipping Prosecco at sunset whilst enjoying the sound of silence.
The historical architecture of La Suvera will cast a magical, relaxing spell over the most stressed traveller and the Spa facilities, although basic, boast top class therapists. Both of us had a Sports Massage and quickly booked a second before we left due to the fabulous husband and wife massage team that worked magic on our knotted backs. The areas around La Suvera are wonderful to visit too, but dragging yourself away from the beautiful pool and gardens is hard work, but worth the effort.
We would love to return to this wonderful Tuscan estate for longer and can highly recommend it to anyone looking to experience a genuine Italian five star hotel, steeped in history and offering peaceful solace from the sometimes overcrowded tourist traps.

Room Tip: Farmhouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasschaat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

fantastic to relaxe in this merveillous and charming place ,service is perfect and nice.you are in a authentic and idyllic top hotel but feel the warmness of home we will certainly come back again as much as possible!

Room Tip: every room is typical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We've been to Tuscany many times and stayed in excellent hotels but La Suvera tops them all. The setting, gardens and architecture were beautiful. Everyone there was friendly and helpful; anything you need to help make the stay enjoyable was catered for and quite clearly much thought was given to the smallest detail to the food in the restaurants. Breakfast was a lavish affair and on the odd occasion where there were few guests, they never reduced the quality or the menu. We ate most nights in either the main restaurant or the bar restaurant and were never disappointed? A few other points must be highlighted: it is an ideal base for touring the area, and when one comes back tired and hot, the hotel has a heated pool and a magnificent yet intimate spa. What else can one ask for!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw where very nice. Room 57 and room 50 were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the first review I have written. After over 35 years in the travel industry now retired I have visited and stayed in 1000's of hotels.

La Suvera has the deluxe quality and inspiration of its management to make a perfect relaxing quality break. It is set in the rolling Tuscan hills and is obviously lovingly cared for as all aspects of your needs are taken care off. From parking your car to excellant historical surroundings make it a place of tranquility.

The food is excellant from a buffett breakfast that you can supplement with anything you want cooked. To light lunches around the pool.

Dinner outside or in is a gastronomical experience with nothing to much trouble. The wine list is extensive and the knowledge of the friendly staff is given with true warmth and feeling of the beautiful property that they work with.

I can't give a higher commendation .

TT

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Address: Via della Suvera, 70, 53030 Pievescola, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Italy/Pievescola, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Suvera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.